Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2016
This is an excellent addition to a great series. In this episode, Falco is gradually going up in the world; now more financially secure, with an official - though somewhat comic - official position, he is trying to build a more substantial life. He is still having to deal with various family problems, particularly following the death of his brother in law, and Helena is up to something.
He is visited by a young girl asking for his help, but turns her down, and comes to regret it. It turns out she is a candidate for selection as a Vestal Virgin, and when she goes missing, he is ordered by the palace to find her. He is drawn into the murky world of the ancient priesthoods - and one family in particular. The story is excellent, and although one or two of the twists and turns are easy to work out, others come as a bit of a surprise. It is, as usual, well written with a good dash of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
One virgin to many is a mystery like its predecessors its an excellent who-done it. A dead noble a retired vestal virgin and a six year old little girl who's convinced she is going to be murdered by a member of her strange family all this set in the Rome of the first century AD. The often amusing story line is gripping and filled with action, Falco is such a great character with a brilliant supporting cast . Lindsey Davis has written another winner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
Lindsey Davis now has me addicted to her stories of Ancient Rome. Falco is irresistible and the everyday details of Roman life are fascinating.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
There was only one Falco book that disappointed and this was not it - a great read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I first got into the Falco story after hearing the radio adaptation of the "Silver Pigs" with Anton Lesser in the title role so its his voice I hear when I read these fun and fascinating stories.The glimpses of life in Rome and the great humour means you must read them all,you won`t be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Lindsey Davis brings the Roman world to life with her Falco series. This is a very well researched and well written book. The Falco series is very addictive and, at times, difficult to put down. This instalment is no different to the rest. My advice is BUY IT and READ IT as you will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
This story in the Falco series introduces one of the many aspects of Roman religious life. LD develops the relationship between Falco and his brothers-in-law and explores the relationships of a religious family focussing on their missing daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
I love Lindsey Davis. I often lose the plot (so to speak) but I don't care as I fell like I am actually walking the streets of ancient Rome. This book was as enjoyable as all the others...and I even worked out who did it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Although I'm not a particular fan of Falco myself, my Wife loves them all and particularly likes the humour in the Ancient Rome setting. She's gradually working her way through tghe whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Once again a cracking read from Lindsey Davis as Marcus Didius Falco solves another mystery in Ancient Rome. This time the case centres on a small girl who thinks someone in her family is out to kill her. This is no ordinary family however as it involves the Vestal Virgins and other members of the Roman priesthood. As usual, Davis, has carried out her background research in detail and not only is this book a detective mystery, it could also be a treatise into Roman religion
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.