Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful end to an intruiging trilogy
This trilogy follows a group of friends, centred around three girls, from school days through adulthood. There are childhood dreams, adolescent angst, adult drama and trauma and all described and addressed in a sophisticated way with the beautiful backdrop of Africa and later in the series Europe. This is a fitting end to the tales, and comes highly recommended. Do read...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by J. Southern

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing end to the trilogy
I was really looking forward to this book as I really enjoyed the previous 2 books. It started out as promising and picked up on the lives of the three women well, but I was really disappointed as I read on. The storylines became totally unrealistic and ridiculous for a story set in 1970's Kenya, and the last line of the book may as well have been "and they lived happily...
Published on 23 Nov 2010 by sarah s


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful end to an intruiging trilogy, 21 Sep 2010
By 
J. Southern (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This trilogy follows a group of friends, centred around three girls, from school days through adulthood. There are childhood dreams, adolescent angst, adult drama and trauma and all described and addressed in a sophisticated way with the beautiful backdrop of Africa and later in the series Europe. This is a fitting end to the tales, and comes highly recommended. Do read the first two books first or you would not benefit from the full enjoyment of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Book, 19 Sep 2010
What an absolutely fantastic book I could not put it down it had me in tears once or twice. I read it in 3 days and now can't wait
for another book by these authors. I have read every book they have written up to now, roll on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read, 14 Feb 2011
Fabulous fabulous read. Sorry I had to come to end of it. Hopefully they will continue to write about the next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing end to the trilogy, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to this book as I really enjoyed the previous 2 books. It started out as promising and picked up on the lives of the three women well, but I was really disappointed as I read on. The storylines became totally unrealistic and ridiculous for a story set in 1970's Kenya, and the last line of the book may as well have been "and they lived happily ever after"! Very disappointed to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In borrowed light, 10 Sep 2011
Third in the trilogy so you need to read Blood Sisters and An Endurable Fire first. The books follows three friends from their schooldays in Kenya in the 1950s through their lives and sometimes traumatic events. Real page turning stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great read., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Borrowed Light (Langani Trilogy) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book - the final book in the trilogy. I just couldn't put it down and will probably read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Langani Trilogy, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All three books in the Langani trilogy are brilliant - highly recommended for anyone with an interest in Africa's independence struggles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Africa, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Borrowed Light (Langani Trilogy) (Paperback)
Bought this as my friend lived in Africa for 22 years. He could hardly put it down. I had ordered two by mistake so gave one to my sister - and she is enjoying it very much. Very good story - they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Borrowed Light, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the final book of the trilogy blood sisters. They are a must read. You. Will not be able to put them down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Kenya-philes only, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Keith M. Atkinson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Borrowed Light (Langani Trilogy) (Paperback)
The trilogy is a good yarn about East Africa although somewhat naive on politics towards the 1980s. A good story but the dialogue! People just do not talk to each other like that.....I felt sorry for the men in the story having to cope with three impossible women!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8ebc24)

This product

In Borrowed Light (Langani Trilogy)
In Borrowed Light (Langani Trilogy) by Stephanie Keating (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews