Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Bertie escape the gaze of Madeline?
Another gem from the pen of PGW. In this story, Bertie Wooster rallies around to help firstly, his friend Gussie who, thanks to another friend Catsmeat, has been incarcerated. Bertie's motives are not purely driven by his friendship for Gussie, as he fears what will happen if Gussie's fiancee finds out about Gussie's situation and breaks their engagement - given that...
Published on 19 Mar. 2012 by Keen Reader

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read it for our book club and the general opinion was that it was better as a television programme
Not a book for me. Read it for our book club and the general opinion was that it was better as a television programme.
Published 7 months ago by E. Gibbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Bertie escape the gaze of Madeline?, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mating Season: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
Another gem from the pen of PGW. In this story, Bertie Wooster rallies around to help firstly, his friend Gussie who, thanks to another friend Catsmeat, has been incarcerated. Bertie's motives are not purely driven by his friendship for Gussie, as he fears what will happen if Gussie's fiancee finds out about Gussie's situation and breaks their engagement - given that she is convinced of Bertie's fond feelings for her, it's not surprising Bertie is determined to protect his bachelorhood. Jeeves, of course, is there to assist the young master in his dilemmas.

But of course it's not all as simple as that - add the entanglements of the heart of Corky Pirbright, Catsmeat Pirbright, Esmond Haddock, Officer Dobbs, Queenie the parlourmaid and Gertrude Winkworth, and throw in five dotty aunts, as well as Bertie's formidable Aunt Agatha and Jeeves' uncle Charlie, and you have a typical PGW story - full of fun, fraught with difficulties that seem insurmountable, and all, of course, resolved by the last page with everyone reconciled and Bertie and Jeeves once again at their ease.

As always, totally thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sundered hearts and green beards..., 19 Oct. 2011
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jeeves has to be on his very best form here to pull Bertie Wooster out of the soup! As the Gussie Fink-Nottle/Madeleine Bassett engagement wobbles, Bertie is faced with the horror of marriage to the Bassett - she who thinks that the stars are God's daisy chain. (Perfect rot, of course, as Bertie would say.) But to add to Bertie's woes, Deverill Hall is stuffed full of sundered hearts and worse - five aunts! And as we know from another volume of Bertie's memoirs Aunts Aren't Gentlemen.

We have starlet Corky Pirbright, estranged from the lodestar of her life, Esmond Haddock, due to his inability to stand up to his (many) aunts. Corky's brother Catsmeat, kept from his true love Gertrude by (you've guessed it, haven't you) her disapproving aunts. But don't forget below stairs where poor little Queenie weeps for her lost policeman - her father won't let her marry an atheist. Throw in a dog with a penchant for biting policemen, a village concert complete with Pat and Mike comedy cross-talk act (enhanced by the wearing of green beards) and the fact that Bertie is having to pretend to be Gussie; and it's lucky Jeeves takes such a large size in hats - no ordinary-sized brain could possibly find a way to extricate Bertie and his pals from this tangle.

Of its time and yet timeless, this is another classic from PG Wodehouse, full of enough sunshine and laughter to brighten up even the chilliest autumn evening. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wodehouse at his very best, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this book about 27 million times (that may be a slight exaggeration, but not by much), I still find things to laugh out loud at in this book This is P. G. Wodehouse at his very best. In the Jeeves and Wooster stories and the Blandings Castle books, Wodehouse achieved a level of comic writing that no-one else has, before or since. So when I say that this is one of the best of all his books, 5 stars just are not enough to distinguish its greatness from other 5-star books. How did Wodehouse contrive the situations Bertie gets into? And how on earth did he manage to write the extrications Jeeves manages every time? My view of which Wodehouse book varies from time to time, as I re-read them, but this one will always be at, or near, the top of the list. Even though you know that Bertie will get into tangles romantically, and will try to help his friends out with their relationship problems, and even though you know he will turn them all into disasters, and that Jeeves will somehow extricate him, and his friends, and restore love and peace all around, you will still love every page of this book. Keep calm and send for Jeeves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse is the perfect antidote to modern stress, 7 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such fun! Jeeves and Wooster never fail to raise my spirits. The fusion of amusing sketches, memorable characters and Wodehouse's clever composition is a balm to the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to find some unread gems for my Kindle, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought I had read the entire Jeeves catalogue as a teenager, great to find some unread gems for my Kindle. Love Wodehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Ho Jeeves !!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mating Season: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
A clever story. |I'm not too sure about the absence of Jeeves for long periods is satisfactory. This changing identities is the second story I've read and I'm cot to happy with it. There are short sections which are exremely funny however and make up for any other misgivings you may have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love pg wodehouse, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this has to be one of pg wodehouse,s best books, the humour is so subtle at times and so obviously funny, you can actually chuckle to yourself. you could practically be in the 1920s along with Bertie and Jeeves, Looking forward to reading all of the Jeeves books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you will laugh out loud!, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Skylark (Chichester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good plot, with many disconcerting twists that test our hero Bertie. The scene with host Esmond over after dinner port is one of the funniest he has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The masterful P.G. as ever, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly good read. Highly enjoyable and well worth the small price of downloading. I look forward to reading more of Nerves and Wooster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mating Season: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
Sit back and enjoy. No need to analyse or intellectualise. I have nearly finished the whole series now. I envy those about to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mating Season: (Jeeves & Wooster)
The Mating Season: (Jeeves & Wooster) by P.G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews