Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story that sticks to the facts, 26 Jun 2009
By 
Boof (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
Spain in the 15th & 16th century: Queen Isabella and King Ferdinand are on the throne. This book is the 3rd in the Spain series but I didn't feel I'd missed out not reading the frist two as this is a story in its own right.

The book centres on the 4 daughters (and one son) of the King and Queen, the most famous of these being Katherine of Aragon (or Catalina as she was known in Spain). It is also a time of huge unrest with Jews and Moors being expelled from the country.

I really enjoyed this book. It was my first Plaidy and I found it very accessable and was a good introduction to this time and place that I didn't really know anything about. It has certainly left me wanting to know more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars story of isabella and ferdinands children, 13 April 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
with a united spain through the marriage of isabella of castile and ferdinand of aragon, the king looks to further spain's position in europe through advantageous marriages of his duaghters. although these marriages took place the failure to provide healthy hiers is foremost in his mind. isabella worries about her daughters, and sometimes the mother in her overrides the queen. also happening at this time is the unrest in granada over the deal that was struck many years ago to end the warring. muslims living peacefully in granada were under threat from the new archbishop of toledo. interesting and wonderfully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the past to life, 7 Feb 2009
By 
G. P. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
The interesting story of Ferdinand and Isabella of Spain..their children, and how the girls had to leave their home to marry Princes in other countries...including Prince Arthur and Prince Henry (later Henry Eighth) of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor, sad princesses, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
The descriptions on the wars against the moors and Colombus' frustrated attempts in gathering support to his expedition to a New World dragged on a bit too much, but then so did the historical events themselves. The conflicts involving the Catholic monarchs'children shed an unexpected light on the public exposure of a royal family and the less romantic sides of being a princess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great end to the trilogy., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This final book makes you realise what a strain it was being royal during this troubled century. Excellent read. Jean Plaidy leaves you wanting more and more!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all her books and this is no exception. They are easy to read and as the facts are generally accurate, I feel I'm learning the background history as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first class read as always.jean plaidy never disappoints, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
I read these books over 30 years ago and it was a treat to read them again. My daughter read them as a schoolgirl and used the historical data in her schoolwork. It was so accurate that she was able to correct something that a teacher said. H e was impressed by her knowledge and asked her where she had attained it. Her reply was"My mother reads Jean Plaidy books,and she always uses correct data in her novels",so that is why I knew your answer was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars readings, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. J. M. Harrison-hicks "saxonlady" (Peacehaven. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) (Paperback)
another worthwhile book to read by Jean Plaidy, the mistress of fiction based on facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy)
Daughters of Spain: (Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy) by Jean Plaidy (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews