Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars64
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2014
This is said to be the best of the Wooster & Jeeves books. I enjoyed it just as much as the others, but wouldn't have rated it best. But maybe as I haven't read all of them maybe I shouldn't hastily pass judgement. All I say is that this book is just as good as all the others I have read, each enjoyable in its own way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
EDIT - THEY SEEM TO HAVE FIXED IT. HOORAY!

Going by the new eBook version now available for download, they've fixed all the old problems there were with this and many of the Wodehouse books. This is great cause for celebration, so I withdraw my negative comments. I've left them below for the record, but while I haven't checked this book throughout for typos etc. the formatting really does seem to be 100% massively improved and entirely readable at last. Great news!

A CLASSIC NOVEL - POOR ON KINDLE

I started writing this review with the express purpose of publicly complaining at the poor job done of converting Wodehouse's books to eBooks, and wanted to give this particular product 1/5 to emphasise the point, but it feels like a sin to put anything other than 5 stars next to this - perhaps Wodehouse's very best book.

On Kindle it is useless, unfortunately, along with all of Wodehouse's books. I'm not sure where the publisher got the text files, probably scans of the original. But whilst the books have been attractively set in Arrow's new paperbacks, in eBook form all of Wodehouse's books suffer from having paragraph breaks as well as indentations, and also boast tacky HTML straight inverted commas. Lazy, lazy, lazy. Ten minutes of find+replace in Word and they could have fixed this. It makes it hard to read (you can never get into the flow, having to jump rather than flow from paragraph to paragraph) and looks cheap and nasty. You also have to turn pages probably 30% more than you should, thanks to the pointless spacing.

Pricing, of course, is also less than ideal - but for that I blame the government's 20% VAT on all eBooks (whereas books suffer 0%).

Wodehouse deserves better.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This has it all, the elaborate and perfect plot, the familiar Wooster family, the brilliant Jeeves, the vivid minor characters, the unexpected linguistic hand grenades and the author's gentle mockery. I've been enduring a short hospitalisation. i expected to be disgruntled, but thanks to Wodehouse I was quite close to being gruntled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
To my shame, I had ignored P G Wodehouse, regarding it as dated nonsense. The blinkers were lifted from my eyes by a quote in an unrelated book and so I decided to give it a try. Within just a few pages I realised what I was missing, Wodehouse has a great turn of phrase and most unusually, the book has (for me anyway) about twenty "laugh out loud" moments. It is very much of its time, but like some classic comedy, it doesn't seem to have dated any. I have become a convert and if you give it a go, you might also become a fan.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
Here it is: 'the sinister affair of Gussie Fink-Nottle, Madeleine Bassett, old Pop Bassett, Stiffy Byng, the Rev. H.P. ('Stinker') Pinker, the eighteenth-century cow-creamer and the small, brown, leather-covered notebook'. A terrific introduction to the world of Bertie and Jeeves for novices, and one of the finest examples of Wodehouse's genius for those already familiar with his work. Presented here in the brilliant new Everyman edition (that will eventually encompass everything Wodehouse wrote) the book is well put-together, and definitely deserves pride of place in your home library.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 May 2008
The story is close to the definitive Jeeves & Wooster: true love not running smoothly, the threat of unwanted matrimony hanging over Bertie, Aunts, Anatole the chef, Jeeves utilising psychology to extricate his master, cow creamers, leather bound notebooks and policemen's helmets and , unforgettably, the ludicrous black 'footer bags' of Roderick Spode, necessary because by the time he formed his fascist party 'all the shirts had gone'.

Horden and Briers are excellent as usual and Patrick Cargill provides strong support as Sir Watkin Bassett.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All of the P.G. Wodehouse novels about Bertram ("Bertie") Wooster and his gentleman's gentleman, Jeeves, are funny. Some are reasonably complicated in their plots. But none compare to this classic in the series.
From the beginning, Bertie is up against impossible odds. Sent by his Aunt Dahlia to sneer at a Cow Creamer, Bertie dangerously bumps into Sir Watkyn Bassett, the magistrate who once fined him five guineas for copping a policeman's helmet on Boat Race night, and Roderick Spode, Britain's aspiring fascist dictator. The only trouble in this encounter is that Bertie is clutching the Cow Creamer on the sidewalk after having tripped on a cat and falling through the front door, and Sir Watkyn recognizes him as a former criminal. Barely escaping arrest on the spot, Bertie returns home to find that Aunt Dahlia wants him to debark immediately for Totley Towers where Sir Watkyn has just taken the Cow Creamer he has purchased after pulling a ruse on Uncle Tom. When there, Bertie is to steal the Cow Creamer. At the same time, he receives urgent telegrams from his old pal, Gussie Fink-Nottle, to come to Totley Towers to save his engagement to Madeleine Bassett. Bertie feels like he is being sent into the jaws of death.
Jeeves immediately fetches up a plot to get Madeleine Bassett, to whom he has been affianced twice, to invite Bertie to her father's home. Upon arriving, Sir Watkyn and Roderick Spode immediately catch him holding the Cow Creamer. Sir Watkyn threatens years in jail, until Madeleine comes in to rescue him. But Sir Watkyn proceeds to assume that everything that goes wrong from then is due to Bertie. For once, Bertie is the innocent party. But he takes the rap anyway, because of the code of the Woosters, never let a pal down.
Never has anyone had a goofier set of pals. Gussie Fink-Nottle has developed spiritually so that he has less fear, but his method of achieving this soon puts him in peril. Stephanie "Stiffy" Byng, Sir Watkyn's niece, has to be the goofiest acquaintance that Bertie has. She is a one-woman wrecking machine for creating havoc. Her fiance, another old pal of Bertie's, "Stinker" Pinker, the local curate, is only slightly better.
Just when you cannot see any way that Bertie can avoid gaol, Jeeves comes up with one brilliant plan after another. It's truly awe-inspiring as well as side-splittingly funny.
P.G. Wodehouse remarked that he preferred to write as though the subject were musical comedy, and he has certainly captured that mood here at its vibrant best. You'll be on the edge of your chair and trying to avoid falling on the floor laughing at the same time.
After you've followed more twists and turns than existed in the Labyrinth at Crete, consider how far you would go to save a pal . . . or to keep a secret . . . or to protect a loved one. What should the personal code be?
Be generous with your friends and to all humankind.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
I have to echo the review by Paddington. A superb book by the great Wodehouse, but the Kindle conversion is frankly a disgrace. Absolutely no effort has been made to ensure that this book is properly readable on the Kindle and Random House should be ashamed of themselves.

Speech marks are frequently missing (every two or three pages), meaning it's difficult to tell when speech ends and narration starts. Indents are all over the place. The margins are uneven. Great gaps appear at the top and bottom of the pages. It's a really dreadful job. And the price for this, which took someone 10 seconds to upload (because clearly it was never checked) - £4.94! Where has that figure been plucked from, considering the production overheads are apparently 0p? Had this been for sale for 99p you might be able to overlook this slovenliness, but when you're paying the thick-end of a normal paperback price it's infuriating.

It's funny: the Kindle has a reputation for 'amateur' or 'indy' authors uploading their work carelessly - yet it's Random House, a massive publisher, who are taking people for a ride. And, really, it's a bit of an insult to Wodehouse himself. He deserves better than this shameless profiteering.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All of the P.G. Wodehouse novels about Bertram ("Bertie") Wooster and his gentleman's gentleman, Jeeves, are funny. Some are reasonably complicated in their plots. But none compare to this classic in the series.
From the beginning, Bertie is up against impossible odds. Sent by his Aunt Dahlia to sneer at a Cow Creamer, Bertie dangerously bumps into Sir Watkyn Bassett, the magistrate who once fined him five guineas for copping a policeman's helmet on Boat Race night, and Roderick Spode, Britain's aspiring fascist dictator. The only trouble in this encounter is that Bertie is clutching the Cow Creamer on the sidewalk after having tripped on a cat and falling through the front door, and Sir Watkyn recognizes him as a former criminal. Barely escaping arrest on the spot, Bertie returns home to find that Aunt Dahlia wants him to debark immediately for Totley Towers where Sir Watkyn has just taken the Cow Creamer he has purchased after pulling a ruse on Uncle Tom. When there, Bertie is to steal the Cow Creamer. At the same time, he receives urgent telegrams from his old pal, Gussie Fink-Nottle, to come to Totley Towers to save his engagement to Madeleine Bassett. Bertie feels like he is being sent into the jaws of death.
Jeeves immediately fetches up a plot to get Madeleine Bassett, to whom he has been affianced twice, to invite Bertie to her father's home. Upon arriving, Sir Watkyn and Roderick Spode immediately catch him holding the Cow Creamer. Sir Watkyn threatens years in jail, until Madeleine comes in to rescue him. But Sir Watkyn proceeds to assume that everything that goes wrong from then is due to Bertie. For once, Bertie is the innocent party. But he takes the rap anyway, because of the code of the Woosters, never let a pal down.
Never has anyone had a goofier set of pals. Gussie Fink-Nottle has developed spiritually so that he has less fear, but his method of achieving this soon puts him in peril. Stephanie "Stiffy" Byng, Sir Watkyn's niece, has to be the goofiest acquaintance that Bertie has. She is a one-woman wrecking machine for creating havoc. Her fiance, another old pal of Bertie's, "Stinker" Pinker, the local curate, is only slightly better.
Just when you cannot see any way that Bertie can avoid gaol, Jeeves comes up with one brilliant plan after another. It's truly awe-inspiring as well as side-splittingly funny.
P.G. Wodehouse remarked that he preferred to write as though the subject were musical comedy, and he has certainly captured that mood here at its vibrant best. You'll be on the edge of your chair and trying to avoid falling on the floor laughing at the same time.
After you've followed more twists and turns than existed in the Labyrinth at Crete, consider how far you would go to save a pal . . . or to keep a secret . . . or to protect a loved one. What should the personal code be?
Be generous with your friends and to all humankind.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
The world Wodehouse creates is complete. His use of irony, litotes and particularly bathos had me laughing out loud on occasion. It's the sort of novel you can't skim through because the joy of it is in the use of language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.