Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
Simply wonderful. I seldom read books more than once, but I've come back to this one so many times. Beautifully written with such touching stories. I bought a copy of this for each one of my friends' birthdays.
Published on 16 Jun 2000

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most incredulously boring book I've ever set my eyes upon
This book bases itself around a beurocrat who has given up that life to own an inn by the narmada river, very nice, and who he meets around this place.

Gita Mehta fails miserably to capture the essence of the true beauty of the area and focusses in on thin characters who tell simmilar stories, which actually go nowhere and mean nothing. It is a book which...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Louis H. D. Wood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 16 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
Simply wonderful. I seldom read books more than once, but I've come back to this one so many times. Beautifully written with such touching stories. I bought a copy of this for each one of my friends' birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful dreamy book, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
Like the river on which the book sits, the tales within flow beautifully and take you to places that you only ever see in dreams. I loved this book - an all time favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, one of my favourite books, 6 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
Exquisitely written, this book tells a different story in each chapter, capturing the many cultures living together in India. This is a wonderful book, providing an insight into a whole host of religions, beliefs and myths, woven into very readable stories about human lives. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, insightful and dramatic, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
An interesting story, in an Arabian-story-telling-kind-of way. Setting is the beautiful Narmada valley. The story is of a life after life of a retired-from-the-world Indian beaureaucrat. Its India as many Indians see it - honestly, big on the dramatic & fanciful, brooding and introverted, and at the same time appreciative of all that is and was beautiful in India.
A good surprise and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story resonates with wisdom, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
Plucked this book off my local library shelf on a whim. The story will perhaps resonate with those who are a little world weary and maybe seeking another path to follow.....I found it inspiring.
Tales are woven and spun and then are beautifully linked each to the other - I was engaged with each separate story so much that I didn't want to let the characters go at the end of each chapter. The flow of this book is itself like a river journey. Absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gita Mehta, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
Karma Cola is a very clever, funny book, and A River Sutra is kinder, more human. It has been a favourite on my bookshelf since I read it in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most incredulously boring book I've ever set my eyes upon, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Louis H. D. Wood (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A River Sutra (Paperback)
This book bases itself around a beurocrat who has given up that life to own an inn by the narmada river, very nice, and who he meets around this place.

Gita Mehta fails miserably to capture the essence of the true beauty of the area and focusses in on thin characters who tell simmilar stories, which actually go nowhere and mean nothing. It is a book which wastes time, and makes you want to gauge out your own eyes to have something vaguely interesting to do.

There is no actual storyline at all. It is simply a man talkin to other people who have less troubles than they appear to believe, and it made me angry in some places that Mehta has shown arrogance in places, with her style of writing, and often insults the readers intelegence.

STAY AWAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A River Sutra
A River Sutra by Gita Mehta (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews