Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun
Once more Marcus Didius Falco, informer, sleuth, husband, father, and member of a vast and annoying family ("typical Italian") is out on a work assignment, this time in Ostia, the harbour of Ancient Rome. As usual, the plot is gripping and the story well told (I freely admit that I am a Falco aficionado), and as usual I am impressed by how well Ms. Davis researched the...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004 by Brigitte Hilgner

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Gossip columnists, pirates, too many relatives...and homophobia
I think there's a reason why Conan Doyle made his Great Detective a solitary: imagine Sherlock Holmes chasing the Hound of the Baskervilles surrounded by wife, daughters, mother, father, uncles cousins and in-laws plus friends and THEIR relatives. And ione would have thought pirates, by Vespasian's times, would be an occasional possible disturbance, not a threat as in the...
Published on 22 April 2012 by Ventura Angelo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 22 Jun. 2004
By 
Brigitte Hilgner (Vienna Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once more Marcus Didius Falco, informer, sleuth, husband, father, and member of a vast and annoying family ("typical Italian") is out on a work assignment, this time in Ostia, the harbour of Ancient Rome. As usual, the plot is gripping and the story well told (I freely admit that I am a Falco aficionado), and as usual I am impressed by how well Ms. Davis researched the historical background of her story (pirates in the Meditteranean).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another success, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Scandal Takes A Holiday: (Falco 16) (Paperback)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
In Scandal Takes a Holiday Lindsey has our super sleuth investigating a crime in Ostia harbour, port of Rome. Another great narrative laced with humour, intrigue, and excitement combined with her usual attention to historical detail, make this sequel a winner. Highly recommended.
The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Ever, 29 Nov. 2004
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Lindsey Davis has weaved another spell for her reader. Falco is back at his best surrounded by (and hindered) by his family. there are many authors writing crime in this format and most of them do it very well, but Lindsey Davis is still the best. There is something about Falco that endears him to the reader. The sights and sounds of Ancient Rome leap off the page at you. I have not said anything about the plot of the book, why spoil it. JUST READ THE BOOK, YOU'LL LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just As Good as All The Other Stories, 19 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Lindsey Davis has weaved another spell for her reader. Falco is back at his best surrounded by (and hindered) by his family. there are many authors writing crime in this format and most of them do it very well, but Lindsey Davis is still the best. There is something about Falco that endears him to the reader. The sights and sounds of Ancient Rome leap off the page at you. I have not said anything about the plot of the book, why spoil it. JUST READ THE BOOK, YOU'LL LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gossip columnists, pirates, too many relatives...and homophobia, 22 April 2012
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think there's a reason why Conan Doyle made his Great Detective a solitary: imagine Sherlock Holmes chasing the Hound of the Baskervilles surrounded by wife, daughters, mother, father, uncles cousins and in-laws plus friends and THEIR relatives. And ione would have thought pirates, by Vespasian's times, would be an occasional possible disturbance, not a threat as in the times of Pompet the Great and Julius Caesar. Gossip under the bad emperors could earn you a visit to the circus, and not a spectator. Frankly, sometimes the tramsposition of mopdern customs in ancient times seems inappropriate. And we don't approve of Ms Davis homophobia. She calls normal homoerotic orientatiom a perversion" this is incorrect, even in Rome. Only overt passive effeminacy was frowned upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piracy and Kidnapping in Imperial Rome, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
P. A. Crowther (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story from the Marcus Didius Falco series of novels by Lindsey Davis is set mostly in Ostia, the port of Rome, where our detective has been commissioned to investigate the mysterious disappearance of the gossip columnist on the Roman newspaper - well, there wasn't a newspaper in Rome in the way that we have them today, but there were official bulletins posted in public, which served the same purpose. The story involves pirates and kidnapping, and has many layers, before we reach the truth. Marcus is now married to Helena Justina, the senator's daughter, and she is closely involved in the detective work. Written in a very convincing way, with much detail of the period, I can fully recommend this episode to followers of the great Roman detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falco story, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy Falco stories and this was no exception. I enjoy the humor and the insights into Roman times. I'm looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. David Myles (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
holiday kindle read, good value when bought electronically and can be bought from overseas, the med was a good place to read this roman book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again a book I could not put down, Linsdsey Davies is a brilliant author I would reccomend any one to read the falco series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scandal Takes a Holiday, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Graham Reynolds (England and the World) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is Lindsey Davis at her best. Another Falco novel with all the depth of knowledge about Roman society in 77AD that we have become accustomed to. As well as a fascinating insight into Roman society it is also a great mystery who-done-it, with missing scribes, mysterious uncles, "retired" pirates,kidnapping and a chaotic family life all vying for the reader's attention. If you have never read a Lindsey Davis' Falco novel this is a good one to start with and eventually you will, like me, wind up with all 20 of her novels set in ancient Rome and all its many Provinces. A "must-read". Get it and enjoy.
Scandal Takes a Holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandal Takes A Holiday: (Falco 16)
Scandal Takes A Holiday: (Falco 16) by Lindsey Davis (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews