Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the modern short story
Alice Munro is my favourite living short story writer, and this collection does not disappoint except, strangely for the long title story. Unlike the other contemporary pieces, this one is set in the nineteenth century and centres on the real-life Sophia Kovalevsky, a Russian mathematician and novelist. The story simply did not come to life for me, and it seems out of...
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by David Williams

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hooks you in and then lets you down
I don't usually read anthologies of short stories so I don't have a benchmark to compare the stories in this book to, but I have been left feeling slightly disappointed after each story except perhaps for "Free Radicals" and "Deep-Holes". I found that the stories tended to hook me in and my interest in the characters and plot would build up to fever pitch, and...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by LaLoba


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Munro, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Fany Fox (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
Excellent writer, a pleasure to read her works and the book arrived rapidly and i n perfect shape.Recomend strongly to all
readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ******, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
these stories sure messes with your mind! So many nuanced possibilities and outcomes to them for you to ponder. best short stories I've read for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Philip Mayo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Hardcover)
Another wonderful collection from one who is fast becoming my favourite short story writer of all time.
And the title story - "Too Much Happiness" - based on an actual person, is a true Russian tragic epic in microcosm.
And we know it's going to end in tears, so we know we won't be affected. But we are affected. I had real tears in my eyes.

One magical sentence did it for me -

"Sophia Kovalesky was buried in what was then called the New Cemetery, in Stockholm, at three o'clock in the afternoon of a still cold day when the breath of mourners and onlookers hung in clouds on the frosty air."

Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic collection of stories. Really compelling reading. I highly recommend it. I'm off to find more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not capture my attention, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A chilling start to the first story which fizzled out. After that reading was a duty (book group choice) rather than a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another collection from the consummate short story writer, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
A collection to be read and then read again. She is my favourite writer of short stories. A Canadian author who uses the landscape as the background to the the range of human emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short stories par excellence, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Hardcover)
Interesting black humour and magical realism. Gave me hope that the short story is still alive. Certainly deserve a second reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If I could write, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
If I could write short stories, these would be they: crafted to perfection, elegant understated language, and quirky stories. Never thought I would enthuse about short stories but can't wait to read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alice Munro...a lotta happiness!, 5 May 2011
By 
SACB (Middlesex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
I have read many Alice Munro short stories and they have all been excellent. This is no exception and i hope there is much more to come! That having been said this is not her best collection. If you haven't tried "Runaway" for example go on to read this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too "little" of too much happiness, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Too Much Happiness (Paperback)
The title story made this book worth the buy.
The rest of the stories left me with a ....did
I miss something...feeling.
However, Munro's descriptive narrative is excellent,
well researched and never dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5044ae0)

This product

Too Much Happiness
Too Much Happiness by Alice Munro (Paperback - 2 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews