Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisley Meal
When Falco had been asked to see what he could find out about the death of a young bride on a Greek tour, he wisely refused but fate in the form of his mother in law intervened when she asked him to find her son.
Given that this is the 17th outing for Falco, you could have forgiven Lindsey Davis for coming up with a weaker story but it isn't. The story is interesting...
Published on 18 Oct 2005 by JA Fairhurst

versus
33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
Still a Falco novel by Ms Davis that is not her best is still great fun and well worth the price. It seems to me that this may have been a bit of a filler in the series, a chance to mature Albia and Aulus for future plots and to introduce us to some more of the Falco's family. Or was it a way for the author to vent her spleen at some poor travel firm that ruined her...
Published on 3 Jun 2005 by Mr. R. J. Garden


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisley Meal, 18 Oct 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: See Delphi and Die (Hardcover)
When Falco had been asked to see what he could find out about the death of a young bride on a Greek tour, he wisely refused but fate in the form of his mother in law intervened when she asked him to find her son.
Given that this is the 17th outing for Falco, you could have forgiven Lindsey Davis for coming up with a weaker story but it isn't. The story is interesting as a travelogue through an area of the ancient world not often covered - Romano Greece. Not that we ought to take the story as gospel for Ms Davis has Falco give his usual cynical twist on events rather than follow 'proper' history slavishly. Despite this humourous overlay, the mystery of the disappearing brides leads to a truly shocking finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 3 Jun 2005
This review is from: See Delphi and Die (Hardcover)
Still a Falco novel by Ms Davis that is not her best is still great fun and well worth the price. It seems to me that this may have been a bit of a filler in the series, a chance to mature Albia and Aulus for future plots and to introduce us to some more of the Falco's family. Or was it a way for the author to vent her spleen at some poor travel firm that ruined her holidays? I'm sure she has form for this sort of thing with plumbers......I may just miss the encounters with the Imperial family too much maybe I should stick to Robert Graves for a while? Still despite my disappointment Ms Davis has hooked me for her next novel, I can't wait - I really want to tell you why but if your a fan like me and haven't read this novel yet you wouldn't forgive me, ah well until next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars See Delphi and Die, 2 April 2008
I love the Falco series and have read many of them more than once. However, this outing is a great disappointment. I found the plot as plodding as Falco's journey across Greece. The characters felt 1 dimensional and lacked their usual depth and humour. The ending seemed contrived and just silly! Saturnalia - the follow up has the old magic lost in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An addictive series, 13 Dec 2013
Lindsy Davis in this, number XVII in the Falco series does not disappoint, a great narrative with consummate attention to historical fact combined with intrigue, humour, and a great feeling of the period. Recommended.
The perfect companion to the Falco series, is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker.
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these books, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discovered the Falco books years ago and have always enjoyed them.

This was my first audio experience of them, and I shall do it again. Excellent reading of a well-written story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE ROMAN SKULDUGGERY, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of the "Falco" books. Every one has excitement, intrigue, romance, and wry humour together with great research and information about ancient Romans we were never taught at school. Can't think why they have not been made into a TV series or film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Falco story, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent Falco story, set in new locations in Greece. Rather less violent than some, and well told. Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better as a historical travelogue than a thriller, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lindsey Davies' Marcus Didius Falco series has deservedly been perhaps the longest running series of ancient Roman detective fiction, a genre she helped pioneer, but an unfortunate consequence of that longevity has been a tendency for the quality in some of the latter stories to vary. Initially that doesn't seem to be the problem here as her private informer (who naturally possesses more integrity than his rivals despite his cynicism) is taken out of his element when he's tasked by a grieving father to find out who murdered his daughter and left her for dead at Olympus on a guided tour of the Olympic site. But while it's a fascinating look at the burgeoning package holiday business in the Empire that shows Davies customary mixture of historical research and enjoyable down-to-Earth observations that make it come alive, it takes an incredibly long time for Falco to reach his destination and then almost as long to get round to doing any detecting. What's worse is that when he does, despite the suspects being well integrated into the fabric of the time and the place, it's never as interesting as the background, giving the book a lack of urgency and the feeling of something you dip in and out of rather than consume avidly from cover to cover. Still, if it's not one of her best it's still a decent entry that's better than most of her rivals and the unabridged audiobook version benefits from an excellent reading by Christian Rodska.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falco On Holiday, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was my first audio book and it taught me a number of things about myself (notably I cannot remember names without being able to look back at a text). This being the case I was rather slow finishing and re-ran certain sections. Putting aside my inadequacies this was an interesting Falco mystery though I doubted the historical context sometimes. I suspect this series is now so well entrenched that any oddities are of no importance. Is this the 17th?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Package Holiday anyone?, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Please note that this is a review of the unabridged audio CD reading; Amazon are grouping reviews across all types of media.

Set both in Rome and Greece between September and October AD 76, during the reign of Emperor Vespasian Our main protagonists are Marcus Didius Falco, the Informer Imperial Agent and his wife Helena are interested in two young Roman women who have gone missing after going to Greece to see the sights of the ancient world.

The Sites visited include Olympia, Corinth and in Delphi the oracle of Trophonius. Falco and his wife, Helena and other members of the family, travel to the area and meet up with the tour party. This is the seventeenth outing in Falco series. Like other Falco novels, See Delphi and Die uses a more `modern concept - in this case, the package tour holiday - as a device around which to build the story. There is also the concept of the `dodgy' tour company to add to its modern feel.
A real plus point for this listener was the fact it was unabridged, I always feel that abridged audio has lost parts of the narrative. Know you may feel that some books are too long, padded out and that the story could have been told in a briefer way, but at least you can make that judgment. The narrative is full of Falco's cynical one liners. While Historical in nature this is no Robert Graves novel!

All in all, not badly narrated with reasonable depth and with plenty of character, definitely worth a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

See Delphi And Die: (Falco 17)
See Delphi And Die: (Falco 17) by Lindsey Davis (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews