Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars All good stuff
Another cracking good story from Mr Winslow. Good characters and always a little sad when you have reached the end. So interesting to learn a little of the surfing world though this exciting read.
Published 6 days ago by Philip

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dawn Patrol
When I read The Power of the Dog, I knew I had found an author that delivered imagery in an exceptionally powerful way with the use of simple language. Better than James Ellroy. I've since read all of his books (California Fire and Life being the best) and eagerly awaited this release.
Sadly, The Dawn Patrol simply didn't work for me. The technical descriptions of...
Published on 3 Aug. 2008 by misterguthrie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dawn Patrol, 3 Aug. 2008
By 
misterguthrie (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Paperback)
When I read The Power of the Dog, I knew I had found an author that delivered imagery in an exceptionally powerful way with the use of simple language. Better than James Ellroy. I've since read all of his books (California Fire and Life being the best) and eagerly awaited this release.
Sadly, The Dawn Patrol simply didn't work for me. The technical descriptions of surfing just don't take me out on the water, and it feels somewhat contrived to be weaved into the central plot of gangsters and trafficking. Yes, the on shore action is slick and stylish, though even this lacks the depth and complexity of previous stories.
All up, a good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy, shallow, derivative., 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Paperback)
I misguidedly got this out of the library on the basis that apparently, Winslow's 'The Power Of The Dog' is some kind of masterpiece. I was hoping to find it, but they didn't have a copy on the shelves, so I plumped for another of his offerings, hoping that it might be almost as good. All I can say is that Winslow must have knocked this one out while sitting on the toilet, because it is really, really poor.

The characters are all very contrived and flimsy. Our protagonist is a surf-obsessed PI, a former policeman haunted by his past. He is called on by a cringingly unrealistic female British lawyer to investigate the suspicious disappearance of a witness in an arson attack. We meet various clichéd villains, victims, bosom-buddies, ex-love interests, new love interests, without feeling any real connection to them. The story unfolds its twists and secrets at a pedestrian pace, and offers no real surprises along the way. The narrative is interspersed with a history of San Diego and its relationship to surfing, which is all fairly irrelevant, but at least creates a sense of place.

In the end I felt embarrassed for having bothered to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but........, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Kindle Edition)
An okay read. The problem with this book is the high standard that Don Winslow has set himself. This book is a perfectly acceptable read but does not match the standards of " The Power of the Dog" or " The Winter of Frankie Machine"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hard to believe the writer of Power of the Dog has written such a 2nd rate novel, 22 July 2009
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Paperback)
I can't see any point in this book at all, a series of cliches written in Beavis and Butthead surfer language. Is this really the same writer who wrote the mesmerisingly good Power of the Dog? Power of the Dog is so good that I will continue to try more Don Winslow books, but unless you are really into dumbed down surfer fiction this is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 16 Aug. 2008
By 
Bill Bell (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Paperback)
This book was part Elmore Leonard, part Ross Thomas. But with too much distance to the characters. They really don't matter because you can't get close to them due to the smartness of the structure(a lot of tiny chapeters). And the author seems more interested in given us a lot of history lessons about the development of California then create suspence and action. The book never takes the story serious, but whitout beeing funny. Well, I give another of his books a try, but I'm not that hopeful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All good stuff, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Kindle Edition)
Another cracking good story from Mr Winslow. Good characters and always a little sad when you have reached the end. So interesting to learn a little of the surfing world though this exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Kindle Edition)
This is a sequel to The Gentlemens' Hour and despite reading these books in the wrong order they were both great. Not quite as viscerally gripping as Savages, I can thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good read if you are familiar with Boon, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Kindle Edition)
Don Winslow and crime with a coastal backdrop. As usual Don Winslow takes you along with him via Boon and the beach crew in his usual easy to digest and thoroughly entertaining style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Kindle Edition)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Winslow, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawn Patrol (Paperback)
I've been reading Don for years now. I came to this after reading the sequel 'Gentleman's Hour' which didn't spoil the enjoyment of this book.

Only hope is that there's a third book to wrap up the loose ends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dawn Patrol
The Dawn Patrol by Don Winslow (Paperback - 2 July 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews