Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars45
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2016
Wodehouse was a talented writer but he was obsessed with complicated situations aiming to be funny. After two or three, it becomes tiresome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Read all Jeeves books as a teen - and I'm reading them again now (much later in life), probably with even more pleasure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Very funny and enjoyable read. Highly recommend to all Jeeves and Wooster fans. This book was adapted for tv, but prefer the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Bought this for may Husband who is a big fan of Jeeves & Wooster, very funny and a good read for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
A typical P G Wodehouse story, a light entertaining easy to read style. Yes I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
The incomparable PG Wodehouse, I just adore his Jeeves and Wooster series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Delightful escapist light reading, on the sunbed in the garden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
So perhaps this one is a little capricious... but "Thank You, Jeeves" - and Wodehouse - is so spectacular, it deserves to have more than one review. Even if the latter review is obsolete, and poorly written.

"Thank You, Jeeves" was Plum's first foray into novels, and if you're coming into this as a new fan of J and W, chances are up until now you've only read the short stories. Aye, with a novel, you go into it knowing you will have to invest more time and, naw, it's not a book you can dip in and out of. But it's stupendous, tremendous and peachy peachy keen so, chances are, you'll maraud through it in one dizzingly enjoyable sitting.

There are the mishaps, farcical adventures, misconstruisms (to coin a word) and genuine laughs-from-the-tummy. Bertie and Jeeves have become separated due to Wooster's banjolele playing (as a ukulele player, he has my support). Nevertheless, fate and mutual adoration draw them together again and again. They are joined by a motley crew ranging from lovable to lovable grotesque. Perhaps that's one of Wodehouse's strengths - he just didn't know how to write a disappointing character. They all still have the quirks and the dialogue, you see, making even the most unpleasant of chaps seem entirely charming.

So the knife-wielding wingnut Brinkley is still a joy to read about as he very calmly requests the devil come out of that room please, sir. And even pesky young Seabury is a pleasure to spend time with when you consider the teenage gadabouts of today carry guns whereas, at his very worst, he brandishes merely a stick of butter.

In other words, "Thank You, Jeeves" is a sublime pair of the cat's pajamas. A bit of warning for the easily offended: the "n" word does crop up a couple of times, as does the idea of "blacking up". I was startled the very first time I saw them in Wodehouse stories, but never are they used as invective so hopefully you can forgive Wodehouse's using them - they will have been standard back then and he clearly meant no offense.

If you've yet to follow the duo around for a spell, I would urge you to have a go. If you already know them well, read the entire lot and fall in love with them all over again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I can never say anything bad about P G Wodehouse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
hi do not find this book a good read at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.