Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique insight into Iran
I am not typically a big fan of graphic novels but the work of Joe Sacco took my breath away when I was in college so it was with glee and expectation that I took this book up.

Its superb. Comics are considered juvenile. I am utterly convinced, as a result of this book, that the graphic novel is a great vehicle for discussing the most serious and sombre of...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Mr. Kevin Hargaden

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle - unreadable
This comic is unreadable on the kindle...the font is too small. Changing the text size does not change the font size of the comic
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by Rajat SRIVASTAVA


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique insight into Iran, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Kevin Hargaden (Maynooth, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am not typically a big fan of graphic novels but the work of Joe Sacco took my breath away when I was in college so it was with glee and expectation that I took this book up.

Its superb. Comics are considered juvenile. I am utterly convinced, as a result of this book, that the graphic novel is a great vehicle for discussing the most serious and sombre of topics. The contrast between the simple drawings and the complex events they represent create a balance so that you can read the saddest things without being weighed down.

That having been said, the moving tale of an independent young woman's maturation in and out of post-revolution Iran moved me to tears at some points. I have an insight into the country that countless documentaries or news articles about President Ahmadinejad or Ayatollah Khomeini couldn't give me.

I strongly recommend it to everyone. It will be an eye-opening education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping graphic novel, 20 Aug 2008
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
This is a simply told story that touches on some very big ideas; the Islamic revolution; loyalty and family; and which boys you should fancy.
The main character is charming, naive, sympathetic and occasionally annoying - in other words, a very convincing young woman.
A fantastic read, especially if you think you don't like comic books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Politics with humour, wonderful stuff, 10 Jan 2008
A graphic novel that serves as the autobiography of author Marjane Saptrapi. I read the complete edition which contains "The story of a childhood" and "The story of a return". Marjane Satrapi was born in 1969 in Iran during the Shah's reign. During her lifetime she has witnessed first hand the takeovwe by the Revolution, the war between Iran and Iraq and the compulsary wearing of the veil by all woman in Iran. Her parents were very liberal and she grew up with an immense curiosity and drive to speak her mind which often got her into trouble in such a strict society. At the age of 14 her parents send her alone to Austria where she goes to school but doesn't fit in. She associates with punks and nihilists where she experiments with drugs and has her first relationship which sadly doesn't end well. After spending some time living on the streets and nearly dying she decides to return home, but starts to suffer from depression when she is back. In Iran she feels like a Westener and in the Western world she feels like an Iranian so struggles to find her place.

This was an excellent novel beautifully illustrated and told with warmth and humour despite the often tragic subjects. I am not really one for politics and don't know more than the basics, but this has given me a thorough grounding in Iranian culture and the wars going on in and near by Iran. The Western view of Iran is of oppression, particularly of woman, and it was lovely to see that behind closed doors there are parties, make-up, relationships (both straight and gay) and everything pretty much the same as over here. The only difference is if caught the penalty can range from interrogation to whipping to death.

If you don't read graphic novels, I urge you not to be put off reading this as you will miss a great story and a great piece work of politics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle - unreadable, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Rajat SRIVASTAVA (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persepolis I & II (Kindle Edition)
This comic is unreadable on the kindle...the font is too small. Changing the text size does not change the font size of the comic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 29 April 2008
By 
Hank Ruin (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
This is a fantastic comic that will appeal to both comic fans & non-comic fans alike.

Despite the Amazon title, this edition "Persepolis. The Story of a Childhood and The Story of a Return" actually contains the complete Persepolis series.

"The Story of a Childhood" was original published in France as Persepolis 1 & 2, "The Story of a Return" was original published in France as Persepolis 3 & 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 April 2012
By 
adele (stamford, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
Publisher: vintage books

Genre: autobiography/graphic

ISBN: 978-0-099-52399-4

This book is written as a storyboard and the style suits it perfectly. I have never read a book written using this method but I found it to be a very enjoyable experience. For this particular book it works extremely well as it carries the volume of dialogue, if this had been written in straight prose it would have resembled a play rather than a novel.

Marjanes general writing style is warm and inviting. As she narrates her story you can hear her voice and it brings the action to life. She captures the horrors of war and the difficulties of love in a style which makes all the subjects in this book seem very real to the reader. I have never been to Iran but I could connect with Satrapi and understood he point of view because it was explained so well and so easily.

This book gave me a totally new perspective of muslim women and what they may have been thinking while living under oppressive regimes. Young Iranian girls are not so different to European girls once stripped down to just their thoughts and emotions.

A very cleverly written book on a subject which I normally would not read, excellent.

Personal read 5/5

Group read 4/5 Plenty to discuss but not everybody's choice of subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Illegible on Kindle, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. S. Cmakal "iDevGeek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persepolis I & II (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved the animation and was keen on reading the book. Dissapointingly it`s illegible on Kindle due to small text which is not possible to enlarge. This is technical problem with otherwise beautiful book which could look great on e-ink screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, adorable and not one to be missed., 12 Aug 2009
By 
V. Bhat "Book Lover" (New Delhi, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book, it's a must-read for everyone, especially with a taste for the unusual (for the unawares, the narrative in this book is made up of artwork, its like a comic book, which makes it utterly adorable). It tracks the life of the author from when she was a kid in Iran till she turns 25 (and is about to move to France) and takes the reader through the Iranian Revolution and the War in Iran. The author's life becomes a window for the world to glimpse the life of an ordinary family in Iran during its tumultous years. It gives you an insider's perspective on the politics, the fanaticism, the rebellion and all else that went on in the country and in the lives and minds of its people. It is both comic and tragic at the same time and to me its not only enlightening but inspirational. I can't wait to get to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 5 Jun 2012
By 
VPeanuts (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
You may have heard of the film but this book is the story that inspired it.

Marjane Satrapi wrote this autobiographical account of her childhood in Iran during (and following) the Islamic Revolution. The child of wealthy Marxist parents and the great-granddaughter of Iran's last Emperor, Satrapi - by her own admission in the comic - was more privileged, and liberal, than many others in Iran.

`Persepolis' charts different anecdotes from Satrapi's childhood and adolescence - each like its own few-pages-long comic strip. The illustrations, all in black and white, are amazing. Her memories, told through the eyes of a child, are funny and startling in equal measure.

Charting the changes in Iran during the Revolution, Satrapi demonstrates how politics can impact on the personal. Many of the stories are about how Satrapi and/or her family tried to find ways of being true to themselves without being imprisoned by the radical religious police. As Iran, and its operations became increasingly strict, Marjan grew up and continued to be outspoken - sometimes with scary or amusing consequences. There are stories about things that we in the West take for granted: alcohol, make-up, running for the bus and rock music.

The second part of `Persepolis' charts Marjane's departure from Iran to Austria where she meets some very `interesting' characters as well as going through some really harrowing personal times. Satrapi had a knack for understanding what it is to be an outsider, even in your own home.

Marjane Satrapi is a true hero - she's an irrepressible spirit as well as being funny and entirely charming as a narrator. She never shies away from stories that will not necessarily paint her in a bad light but she is so honest that I couldn't help but admire her.

`Persepolis' is an example of the ridiculous (the regime) and the sublime (the brave narrator).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The struggle goes on., 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Persepolis (Paperback)
"Persepolis" is a graphic novel, originally published in four parts in France. It formed the basis for an animated film that was first released in 2007. It won the Jury Prize at that year's Cannes Film Festival and was also nominated at the Oscars for Best Animated Feature. Rather unusually for a graphic novel, it tells the story of Satrapi's own life.

Marji was an ordinary 10-year old when the Revolution took place in 1979. She was very religious, and desperately wanted to be the last prophet...but she also idolized Bruce Lee and occasionally pretended to be Che Guevara. Naturally, she understood little of the "adult world" - Marji liked the Shah, and believed her teachers when they said he'd been appointed by God. Her parents, with good reason, detested the Shah and soon explained the truth to her. The current Shah inherited his position from his father - who, in turn, had been appointed by the British, rather than God. Furthermore, her Grandfather (a prince, no less) and her Uncle Anoosh had been imprisoned by one Shah or another and both had been devoted Communists - viewed by both Shahs as something evil. Both Marji's parents had been involved in protests against the Shah's regime, though they'd managed to stay out of prison.

With the fall of the Shah, life is - for a short spell - like a dream. Old family friends - like Moshen and Siamak, who had been routinely tortured - and Marji's Uncle Anoosh are released from prison. Like Marji's parents, both are hopeful of a better society. Marji had known nothing of her Uncle before his release from prison but, before long, the pair are devoted to each other. Unfortunately, their hopes prove unfounded. Islamic Fundamentalists win the following elections, and society becomes even more oppressive. Many of the Shah's former enemies - including Anoosh - are hunted down and returned to prison. Moshen, meanwhile, is found dead in his bath...though since only his head was underwater, it was obvious he was murdered. Although some (like Siamak) flee, Marji and her family stay put. War with Iraq sees the authorities calling for martyrs, with our young heroine becoming increasingly disillusioned. As time goes on, though, it becomes increasingly obvious that Marji won't be able to say nothing and keep her head down. As a result, her parents decide to send her to Austria to continue her education. While the move solves some problems, it opens the door to many more...and for many years, leaves Marji trapped between two worlds and unsure where she belongs.

Being a graphic novel, it's not your typical autobiography. There is a brief introduction - using standard prose rather than pictures - where Satrapi tries to explain her reasons for writing this book. Since the Islamic Revolution in 1979, she says, Iran "has been discussed mostly connection with fundamentalism, fanaticism and terrorism. As an Iranian who has lived more than half my life in Iran I know that this image is far from the truth." Marji proved to be a very likeable character, someone you wanted to see things go right for...though somehow you knew things wouldn't be easy. She and her family did have a tricky life in Iran. Her difficulties with social classes, religious regimes, wars and rivalries set her apart- and the suffering of her family, friends and neighbours under two repressive regimes shouldn't be glossed over. (These regimes weren't entirely "their" fault either - there was a certain amount of sneaky Western interference). Her life in Austria - a democratic, western country - wasn't pleasant either. There, she was always the outsider, someone set apart - with things sometimes descending to blatant racism. Nevertheless, it's a book that's definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persepolis
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi (Paperback - 6 Mar 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews