Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spreading Sweetness and Light
Bill Oakshott is in love with his cousin, Hermione. Hermione's father, Bill's uncle, is the fearsome Sir Aylmer Bostok, who has taken up residence in what should be Bill's home and refuses to be shifted. Bill needs to get the girl of his dreams and wrest control of his home from his uncle. This is easier said than done, as Hermione is now engaged to Reginald "Pongo"...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Poldy

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Dynamite
This is the usual Wodehouse Romp that occupies a couple of hours. The Kindle app for my android phone worked really well and I found it very easy to read on this machine. Only problem was the price. £4.95 for a 60 year old text of about 150 pages seems extortionate.
Published on 4 May 2012 by pete247davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spreading Sweetness and Light, 19 April 2012
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Hardcover)
Bill Oakshott is in love with his cousin, Hermione. Hermione's father, Bill's uncle, is the fearsome Sir Aylmer Bostok, who has taken up residence in what should be Bill's home and refuses to be shifted. Bill needs to get the girl of his dreams and wrest control of his home from his uncle. This is easier said than done, as Hermione is now engaged to Reginald "Pongo" Twistleton. Pongo had been engaged to an American sculptress, Sally Painter, but they parted after Pongo refused to smuggle Sally's friend's jewellery into America.

Who better to help than Frederick Altamont Cornwallis, fifth Earl of Ickenham, `one of the hottest earls that ever donned a coronet', better known to Pongo as Uncle Fred, now at leisure to spread sweetness and light as only he knows how as his disapproving wife, Jane, Lady Ickenham, is en route for the West Indies. Cue a visit to Bill's country home, where Uncle Fred can spin his usual schemes of disguise and impersonation.

This, the second novel to feature Uncle Fred, is another superb farce in the great Wodehouse tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Fred Explodes Sweetness and Light at Ashenden Manor, 1 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Hardcover)
The Uncle in question in `Uncle Dynamite' is Uncle Fred who we last met during an assault on the Castle at Market Blandings recorded in `Uncle Fred in the Springtime'. As ever Uncle Fred is determined `to spread sweetness and light' under an assumed name, this time Fred is received at Ashenden Manor as explorer Major Plank.

He has arrived to restore the engagement between his nephew Pongo and Sally Painter whom Fred considers his perfect match. In a ill conceived moment of madness has become engaged to arty novelist, Hermione Bostock, whom is loved by Bill Oakshott recently returned from an expedition up the Congo with the real Major Plank. Sorting out the affairs of youth is complicated by local Policeman, Constable Potter, whom once pinched Uncle Fred and Pongo under assumed names at a racing meeting, Sir Aylmer Bostock whom was at school with Uncle Fred as indeed was Major Plank whom also turns up unexpectedly.

Obviously Fred and Wodehouse have there work cut out in tying up all the loose ends but with Fred's personality and Wodehouse's talent the possibilities, like the sentences, are endless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had not read this Wodehouse. So when I found a Bbc abridged version with Richard Briers and Hugh Grant I knew I needed the full version. I really love Jonathan Cecil reading Wodehouse. He is the master at all the different voices. Jeeves nd Bertie only really shine with his rendition. Anyway, this story is super, silly and splendid. The action always verges on farce, but never gets too uncomfortable. It differs vastly from Bbc. Get both! If you are a Plum fan you'll enjoy this little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Dynamite by P.G. Woodhouse, 1 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Paperback)
For anyone familiar with P. G. Woodhouse's writing this book is a true pearl. As always up to his best in this fantastic amalgamation of fun, snobbery and pure entertainment.

Even though I am not a native to the English language - I do enjoy reading English books. And I must say that I thoroughly enjoy P.G. Woodhouse. Uncle Dynamite (Fred) was introduced in the Blandings Castle series and this series I also recommend. P. G. Woodhouse at his very best. ENJOY!

René Olsen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The return of Uncle Fred!, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Harris (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Paperback)
The uncle in question is the irresistible, irreverent Uncle Fred (who's like an older Psmith) who has to be one of the author's greatest comic creations. Wodehouse is on fine form in this worthy follow-up to the immortal "Uncle Fred in The Springtime". The novel is very well plotted, with a highly satisfying conclusion - and of course contains many laugh-out-loud lines from said Uncle Dynamite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treat !, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Paperback)
As always with Wodehouse very funny and fabulous use of English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamite by name, dynamite in humour, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. I. Willoughby "Willows" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Paperback)
Typical PG Wodehouse; witty, charming and the master of farce. I first heard this dramatized on radio, featuring the late Richard Briers in the main role. The book does not disappoint and I have loved every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Wodehouse, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Kindle Edition)
This is Wodehouse in top form. What more can I say? It kept me amused and entertained from beginning to end and I was sorry to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
David Farrar (Cheshire. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Paperback)
This item was purchased as a present. After placing the order I was informed that the item had been despatched and arrived well packed before the designated delivery date. I would have no hesitation in recommending this distributer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Dynamite, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Dynamite (Kindle Edition)
This is the usual Wodehouse Romp that occupies a couple of hours. The Kindle app for my android phone worked really well and I found it very easy to read on this machine. Only problem was the price. £4.95 for a 60 year old text of about 150 pages seems extortionate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncle Dynamite
Uncle Dynamite by P.G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews