Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse Winging it.
`Pigs Have Wings' is the seventh novel to be set in the grounds of Blandings Castle and by this time not only are the characters familiar but the plots are as well, and yet, I can't help but love these books.

Once again the Empress of Blandings, Lord Emsworth's celebrated pig, is again out to win the fattest pig award despite Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe...
Published on 28 Mar 2008 by Ian Wood, Author of 'Here's 2 ...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as jeeves
i bought for my husband as he watched the tv programme and enjoyed it he wasnt too impressed with the books.
Published 21 months ago by Ms. Catherine Drew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse Winging it., 28 Mar 2008
`Pigs Have Wings' is the seventh novel to be set in the grounds of Blandings Castle and by this time not only are the characters familiar but the plots are as well, and yet, I can't help but love these books.

Once again the Empress of Blandings, Lord Emsworth's celebrated pig, is again out to win the fattest pig award despite Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe importing an outsider to order. Galahad Threepwood with eminent assistance from Beach, the butler, and Jerry Vale, Lord Emsworth's latest in a long line of secretary's who are present under false pretences to woo the daughters of the extended family who have been sent for the seclusion, will endeavour to ensure the Empress wins for the third year in a row and so clean up at the bookies.

As the story opens three couples are engaged to be married due to misunderstanding, mistake or pique and at the end three couples are still engaged but now to the right people for the right reasons, God in his heaven and all is right with the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance and Pignapping!, 13 Nov 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
P.G. Wodehouse was the 20th century's answer to William Shakespeare reproduced as musical comedy. In Pigs Have Wings, Mr. Wodehouse produced one of his very best efforts.
As usual, the themes involve a satire of romantic love, miscommunications between the sexes, the vapid interests of the titled class, and the silliness of people in general.
As the book opens, Clarence, ninth Earl of Emsworth finds himself faced with a threat to the supremacy of his pig, Empress of Blandings, in the Fat Pigs class at the Shropshire Agricultural Show. Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe, Bart, of Matchingham Hall, had already hired away Clarence's pig handler, George Cyril Wellbeloved . . . and Clarence is sure that some new skullduggery will soon follow. As the story develops, we find that it's all too true. Soon both pig camps are doing their best to knobble the other man's pig. With everyone else having a bet on the outcome, many other people are soon engaged in trying to sabotage one pig or the other. It's the most pignapping fun caper you can imagine!
In the background, we have all sorts of people who've become engaged to totally unsuitable people on the rebound from slights they feel from the one they really love. P.G. Wodehouse does a yeoman effort of returning all of those twisted loves to the proper party. The plot will keep you constantly chuckling throughout.
There are quite a few books based on the Empress of Blandings. So if you enjoy this one, go on to the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pigs galore!!!, 3 May 2010
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pigs Have Wings: (Blandings Castle) (Paperback)
Pigs nearly always feature in the Blandings novels because Lord Emsworth is simply potty about his prize pig, the "Empress of Blandings". In this novel, his rivalry with his neighbour who is also in possession of a pig which he hopes will defeat the Empress in the next competition, reaches boiling point. At the centre of the novel we have a double stealing of pigs and the usual romantic entanglements. Anyway, this is simply delicious fun, a perfect tonic. Woken up by pain as I am, I find no better tonic than to tuck into a Wodehouse novel with its nonsence.

Thanks Fr Schall for reintroducing me to Wodehouse - it makes me wonder why I waited 20 years to return to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse is a comic genius, one of his finest examples., 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The ninth Earl of Emsworth has it all good health, a large sum of money and a top notch ancestral home. But there is a fly in the ointment, Sir Gregory Parsloe. With the usual riotous affairs that earmarks Wodehouse as a true genius, you begin on a tale of miscomprehension and great hilarity for all, all the threads are untangled in the end and everybody is the better off for it. This book is truely a work of art, if you haven't read any Wodehouse than i envy you, i truly do. For you have all his worls laid out in front of you, ripe for the plucking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poaching Pigs!, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is the time of the year for the Fattest Pig Competition and Lord Emsworth once again is worried that his adversary Sir Parsloe Parsloe will win with his pig. When he discovers that Parsloe has bought in a new, fat pig his world nearly comes asunder. He also finds that his pig girl is on speaking terms with his enemy and worries that she will somehow slim The Empress. Something must be done and fast!

Riding to the resuce so to speak, comes the redoubtable Gally his Brother. He has a scheme to outwit Parsloe which ends up involving Beach the Butler, Lord Emsworth's latest secretary Jerry and himself. Of course nothing ever goes to plan and the whole scheme ends up as a farce. There is of course a girl involved as there is in every Blandings story.

Of all the Blandings novels I have read to date, this has to be one of the funniest ones I have read. Pigs being moved under the cover of darkness, pigs being fed odd substances.........bally funny what ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Wodehouse's Finest Books, 25 May 2012
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pigs Have Wings: (Blandings Castle) (Paperback)
Clarence, Earl of Emsworth, as vague and woollen-headed as ever, is set on his pig, Empress of Blandings, winning First Prize in the fat pigs section of the Shropshire Agricultural Show for the third year in succession. So is his brother, that effervescent beau sabreur, Sir Galahad Threepwood, who stands to win a large sum should the Empress triumph a third time. The fly in the ointment is neighbour Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe, who has bought a new pig to exhibit in the show, going against the spirit, if not the letter, of the rules. Not only that, but Lord Emsworth's new pig-keeper is a young woman who is not only totally unsuitable for the post, but is also Sir Gregory's cousin. Naturally, Lord Emsworth and the ever-resourceful Gally, are on the alert for any attempt by Sir Gregory to nobble their pig, and as everyone knows, the best form of defence is attack.

"Pigs Have Wings" is the seventh Blandings novel, published in 1952 when Wodehouse was seventy-one. Although he had already published seventy books, he was still at the height of his powers and the plot rolls neatly along in its well-worn groove. All the great Blandings cast are here: Lord Emsworth, as hare-brained as ever; Gally, the beau sabreur; their sister, the domineering Lady Constance; and Beach the Butler, always ready, however reluctantly, to be pressed into service for the good of his employer, before taking solace in a refined glass of Port. The residents are augmented by the usual group of young - and not-so-young - lovers and nefarious villains. The plot, as always with Wodehouse, becomes ever more tangled as the story unfolds, but few writers have been better at complicating, then resolving, their plots. This is one of Wodehouse's best novels, and a highlight in the Blandings saga. No lover of fine comic writing will want to miss this visit to Wodehouse's eternal paradise of Blandings Castle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 22 April 2012
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a tad peculiar to criticise a Wodehouse novel for not being believable, but this one isn't as tightly plotted as the best. There are one or two rather loose ends and unexplained occurances. But the writing is as good as ever and Martin Jarvis is as brilliant as ever at giving each character a recognisable and consistent voice. As usual all ends well as the Hon Galahad Threepwood saves the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
This (along with Heavy Weather) is probably the best of PG Wodehouse's Blandings Castle books. The plot is precisely the kind of thing PG Wodehouse does best- light as a feather, totally unrealistic and absolutely fantastic. It concerns Lord Emsworth's attempts to win the Fat Pigs trophy against the (almost entirely imagined) opposition of the nefarious gourmand Sir Gregory Parsloe. Vintage Wodehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monderful classic, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a jolly old book. Fun to read. can never tire of reading PG Wodehouse. Its a classic comedy. Recommend it any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic story from PGW, 4 Jun 2014
By 
D. J. Wilcox (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again, the Empress of Blandings is under threat of being underhandedly treated by rivals in order for her to lose the fattest pig contest, along with the usual love trist. But it all turns out well in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pigs Have Wings: (Blandings Castle)
Pigs Have Wings: (Blandings Castle) by P.G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews