Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars87
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2015
Murakami never disappoints. This is eerily composed existentialist novella. I read it in a few days. Lots of plot threads left hanging at the end, which made it even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Super fast delivery. Loved this book, couldn't put it down. What an amazing author Haruki Murakami is!! Also read Norwegian Wood. Another amazing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
An interesting and enjoyable read. Not as taxing as some of his other works. Something to transport your mind to another place for a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
As an avid reader of the Japanese maestro's works I am bound to be positive about this, his latest paperback. Having said that, it was not as good as I had anticipated; although his books are not meant to be about action, After Dark is particularly slow and devoid of anything really happening. The focus is a Japanese girl who is locked into a deep sleep while around her surreal events occur. So far, so Murakami, but I was frustrated that this wasn't ever developed and also lacked any real intrigue or interest. While she sleeps, her sister sits in café in the dead of night and sips coffee; she interacts with a young man and becomes involved with an assaulted prostitute. The prostitute's assailant gets on with his life, and the sister, eschewing any emotional involvement, soon returns to hers.

I liked the concept of studying the minutiae of life at a time when most people are asleep, and I liked the scenes with the sister. There are some great little references to things such as a Pet Shop Boys' song playing in bar and a television set coming to life of its own accord. These little vignettes are what Murakami is all about, however I felt that the novel was too short to really hit its stride, unlike say `Norwegian Wood' or `Dance Dance Dance'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
Haruki Murakami's After Dark takes place over the course of seven hours during an autumn night in Tokyo. From midnight to dawn we follow five lost souls: Eri Asai, a woman in a quasi-comatose state; Takahashi, a jazz musician at an all-night practice session; a prostitute assaulted at a "love hotel"; Shirakawa, a salary man working late on a software project; and Mari Asai a 19-year-old girl looking to escape from the tension of her strained home life. Before the sun rises, each of these stories will intersect with the others.
In this novel Murakami depicts the isolation and loneliness of modern Japanese life. "After Dark" also focuses on the theme of Japanese youth struggling to reconcile their ideals with the stifling conformity of the surrounding culture. There is a peculiar, surrealistic tone in Murakami's fiction. We remember "Kafka on the Shore" with the fish falling from the sky, a man who could converse with cats, and various other strange events. "After Dark" evokes a similar dream world ambiance. People disappear into television sets, or find that their image remains in the bathroom mirror even after they have left the room. A little disturbing at times...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
This is the third book I have read by this author, I did not appreciate it-too much sadness and unfulfilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
I am very happy with my purchase! It arrived fast and the book was in super good condition! Thanks a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2008
Murakami's latest contribution to the area of fiction and translated by Harvard's Jay Rubin (who translates much of Murakami's work). This book takes place over one night in Japan and involves four main characters: Mari and Eri, two sisters the one of which is in a deep, powerful and perplexing sleep. This book interrogates what constitutes being confident and strong in yourself in a subtle manner, as well as taking a quirky poke at coincidence.

The book is a really quick read and takes place over a very short period of time. It is not as good as some of Murakami's other novels (it's a 3 star Murakami), but is still a cut-above your run of the mill novel (hence 4 stars overall). For me it was a decent addition to the list of Murakami novels, but not really as good a follow up to Kafka on the Shore as one would hope.

Therefore, don't let this be your first Murakami, read Kafka on the Shore, or Norwegian Wood, or Dance, Dance, Dance first.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
The best introduction to Murakami. A beguilingly strange but very accessible story of urban alienation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
I've read almost all of Murakami's books and I think this is one of his best. Also a great book to start with if you haven't read any of his books. Highly recommended!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.