Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wodehouse giving classic Wooster
"Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves" is an example of Wodehouse at his best - to paraphrase Evelyn Waugh, cramming three original similes onto every page. The book continues the saga of the Wooster / Bassett / Fink-Nottle "love triangle", and Wodehouse as ever handles the problem of filling in new readers with aplomb (though it is undoubtedly better to have read the preceding...
Published on 20 Jan. 2004 by Paul Donovan

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the right cast
To make it clear from the outset - the book is great. There is no point saying the same thing over twice, so if anyone wishes to get my views on the Wodehouse text, there is a review out there somewhere in the system, with five stars.
The danger with a dramatisation of a favourite book - radio or TV - is that it never matches your mental image of the characters...
Published on 1 Mar. 2004 by Paul Donovan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars again, top notch wodehouse entertainment, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love having these stories to hand on tape for when i cant sleep, they are so funny and entertaining,the language so perfect and inimitable, it almost makes being an insomniac worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and classic jeeves, 24 May 2010
By 
G Star "G" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy your pg wodehouse, you will enjoy this play version on cd. totally worth the money and arrived in good time and condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly captures Wodehouse humour, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb acting, using a witty script. It's the usual convoluted Wodehouse plot, but that doesn't detract
from the pleasure at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy it now, and enjoy. So funny :) arrived before it was due to. My dad absolutely loved it for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
Great book... Great service...

I'm happy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete reading, 17 April 2010
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amazon have grouped all the "Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves" product reviews for books, cassettes and CDs together which gives this new BBC Audio Book a bit of a biased start as most reviews are about other versions of the story. Some other reviews describe how this story fits into the Jeeves and Wooster series, and Amazon's Product Description gives a brief outline of the plot, so I will just concentrate on what this particular version offers.

BBC Audio's new version of this Wodehouse classic presents the complete and unabridged version of the story read by actor Jonathan Cecil - you may recognise his voice from his TV and film work. The whole thing runs for seven hours and fills six audio CDs which are presented in a double size CD jewel case containing fold-out sections to hold all the discs. There is little information provided within the package - just a brief biography of P G Wodehouse and an ad for BBC Audio.

I'm not sure if CDs are now the best method of presenting spoken content - or even music for that matter -most people I know who enjoy this type of entertainment now prefer to download to a portable device for convenience, cost and easy storage. However, this BBC Audio set will probably find a limited market amongst those still happy using CDs. As for the reading itself Jonathan Cecil has a suitable voice for the material, and has actually played Bertie Wooster on TV back in 1981, but having enjoyed Stephen Fry's TV portrayal of Jeeves I couldn't help rather wishing that he was doing the storytelling here!

A reasonable enough effort from BBC Audio this package is sure to please at least some of P G Wodehouse's many fans. Personally I found seven hours of Jonathan Cecil to be about enough for me, but I did quite enjoy the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you will like it., 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
If you are a fan, you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dry, 17 Jun. 2010
By 
Crazy Seahorse "Crazy Seahorse" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some audio books really add to the experience you get from reading a book for yourself, because you get the actors interpretation of the character and a set of voices to help you imagine the scenes and add some variation to the listening experience. Sadly this has not been done with this audio, it is read as a straight narration and lacks expression, for a comedy this is a bit of a shame really. The three stars given is on the basis of the quality of the stories, PG Wodehouse is a talented and funny writer and I think the presentation of this audio CD lets the material down. If you want a taster as an introducion to the books then this is well and fine, but you might be better off watching the DVDs of the television series made by Fry and Laurie, or better still reading the books themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid gold presented in a crappy plastic box..., 19 April 2010
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a Wodehouse fan for over 40 years, as well as having read all the books, I've seen/heard many TV and radio addaptations - some excellent, some not quite there. This BBC audiobook comes in a double-size CD jewel case, with fold-out drawers - mine was already broken on arrival and so is constantly falling apart and spilling the discs from their trays. This is a very unsatisfactory way to package 6 CDs. The cheap and nasty theme is carried on with the accompanying information - which is minimal, just a brief biography of P G Wodehouse and the genesis of the Jeeves and Wooster stories and at £20 the BBC package is much too pricey (although Amazon's price is much better).

Therefore I was already not enamoured with the package before I'd even listened to it! My initial thoughts were that Jonathon Cecil didn't have the personality to carry off the readings, his Bertie voice didn't sound silly enough and his Jeeves voice was too dour. However, as I began to work my way through the seven hours of the story, the Wodehouse magic began to work and I became much more amenable to Mr. Cecil. This isn't the best Wodehouse adaptation but it is just about OK and probably lets you concentrate more on the story itself rather than the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
J. M. Albinson "jen81965" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster)
Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster) by P.G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews