Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great pick me up
There are few writers who lighten the cares of life as well as PG Wodehouse. It's what he set out to do and succeeded brilliantly in book after book. This is one of the best - a Jeeves and Wooster novel written in PGW's mid-season form when he had mastered his craft and his characters and made them dance to his absurd plots.

Joy in the Morning has many familiar...
Published on 27 May 2006 by Mr. S. Ryan

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version makes author's remains rotate?
This seemed to be the only Wodehouse book on Kindle that didn't have horrendous gaps between the paragraphs and lazy digital punctuation, and whose layout actually looked readable, so it seemed a good purchase for a holiday read. But whilst I would give the book's original content 5 stars in a heart beat - this was a wonderfully funny book, charming and clever to the nth...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Paddington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version makes author's remains rotate?, 24 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This seemed to be the only Wodehouse book on Kindle that didn't have horrendous gaps between the paragraphs and lazy digital punctuation, and whose layout actually looked readable, so it seemed a good purchase for a holiday read. But whilst I would give the book's original content 5 stars in a heart beat - this was a wonderfully funny book, charming and clever to the nth degree - there were some serious formatting and production flaws that marred the experience and made me return the download and buy the hardback instead when I got home. (Amazon have a 7 day policy.)

The publishers of P G Wodehouse really need to take note. They are curators for the work of the greatest English prose comic of all time. Wodehouse's eBooks deserve to be editions the company is proud of. I would have spent hundreds of pounds on downloading them by now if they weren't so awfully badly produced. He has a huge back catalogue, exceptionally strong, and there is obvious scope for pricing his dozens of books affordably enough to hook people into a lifelong love affair with some of the best and most uplifting literature of the past 100 years. They are very moreish. And if the publishers were clever, they would be accurate and attractive and affordable. Even one out of three would be something.

But at the moment, even this one which has escaped the stupidly huge paragraph breaks and digital punctuation, was indisputably not proofread. It got so bad that by page 50 I decided to highlight any errors I happened to spot from then on till the end. Not counting every single chapter starting with its first letter floating up above the line (a failed drop-cap?) and without going out of my way, I came across no fewer than 71. Missing speech marks, joined up words, longer words that had obviously been hyphenated over a line break in the original but which had no need for hyphenation now, the letter 'I' repeatedly replaced with '1' ... Small things, perhaps, but all sloppy, all noticeable, all frequent, and all adding up to make the reading experience unnecessarily inferior.

The book was scanned, well formatted (unlike every other Wodehouse eBook from the same publishers), but not proofread. At all.

Why?

Readers deserve better. But so does the legacy of so great a writer. I really do hope the publishers see sense. They are missing out on an awful lot of money and, I suspect, making an awful lot of readers miserable. As it stands, I think Amazon would be better off preventing Kindle books with such low production standards from being sold in their store.

The sad thing is that this is by far and away the best produced Wodehouse eBook that I have found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great pick me up, 27 May 2006
By 
Mr. S. Ryan (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are few writers who lighten the cares of life as well as PG Wodehouse. It's what he set out to do and succeeded brilliantly in book after book. This is one of the best - a Jeeves and Wooster novel written in PGW's mid-season form when he had mastered his craft and his characters and made them dance to his absurd plots.

Joy in the Morning has many familiar elements - the ghastly girl to whom Bertie was once engaged, a jealous new fiancee, the awful relatives (Edwin the boy scout causing mischief through trying to catch up his good deeds is particularly inspired.) But it is the writing that carries you through. PGW was acknowledged as a master comic novelist by Evelyn Waugh, Stephen Fry and many others. This book is a good place to start to find out why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wodehouse, 31 Dec 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joy in the Morning (Paperback)
The character of Edwin the infernal schoolboy is a gem. Bertie pitting his wits against impending marriage and winding up half drowning Edwin is a wonderful moment. I love the names Wodehouse uses for his characters and "Stilton" just has to be one of my favourites. Jeeves, as ever is the calm centre of the maelstrom that ensues. Divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful escapism, 11 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
This is one of Wodehouse's funniest and most light-hearted Jeeves and Bertie Wooster novels- and that is saying something. As is usually the case with his stories, the plot is breezy and gently non-sensical, the sort of old-fashioned musical comedy without the music that he delighted in writing and which generations of readers delight in reading. His beautiful, witty and precise use of the English language is worth the admission price on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy in the Reading, 22 Feb 2008
`Joy in the Morning' is a Jeeves and Wooster novel which is a sequel to the first short story, chronicling Jeeves entrance into Bertie's life, `Jeeves Takes Charge' which appeared in the `Carry On, Jeeves' anthology.

Bertie is visiting his Uncle Percy's estate to help with securing the old buffers blessing on the union of his good pals, Nobby and Boko, despite the well meaning assistance of his cousin Edwin, a boy scout who is typically behind on his good deeds. Also on hand is Florence Craye whom was engaged to Bertie in `Jeeves Takes Charge' but is now engaged to locally bobby Stilton Cheesewright. The usual misunderstandings ensure that Stilton's nomination is scratched in preference to the hapless Bertie whom Florence sees as a challenge to mould.

And so Wodehouse and Jeeves have there work cut out, they have to not only bring a happy conclusion to the engagement of Nobby and Boko but need to break Bertie's engagement to Florence whilst keeping him away from Stilton and the laws long arm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Heaven, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
It's absolutely true, all the blurb you read by clever celebs on the dustjackets of Wodehouse's books. They are good for what ails you, never fail to comfort and make a good day a memorable one. His language is so delicious you could slice and butter it. I'm not usually this effusive but having read a few of PG's books one after the other I'm in a very, very good mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven at times, but still a Wodehouse classic., 7 Jan 2003
Having recently completed "Right Ho, Jeeves" and "Carry On, Jeeves," it is not without a small pang of guilt that I must report "Joy in the Morning" is a bit overdone. I am puzzled that, along with "The Code of the Woosters" and "Right Ho, Jeeves" this title is considered by Wodehouse enthusiasts to be one of his very best. It certainly has some masterful scenes. Consider the following exerpt:
"I had just remembered that my suitcase with tyhe Sindbad the Sailor costume in it was in the Wee Nooke front hall, and the flames leaping ever nearer." If you have ever read Wodehouse before, you can well imagine in what kind of holy mess Bertie Wooster is once again enmeshed.
I suppose the plot was a bit thick and cumbersome at times. My idea of a flawless Wodehosue plot is "How Right You Are, Jeeves." Nowhere as long as "Joy in the Morning," but convoluted just enough to facilitate some hysterical laughs.
On the whole, I recommend "Joy in the Morning" as yet another example of how funny the Shakespeare of Comedy truly was; Wodehouse can't be described otherwise. So forgive my 4-star rating of Joy and dive into it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy at any time of the day, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
One of the best Jeeves & Wooster books. The action takes place at Steeple Bumpleigh, the residence of the dreaded Aunt Agatha and her second husband Lord Worplesdon (Uncle Percy). Aunt Agatha is away and Uncle Percy has consulted Jeeves on how to bring about a meeting between himself and Chichester Clam, American shipping magnate, whose business he wants to buy. The issue is that if the press find out then the share price will rocket and Percy will suffer. Jeeves, being partial to fishing, suggests that if Bertie were to be given a cottage on the estate (near the river) then the two great men could meet there with a complete lack of suspicion. Bertie is not happy but agrees to play his part. Of course, attempts at holding a meeting become increasingly farcical, not helped by Uncle Percy's young son Edwin, a boy of maniacal do-good intent. Personal issues for Bertie arise because Aunt Agatha's daughter, Florence, who used to be engaged to Bertie, has now become engaged to Stilton Cheesewright, an old school chum of Bertie's, but a deeply suspicious and potentially violent one. He believes Bertie is out to get Florence back, while Bertie fears what will happen if Florence rejects Stilton, a situation that circumstances render more and more possible. In the meantime, Lord Worplesdon's ward, Nobby Hopwood, is being refused permission to marry mutual chum Boko Fittleworth on the grounds that he is a mere writer. Bertie is called upon to assist them in ways likely to be dangerous to both his health and personal liberty. The three sub-plots wind round and round each other in glorious manner as the book progresses, and Bertie looks like being the winding post. But, never fear, as Jeeves is on hand to save the day. A lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... well written humour is very well done quality is good and price, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Paperback)
as usual in this series well written humour is very well done quality is good and price good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joy in the morning, 29 Jun 2014
I am not worthy to review such a book except to say you slip into the narrative, smile and get lost in a different, happier world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster)
Joy in the Morning: (Jeeves & Wooster) by P.G. Wodehouse (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews