Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less action, more intrigue.
The malevolent Greer seems to have forgotten his threat to Rennie - or has he?
The next instalment of his devious plan involves Rennie inveigling himself into a subversive sect bent on undermining Britain's sovereignty with a view to overthrow it, mirroring the unrest in France. To this end Rennie is forced to act the coward, much to his disgust, while Hayter seems...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying
I enjoy reading the historical fiction set in this period, and came to Peter Smaelley's "The Hawk" with much anticipation. Unfortunately I was disappointed. There are two main problems with the book - the plot and the characterisation.

Firstly the plot, which starts intriguingly mysterious, but, instead of becoming clearer as the book progresses, gets...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Ross Maynard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less action, more intrigue., 13 Dec 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hawk (William Rennie 4) (Paperback)
The malevolent Greer seems to have forgotten his threat to Rennie - or has he?
The next instalment of his devious plan involves Rennie inveigling himself into a subversive sect bent on undermining Britain's sovereignty with a view to overthrow it, mirroring the unrest in France. To this end Rennie is forced to act the coward, much to his disgust, while Hayter seems to be pulled several ways at once: by his Admiral, Greer and the mysterious "Mr Hope". Having no real instructions, his remit is to capture a pirate, alive, including his ship and all its assets, but to what end?
Their two missions seem unconnected and you (and they) wonder if it is all a product of Greer's paranoia and are they committing professional suicide ...
The web of the plot is very tangled indeed, almost to the point of bewilderment, and while we see deeper into the minds of the main characters, others are less well defined and somehow extraneous to the story, especially Mr Hope - what's his role? (but this may resolve itself in future books?)
We see much less naval action in this episode and what there is is brief & bloody, but there is plenty of intrigue, with a delightful twist at the end - I rubbed my hands with glee!
Not as gripping as the previous 3 in the series, but I still look forward to 'The Gathering Storm'. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated but satisfied, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Hawk (Hardcover)
This takes the story to a simpler stage.The smaller details are more pronounced,the grander scale diminished.One learns,perhaps,more of the personalities,more of the men and less of the time,the war.So what one gains is,possibly,balanced by a loss of action.Overall,however,I believe it moves the saga forward and opens the opportunity for it to move in to the Forester/O'Brian league in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracking yarn !, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hawk (William Rennie 4) (Paperback)
Awesome books once again delivered on time and the quality of the book was good, almost new. I shall certainly continue using them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hawk (William Rennie 4) (Paperback)
I enjoy reading the historical fiction set in this period, and came to Peter Smaelley's "The Hawk" with much anticipation. Unfortunately I was disappointed. There are two main problems with the book - the plot and the characterisation.

Firstly the plot, which starts intriguingly mysterious, but, instead of becoming clearer as the book progresses, gets increasingly infuriating. Indeed, the arrival in the plot of a "person of royal blood" (for no apparent reason as it turns out) gives the whole thing a bizarre touch. I struggled to get into the book throughout - and never quite managed it. Indeed, having finished the book, I am still not sure what the story actually was, or why the book ended as it did.

The second problem is the characterisation. I never felt any particular empathy with the main characters, and could not get to like them. I found Peter Smalley's prose difficult and couldn't engage with the story. His descriptions too are weak. In particular, I never got the feel for the ship and its crew as you would in a Julian Stockwin novel, or a Hornblower, or numerous other authors.

Perhaps it is a matter of taste, but this didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hawk-By William Rennie, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Arthur Baston (HOLT Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hawk (William Rennie 4) (Paperback)
A well written book and gives the detail you will want in a historical novel,even though it's fiction,well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Napoleonic Sea Warfare History, 1 Feb 2009
By 
C. J. Bailey'green "bookworm" (somerset, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hawk (Hardcover)
A good read, but not as good as the previous ones. Also geographical area needed additional research. Bosham is abouth 30 miles east of Portsmouth. I believe he meant Cosham which is 5 miles north of Old Portsmouth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hawk (William Rennie 4)
The Hawk (William Rennie 4) by Peter Smalley (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
7.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews