Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and highly readable account of Diana's life
This is a well written and compulsively readable book, which captures the essence of Diana better than any other biography I've read - and I've read many. Most books about Diana seem fall into one of two camps: either they are overly gushing and sympathetic (eg Andrew Morton, Paul Burrell) or they are critical in the extreme (eg Lady Colin Campbell, Patrick Jephson)...
Published on 12 April 2008 by Julia Flyte

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype on the back
Why did Tina Brown write this book to coincide with the tenth anniversary of the death of the Princess of Wales? My answer to that question is simply, because by that time there were plenty of other books already published from which she could source her material.

This is a very long book [over 400 pages of small print, with no photographs] and although it...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by Ms. K. J. Waghorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and highly readable account of Diana's life, 12 April 2008
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Hardcover)
This is a well written and compulsively readable book, which captures the essence of Diana better than any other biography I've read - and I've read many. Most books about Diana seem fall into one of two camps: either they are overly gushing and sympathetic (eg Andrew Morton, Paul Burrell) or they are critical in the extreme (eg Lady Colin Campbell, Patrick Jephson). Tina Brown is neither. She calls Diana out on her untruths (it's highly unlikely that Diana deliberately threw herself down the stairs) but also points out where her paranoia was justified (yes, the Squidgeygate tapes were deliberately released).

There's not a lot of new material here (what was there left to find out?), but it's a very comprehensive look at Diana's life that pulls together all the various things that are known about her in such a way that you feel that you are viewing the truest and most complete picture yet. It also gave me a strong sense of what life behind the Palace walls is actually like and why Diana felt so isolated and uncomfortable there.

Tina Brown is particularly good at getting inside Charles and Diana's heads: explaining Charles's misgivings at the time of the engagement or Diana's thoughts when she agreed to the divorce. At one point she refers to Diana being a tactician rather than a strategist (always going for the short term win rather than thinking of the long game), which I thought was a very astute observation. She discusses the Charles/Diana/Camilla triangle at great length, and ultimately concludes that quite possibly the marriage could have worked had Camilla not been ever-present (Camilla doesn't come across very well at all).

This is a long book which starts a little slowly, but from the time that Diana meets Charles it races along. It's amusing, it's insightful and it leaves you wistful for what could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is it possible to write a brilliant book about diana?, 20 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Hardcover)
this is not just a good book but a great and intelligent read.i did not think it was possible or necessary to write another diana book but this one goes into social and political discussions and appears not to be full of specialation. i found the book gripping, rather like a historical novel which at some point it might well be.but in the hands of such and intelligetn journalist writer its great.. Ms Brown deals with the very disturbed childhood,the role of women in the upper classes, and maes the Diana story comassionate and believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Diana Chronicles, 17 July 2012
By 
Dr. J. I. Currie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I was being a bit superficial in ordering this book but thought it worth a try after an excellent review in the Sunday Times. I found it riveting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the diana chronicles, 25 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Paperback)
I literally could not put this book down.trashy and a bit gossipy but a great read.

Probably not one for true diana fans as in places it portrays her probably very accurately (manipulative media slave)
but a welcome relief for those who are tiring of the fuss surrounding her.definitely recommend if you want an easy entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't feel like a bio, 28 May 2013
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Paperback)
Love biographies on dynasties and the aristocracy in particular but always avoided anything on the 'younger royals'. Particularly Diana. This book, a gift, was fantastic. Very entertaining and I feel it's very fair to all sides rather than be in one camp or the other however I can't see that Diana fans will like it very much as it is critical of her in some respects. It's a lighter read than a traditional biography but that just makes it even more of a page turner. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it..., 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Paperback)
After reading hit and miss reviews on this book I decided to decide for myself! I am now near enough half way through The Diana Chronicles and it was a taugh start. Tina starts the book with the crash in Paris which gets me interested and into the book then she goes off on her times as an editor and blah blah blah. At page 22 things pick up when we learn about Diana's mother... For me the book gets going with the Chapter 4- The Sloane Ranger. From then it's go go go! We learn about 'that night' on the royal train and other interesting facts about the WHOLE royal family that I'd never learnt of! Get the book people... It's a long and very interesting read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Viewpoint Expressed !, 30 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Paperback)
Factually nothing that other books have not covered but here illustrated in keeping with the style expected from a Magazine Editor; so gossipy, some might say salacious in part which will therefore prove appealing to those who favour an easy listening type of read as opposed to a more serious one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Diana's Life, 11 Jun 2009
By 
A Dawson (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Hardcover)
Very informative. Things are revealed here which didn't make the papers, and which the public were totally unaware of, and it give a much clearer and more informative picture into her life and the environment she lived in. If you really want to know the background story read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype on the back, 20 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Paperback)
Why did Tina Brown write this book to coincide with the tenth anniversary of the death of the Princess of Wales? My answer to that question is simply, because by that time there were plenty of other books already published from which she could source her material.

This is a very long book [over 400 pages of small print, with no photographs] and although it does give the reader a lot to think about, I couldn't escape the feeling that it could have been a better book.

There is a lot of "padding" with regard to the Spencer ancestry that is not exactly necessary, no matter how interesting it might be. Some of the sentences are too long and convoluted and despite repeated reading, still do not make sense. This could be due to poor editing and if so, does Ms. Brown no favours.

In addition, the writer sometimes uses words the ordinary reader wouldn't have come across [and I class myself as reasonably well-read but not intellectual]. How often have you used the word "samizdat"? Do you know what it means? I did wonder if Ms. Brown uses such odd words in her ordinary work or if she was just trying to impress the reader with her knowledge.

I can understand why Tina Brown was offered this assignment: she is an experienced magazine editor and apparently not unfamiliar with the aristocratic world of the nobility but she has lived in the USA since 1984, and the absence of detail regarding some of Princess Diana's charitable work and visits in the UK and overseas is frankly, astonishing. Ms. Brown seems to have devoted a great deal of her time and effort in covering Diana's ancestry, childhood, teenage years and the early married years. Then she fairly races through the period after Prince Harry was born, up to her final summer holiday and the fatal car crash and its aftermath, which is chronicled in almost forensic detail.

I was glad that all Ms. Brown's many quotes were referenced, though at times, it does make it feel like you are reading a cut-and-paste job that anyone else could have put together.

The bibliography is pretty extensive, so if you want further reading material, there is a lot to choose from. My own recommendation from Ms. Brown's list is "Diana - Story of a Princess" by Tim Clayton & Phil Craig.

"The Diana Chronicles" is not a bad book, but it's not as good as the blurb on the back might lead you to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cool glittering read, 2 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diana Chronicles (Hardcover)
Unlike those who seem to have hastily dashed off a line of abuse without much evidence of having read the book, I have indeed read it.

I have read no other royal biographies, and I read this one because I'm interested in the subject and because Tina Brown was one of the foremost editors of her day so whatever she has to say will at least be interesting.

As others have noted, there are no new revelations, no previously untapped sources. What Tina Brown does is to impose her cool, critical intelligence on Diana, her life, and particularly her relationship with the media. Aged 25, Brown was editor of Tatler, the Sloane's house journal and the early parts of the book which deal with Diana's time between leaving home and marrying Charles are insightful for that understanding. They helped me understand how this tabula rasa, this completely unformed individual reacted inside the Firm.

If anyone or anything comes off badly, it is the institution of the monarchy, not merely a political anachronism but a world into which no modern girl could enter without self-immolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diana Chronicles
The Diana Chronicles by Tina Brown (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews