Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully flawed, not broken at all, but if you don't know Slaughter yet don't start here
I love crime and spend a long time looking for new authors and yet managed to overlook Karin, now fondly referred to as Slasher in our home. Reading the blurb always left me feeling that there was something about her characters, even the 'good guys' that seemed a bit seedy, very American and even mean. Then I came accross a copy of one of the Grant County series on a...
Published on 25 July 2010 by C. Edwards

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start, slow finish.
The body of a young woman is found close to the shore of a lake. At first it looks like suicide, there is even a note left, with 'I Want It Over' written on it. However, on examining the body, it appears that the women has been murdered. A young, local man is brought in for questioning, but is later found dead in his cell.

This book got off to a great start,...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still at the top of her game, 19 July 2010
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Broken (Hardcover)
Those of us who've followed Karin Slaughter from the beginning (Blindsighted) have grown to know and love the characters in her Grant County series like friends. Having gone off on a tangent to introduce GBI investigator Will Trent, Slaughter finally brings everyone together.

Sara Linton is back in Grant County for some leave, but inevitably gets drawn into a case. Readers familiar with the series will understand the residual anger she has at Lena Adams, the detective involved when a suspect from whom she has elicited a confession commits suicide in custody. A couple of phone calls later and Will Trent is on his way from Atlanta to investigate. And thus begins a new chapter in the lives of all three.

Karin Slaughter is undoubtedly one of the best crime writers around, having refused to start rolling out cheap, quick page turners which are instantly forgettable (James Patterson, take note). Her writing is crisp and of a high standard. Perhaps more importantly, she cares about her characters as if they were real people, and they are so well developed that the reader can be forgiven for feeling the same. A new Karin Slaughter book is a valid excuse to put aside any chores and cancel all engagements.

Although Broken only hints at some of the answers that readers have wanted ever since the stunning climax to Skin Privilege, finally we are rewarded for our patience and allowed to see much more of the flawed, but brilliant Lena, and left with the feeling that some of the loose ends are eventually going to be tied. We can only hope that the answer to our ultimate question is given in the next book. Meanwhile, if you've read the previous books, you won't need any further convincing to read this one too, but otherwise, it's not the right place to begin. Go back to the beginning, read Blindsighted and then devour the rest. You will soon understand why.

Slaughter is remarkably consistent and always leaves the reader wanting more. Absolutely superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, Read-It-At-A-Sitting Southern Suspense, 14 July 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken (Hardcover)
"Broken," a new suspense novel by international, and New York Times best selling author Karin Slaughter, finds her back in her comfort zone again, Grant County, Georgia, U.S.A., more particularly, the small city of Heartsdale, where we meet again Dr. Sara Linton, native of that city, pediatrician, former Grant County Medical Examiner, and widow of the well-liked former police chief of Heartsdale, Jason Tolliver. And Officer Lena Adams, a good cop, if not a straightforward one, who also misses the former police chief more than she could say.

These two women are none too fond of each other, each with good reason, and a case that begins with the finding of the body of a sweet and pretty young student at the local technical college, also a popular waitress at the local diner, and therefore known to most of the town's residents, and its cops, pits them again against each other. Allison Spooner's body has been found at the bottom of immense, man-made Lake Grant; she was first thought a suicide until a fatal knife wound is found at the back of her neck, and it's anatomically impossible she could have done that to herself. Everything is as clear as the mud that covers the town in the incessant, unusual, cold November rain, and Sara brings Georgia Special Agent Will Trent into the case. He soon realizes that he must find his way between the two antagonistic women.

Slaughter, previously author of Undone, is apparently a southern girl herself, and she renders Georgia, Heartsdale, its people, its cuisine, and its sweet tea, very well and flavorfully, as she gives us an unusually harsh winter for its residents. She gives us a solid, detailed police procedural here, with a satisfyingly intricate plot, and some well-realized characters, to boot. In fact, I quite liked this book, read it at a sitting, and I'd previously read the author's debut novel BLINDSIDED with my local mystery book club, and had a few problems with that novel, as did most of the book club's members. But if we ever revisit an author, which we seldom do, I'd be sure to recommend "Broken." I recommend it to you, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken: (Will Trent / Atlanta series 4) (Paperback)
Now have full set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very fast moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken: (Will Trent / Atlanta series 4) (Paperback)
Great - thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karin Slaughter - Wonderful the way the different series link together., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken: (Will Trent / Atlanta series 4)
Broken: (Will Trent / Atlanta series 4) by Karin Slaughter (Paperback - 23 Jun 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews