Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
This is Allingham at her best. The characters that she has developed through her books are relaxed and well drawn, and it is good to see Campion and Amanda back in the place they first met. The story is intriguing and the secondary characters are beautifully quirky.

Allingham never contented herself with straight and dull crime books like some of her...
Published on 11 May 2007 by G Talboys

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy it, quite dull.
This was the first Margery Allingham book that I've read as I wanted to sample some of the other golden age detective writers. Overall I didn't enjoy it for various reasons. I often found the dialogue difficult to follow with the way some of the characters talked, there were a large number of characters in the story, such that the author produced a list of characters at...
Published on 12 Oct. 2011 by Scorpion


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 11 May 2007
By 
G Talboys - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery) (Paperback)
This is Allingham at her best. The characters that she has developed through her books are relaxed and well drawn, and it is good to see Campion and Amanda back in the place they first met. The story is intriguing and the secondary characters are beautifully quirky.

Allingham never contented herself with straight and dull crime books like some of her contemporaries whose style never developed. Instead she approached the crime story from many directions during her career. Some were whodunnits, some were psychological thrillers, others were acute observations of both rural and urban life. What is more she is a highly literate writer whose novels transcend the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beckoning Lady, 28 April 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Albert Campion is spending time in Suffolk with his wife Amanda and small son Rupert along with Scotland Yard Detective Charlie Luke who is convalescing from an injury acquired in the course of duty. Near neighbours - Minnie and Tonker - are holding a huge and sprawling party to which everyone is invited. But the day before the party a body is discovered and it seems many people may have had a reason to wish the victim out of the way.

This is a fascinating and amusing story of life in the nineteen-fifties set in idyllic countryside with a nice range of eccentric and mysterious characters. I found it an entertaining and enjoyable read which kept me guessing right up until almost the last page. The plot is complex and the background interesting. It was good to see more of Lady Amanda as well and to see how the relationship between her and Campion is developing.

If you enjoy crime novels set in in a gentler age which involve the reader in solving complex puzzles then try Margery Allingham. The Campion novels can be read in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abandon expectations!, 23 July 2012
This review is from: The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery) (Paperback)
This is not really crime, mystery, or adventure - as Allingham's Campion series have been diversely labelled. Rather it is a straight novel, featuring the familiar characters, about whom some rather strange deaths have occurred. There is a heavy autobiographical element to the main characters - the Cassands family - against a backdrop of financial pressures, depression, and artistic middle-class angst. Even though there is lots of Allingham's characteristic humour here, and some clever, but brutal, satire on large corporations and their methods, I find the book quite dark - typical of the uncertainty and pessimism of late-1950s Britain when the loss of former glory had been hammered home by the Suez fiasco - and the Beatles were still at school! Still, there is a puzzle, if a rather complicated one, and I've read the book at least three times - so it can't be all that bad! For the record, people like those portrayed existed in spades in the 1950's - a sort of failed relic of the 1920s/30s and bitterly resentful of the perceived heavy-hand of the State.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Allingham's "Light" best, 27 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
Margery Allingham's books featuring Albert Campion range from early adventure novels to serious social issues. This one is witty and light with family and friends prominently on display. The late "Uncle William" is from Police at the Funeral, the town of Pontisbright has been one of her major settings, and the characters of Tonker and Minnie Cassands are so well described that I think of them as friends of mine. All in all a delightful book with a Midsummer Night's Eve feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy it, quite dull., 12 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery) (Paperback)
This was the first Margery Allingham book that I've read as I wanted to sample some of the other golden age detective writers. Overall I didn't enjoy it for various reasons. I often found the dialogue difficult to follow with the way some of the characters talked, there were a large number of characters in the story, such that the author produced a list of characters at the beginning of the book. The crimes weren't particularly interesting, or their solution. A lot of the story was taken up with irrelevant conversations about local events which just got boring, I wondered whether I was missing concealed clues but this wasn't the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Beckoning Lady, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery) (Paperback)
I did not like this story as much as the earlier Campion stories. I found the story muddled and the characters either tedious or unsympathetic. Campion seemed to do very little to solve the murder and Charlie Luke's pre-occupation with his love life was unrealistic for a professionally minded senior police officer. Certainly not one her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New (to me) Allingham., 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it, and tried to make it spin out to make it last longer. Read all the rest, unfortunately. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
SMASK "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the older Campion mysteries, great story and well written, the time it was written for has to be born in mind. I am a fan of Allingham's writing and recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected ending, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read! The suspense was nicely held until right at the end, and I had no idea who had done the murders or why.
Classic Campion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit much, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. It's one of Allingham's more comfortable reads. There is a lot going on in the story as part of party preparation, and I find some of the conversations confusing. Good descriptions, but some very unlikely characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery)
The Beckoning Lady (Campion Mystery) by Margery Allingham (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2007)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews