Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book - recommended to everyone...
This is a combination of travelogue and history book - a Dutch journalist spending a year travelling through Europe, writing about the people he meets, the places he visits and the historical background. It's wonderfully written, very personable and engaging, and very interesting. It's about how the people of Europe see themselves in relation to the world around them,...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by C. Ball

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so near yet so far
I really wanted to like this book - both the cover and the blurb promised so much - and, indeed, it is unputdownable as one wades through the descriptions of glory, carnage, tarnished dreams, rank stupidity and lonely bravery that characterised Europe's most bloody century, so I guess on one hand it delivered.

On the other however it's let down like so many...
Published on 6 May 2009 by Chunkymonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book - recommended to everyone..., 21 Sep 2008
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
This is a combination of travelogue and history book - a Dutch journalist spending a year travelling through Europe, writing about the people he meets, the places he visits and the historical background. It's wonderfully written, very personable and engaging, and very interesting. It's about how the people of Europe see themselves in relation to the world around them, about how they react to other Europeans, about whether they even consider themselves European at all. I really enjoyed this book and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enlightening perspective for semi-detached English readers, 18 Dec 2008
By 
Trevor Watkins (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
I bought In Europe because I had read a review that praised it greatly, and I enjoyed reading it more than I could have hoped. For me, Geert Mak offered a view of Europe through the twentieth century from the perspective of someone from a small, mainland European country. He doesn't write European history from the viewpoint of one of the major players, so it is never about Britain's (or France's, or Germany's) role in the First of Second World Wars. He goes about Europe and through the twentieth century, calling on his many friends and contacts in key places for key events, meeting people here and there by chance. And he gives the reader a patchwork of novel insights and deeply personal understandings. My copy has now been read by at least two other people, and is well thumbed by me; and I have recommended it to many others, and bought copies for friends as presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in history, 11 July 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
Geert Mak's book is a masterpiece. It's not a complete and exhaustive account of the 20th Century in Europe, instead it reads in the form of a travelogue as Mak visits some of the significant places upon which events took place, for example Sarajevo and Berlin. It's not a dry and dusty recounting of facts, instead it's a warm and readable insight into some of the people and events which were so pivotal for the history of Europe. Somehow he is able to find vignettes of events which illustrate the whole, interviewing people who, although unnoticed players in history, have their own insight into the events and their own experiences of how things affected them.

What's outstanding about this book is the quality of the writing (and the translation too). Mak is able to distil complex events into fascinating pieces of writing and he regularly personalises situations that otherwise could seem too vague. I was particularly moved by the chapters on the First World War where he quoted various young men who were part of the fighting on both sides and showed that, for the individuals involved in the war, events were seen very differently from those in overall charge.

In this book Mak often quotes short phrases in German which aren't translated and could cause some trouble for those who don't speak German; however most other languages have some kind of translation where they occur.

This is a very big book and it's not something that you want to read through continuously. However I found myself dipping into it on a regular basis, 3-4 chapters at a time, and I always enjoyed it. There's a lot of history in Mak's book of which I was previously unaware, such as Lenin's return by train to Russia, and I was continually amazed that one man could have put the work together and could weave the threads of events into coherent wholes. There are few illustrations in this book (mainly maps showing his travels in each section of the book) but his wordsmith craft paints vivid enough pictures to make this book well worth the reading and a genuine triumph.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book Helen Hancox 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 22 Jun 2007
By 
More than anything else this book was a good read- a page turner. It kept my interest because it had a good mix of historical fact, personal witness to events, stories about people the author met in his travels and present day descriptions of the sites of historic events.

There are any number of more detailed historic analyses available. However, the reader is sure to learn some things from the book as well as be gripped by the author's observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great pleasure to dip into and reflect upon., 1 Jun 2009
By 
N. Byrne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
This is a long book, and after a few months I am still only three quarters of the way through, but the best thing about this book is that you can enjoy it in bitesized segments, and then put it down if you want and come back to it again if you are looking for something interesting to read, without really losing the thread of what its about.
Fascinating background to twentieth century Europe's history, both its best known and lesser known aspects. Mak appears to be an extremely well informed travel writer and historian, offering a look at history that is compassionate, wise, and constantly amazed at the way we humans can be so savage, brave and kind all at the same time.
A great review of European history that is accessible I think to most people and not just those of us with a love of history, perhaps best tackled as a bedside book, something to read for an hour, reflect on and go to sleep, otherwise the sheer wordage of it might defeat even the most ardent reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A european 'tour de force' our from a personal guide, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Andrew Smith (Liphook, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a highly informative and engaging set of shortish essays about different European historical events from across the continent. What is surprising with the book being so wide ranging is that the level of detail and interest is so consistently high.

Sometimes the events are written about as a result of detailed reserach of histroical records, sometimes through personal interview, but each essay is overlaid with the direct personal experiences of the author who has been to each place he writes about. You have the feeling of actually being there and having Geert Mak as your personal tour guide.

Another great bonus is that the book is so beautifully written - and in the English language version this has to be down to the translation by Sam Garrett which should be acknowledged as frist class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
This really is an outstanding book. If you're interested in 20th century European, this is a must read. Mak covers the big events but also less well known ones from the last century interweaving interviews with people from politicians in the EU to descendants of German Kaisers to personal accounts from "ordinary" people illustrating the far-reaching effects of the events of the last 100 years. This is unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learned Travel, 6 Jun 2008
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
This is a very well written and structured canter through European C20th history. I found it almost unputdownable. It taught me masses that I didn't know, and connected events long ago with today. Highly enjoyable, and very much recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Gotte (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
Well written, poignant, informative. A broad history of Europe in the 20th century underscored beautifully by personal accounts from those at the sharp end of history. An insightful work which raises as many questions as it answers concerning where Europeans have come from and where they are going.
Anyone with an interest in understanding Europe should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read, 12 Aug 2009
By 
D. C. Johnson "denisjohnson" (Twickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century (Paperback)
This is one of the best books about modern European history I have ever read. Mak's command of the great sweep of events coupled with the detail that affects individuals is masterly. The research that must have been carried out is staggering and enlightening. There are many facts and insights that other better known authors have strangely ommitted. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century
In Europe: Travels Through the Twentieth Century by Geert Mak (Paperback - 6 Mar 2008)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews