Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great early Wallander
It's not the bright sunny, northern summer days, it's the long, dark, dank, cold, sleepless, foggy nights, when Wallander is alone with his fears or in solitary pursuit of a psychotic killer, that creep off the page and take hold of you. At times, Mankell simply wraps us in evil atmosphere.

How did Kurt Wallander become the angry, insecure, single-minded...
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by Mick Read

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'someone rode into their hopeless lives and brought the sense of adventure' ***1/2 stars
'In the beginning everything was just a fog'.

The first story - Wallander's First Case - starts with him surfacing from the result of a knife attack. The last story - The Pyramid ends with the sentence 'It was still dark' as Wallander drives towards an horrible murder case and the start of the narrative of Faceless Killers, the first Wallander novel...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by purpleheart


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wallander, who he is and how., 22 July 2014
By 
P. R. Kline "Peterrabbit" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having watched Wallander on television esp. the last series, if you have not read this collection already then do - it is a must - really putting Wallander into context and, for me at least, made a fitting epitaph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, hope to read more.by this author. It was well written, the characters and the plot thoughtfully constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars five times and a Swedish policeman, 11 July 2010
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
This book contains five novels of the usual protagonist of Henning Mankell, the Swedish Police inspector Kurt Wallander, caught in five moments and ages of his life anterior to the standard novels. The first novel begins by 1969 with a young Wallander as a novel policeman, and finish 20- 25 years later with a mature, experienced, married and a little disappointed police inspector.
Mystery novels of Henning Mankell aren't as usual crime books and I think the author doesn't pretend a perfection in the details and finish as these of Agatha Christie or Sherlock Holmes, or more violent as Peter Cheyney. Instead, Mankell technique resides in some recurrent points.
1 Showing common Swedish society, as I think he's aware Sweden is seen from abroad as a perfect country. Mankell shows the failures and successes of Swedish people, very similar to another countries.
2 A taste for the past and nostalgia, Mankell loves old ships, very abundant in so maritime country and doesn't like the modern bridge between Denmark and Sweden, etc.
3 Personal lives and marriages are presented as very difficult if not a full failure, but professional work is usually well done.
4 The finish of the cases of inspector Wallander have usually a loose end although that's not important, as the real criminal is arrested. That's a derivation of the complications of human life and behavior that the author perceives as a big mystery.
5 Constant worry for injustice and World and racial problems. International relations, crimes with far roots in another countries, travels, or remembering of working abroad, usually in cargo ships is usual.
And so, if you like all these, you should like adventures of inspector Wallander. If not and you are in search of many shootings, or perfect finishing in detail, this novels probably aren't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not totally lost in translation, 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
When I started reading this the slightly dodgy English translation annoyed me a bit, but as I got lost in the stories I completely overlooked it. (It's not that it's a bad translation, just that it doesn't read entirely true to how we would speak.) Anyhow I thoroughly enjoyed the book, which starts with Wallander aged 21 and determined to become a detective, and have since bought more of the series as well as other books by Henning Mankell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work, 14 Jan 2010
By 
James Curran (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
I have read most of Mankell's work at this stage and to me he has ground to a halt. There is very little original in this 'collection' and the main story "The Pyramid' just seems to have been churned out from a crime-by-numbers tool. I am a little unsure at certain points if some of the fault for that lies with the translation as it appears to be a very literal word-for-word translation rather than giving us the sense of the piece. Regardless of this, the ending is hugely rushed and falls very flat. I guess it was a good time to end - before the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book., 28 Dec 2013
By 
J. Asher "VidWiz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book to be predictable and painfully slow. I can only assume that the author wrote some of these reviews because they do not reflect the drivel that I have now stopped after pushing myself to get through the first half. He has had some really positive reviews however I found myself double checking the spelling of his name to make sure I wasn't reading a book by a similarly named author... I wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A prequel that doesn't work - but it got me into the novels, 20 Mar 2013
I had only seen Wallander on TV (the Swedish versions not the comic Brannagh turns on BBC).

I wanted to get into the novels but this offering that seemed to cover Wallanders back story seemed a good place to start. Unfortunately the stories are generally weak. This may simply be an exercise in the author cashing in on his success by repackaging some tired old material.

Don't expect great things from these stories but I must confess I was sufficiently interested to read most of his full length novels so it can't have been that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the sort stories out of the bottom drawer, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not Wallander at his best. It may be that short stories lack the driving excitement of novels such as the Fifth Woman, rather a disappointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KURT WALLANDER, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
Prompt delivery. Bit disappointed with this book. The stories are very short and lightweight for Mankel,l but It does give you a taster for a full Mankell novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disagree - Start here, before entering the novels..., 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander (Paperback)
A relatively different (for me) diversion from my current obsession with Skandi-crime/fiction. In so much as this is 5 short stories - of varying lengths, complexity and enjoyability.
Generally speaking the shorter the tale - the less satisfying.
But nevertheless a neat little diversion with this book running you right onto the front page of the first Wallander novel for real.
Adds to the understanding of the Swedish psychie? - not really.
Fills in missing gaps with regards to father, ex-wife and daughter relationships? A little.
To me it actually sets out quite well how an interest in a job/career can quickly turn into an all emcompassing activity - without the need for obsession. And I think you leave these short stories with more sympathy for Kurt than you get initially from any of the books.
Anyway I give it 3 stars as some are weak and others stronger (between 2 and 4 they range) so what else could I do but rate in at 3 stars.
Worth getting. Worth reading.
Ideal poolside fodder for a weekend or week-away break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander
The Pyramid: Kurt Wallander by Henning Mankell (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews