Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars131
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 August 2005
Whether you believe the premise of the book or not(and I don't),it's a fantastic read. I hope this new edition sells well after being mentioned in Dan Brown's bestselling Da Vinci Code.
More facts have come out about the truth(or lack of it) about the secret society supposedly protecting an earth shattering secret,but I still recommend buying the book because it's very well written unlike many of this genre. It contains references the reader can check.
The book will introduce many accepted facts about the knights templars,early history of christianity,merovingians and carolingians and the cathars which you can learn while taking with a pinch of salt the controversial stuff.Thats what I did and it stimulated my interest in these subjects,something that wouldn't have happened if I just had dry boring history books. By making it almost an exciting detective story it stimulates the readers interest and keeps you turning the page.
Brilliant.
22 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book has recently gained a huge amount of publicity with the court case between the authors and the author of the Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown. I purchased the book on the back of that wave of publicity and having now read both books cannot really see what the court case was all about. The books could not be more different, not withstanding that the Da Vinci Code has no basis in fact and is a figment of the authors imagination. Most of the books written today contain regurgitated information from other books, either factual or fiction.

This book has a basis in fact, although much of it may be the vivid imagination of the authors. To be honest I don't know the answer. The book is both controversial, shocking and deeply moving. It is interesting and thought provoking. Whether you believe the conclusions that the authors come to, is a different matter and one for the individual. Perhaps the authors findings are as plausible an account of the life and times of Jesus as the one generally recognised by the church as true. It is a matter of the individuals faith. It is very difficult, if not impossible to prove anything either way.

I enjoyed reading the book, that is not to say that I agreed with its findings.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2006
To an extent. Some of what is contained in this book is documented historical fact, and as a professional historian, I'm always delighted when material is presented in a fashion that interests a wider audience. I view this sort of thing as the written equivalent of a cinematic 'historical' epic. Is is particularly accurate? No. But it doesn't pretend to be either -the authors do stress that many of their conclusions are conjecture, no more. What it is, is entertaining, and will introduce people who might never otherwise have taken an interest in history to, to take a single example, the Crusades. And that's fine by me -it might well prompt them to take a greater interest in history in the future.

There are inumerable problems of course. For each of the documented facts, there are at least a dozen erroneous ones. Much of the source material utilised is questionable at the very best. And yet I still find myself unable to condem them, as I would with many other books, for, as I mentioned above, they stress the fact that their conjectures lack proof. The book itself is actually well written for what it is; unusual for a book with several authors, it is sensibly set out, the style[s] is / are fluid and readable, and it's good fun.

Some suggest this book is blasphemous. Fair enough, that's their opinion, though I don't share or even understand it. As far as I know, there is nothing in the Bible, or accepted Christian doctine, that states that Jesus could, or perhaps I should say, 'should' not, have been married. I don't believe it (part of me would like to), but I fail to see what is so very wrong about the idea. He was supposed to be a Man as well as the Son of God -that was the whole point insofar as I am aware. Still, if you are going to be upset by it, don't bother to read. Save yourself the money, the time, and the raised blood pressure. The rest of you -give it a try. Something to look at on holiday, provided that you go in with a mind open enough to accept a new idea, and sceptical enough to appreciate the limitations.
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book has recently gained a huge amount of publicity with the court case between the authors and the author of the Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown. I purchased the book on the back of that wave of publicity and having now read both books cannot really see what the court case was all about. The books could not be more different, not withstanding that the Da Vinci Code has no basis in fact and is a figment of the authors imagination. Most of the books written today contain regurgitated information from other books, either factual or fiction.

This book has a basis in fact, although much of it may be the vivid imagination of the authors. To be honest I don't know the answer. The book is both controversial, shocking and deeply moving. It is interesting and thought provoking. Whether you believe the conclusions that the authors come to, is a different matter and one for the individual. Perhaps the authors findings are as plausible an account of the life and times of Jesus as the one generally recognised by the church as true. It is a matter of the individuals faith. It is very difficult, if not impossible to prove anything either way.

I enjoyed reading the book, that is not to say that I agreed with its findings.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2006
This is nothing other than a massive tour de force of a foray into history. Wow.

Rennes-le-Chateau is a tiny village with a big past. This book traces the journey of discovery made by three writers starting from a coded message to a world-shaking discovery.

In fact the discoveries had already been hypothesised, but the discovery of these possibilities were enormous. The writers delved into history, re-analysed the Bible, tried to interpret motivations and studied the history of the area.

In doing so they discovered a priest who became both enormously wealthy in an unexplained way, and obsessed with alchemy and other heretical arts. They considered the Templars and the crusades, the possibility of the concealment of the treasure of the Temple of Jerusalem being hidden in the area.

They found the real possibility of Jesus living beyond the crucifixion and his line surviving, and a secret society linked ot it all.

It had all the hallmarks of a blockbuster thriller, and is an utterly engrossing pageturner. It is written interestingly and brings events to life. Without lingering pointlessly, it makes its point about why they've examined or accepted something.

Liberties and interpretations have been taken, but they needed to be for progress to be made. This was a platform for further speculation and research. You may not accept all of it, but it makes you reconsider what was accepted and consider the possibilities. I returned to re-read it and often recall its subject. It lead to me reading further books on the subject and visiting the area. An awe-inspiring subject.

RLC is a wonderful place, this book is the definitive story of it's probable history. Read, enjoy, and decide how much you're prepared to accept.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
A totally engrossing and thoroughly researched historical mystery. If you are in any way interested in the origins of Christianity, or the activities of secret societies through the ages, or preferably a combination of both - then this is a MUST read.
Of course, a healthy pinch of scepticism should be maintained along the way - the authors do make a number of leaps from 'possible' to 'definite' within the space of a paragraph. And the hypothesis relies on about 50 'maybes' to be true along the way for the argument to have validity. In general, the sections which deal with established periods of history (the Cathar heresy for example) hold together better as arguments. The final section of the book which deals with the period immediately after the supposed death of Jesus, i.e. a period of almost totally undocumented history, appears the most speculative.
Nevertheless, it is an exquisitely argued book which spawned a whole wave of imitators, and if even SOME of their hypothesis is proven to be correct it would be fascinating. Interested readers might also like Foucault's Pendulum by Umberto Eco - a novel based on some of the material from this book.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 July 2010
I bought this book from a charity shop a few months ago because I have been reading books by Dan Brown and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Well, first impressions I could say is that the book itself, irrespective of whether the book is correct in its assertions or not, is quite readable and flows quite well. But, it does seem to be that they take a little 'evidence' and make huge statements from it!! By this I mean that they both come up with conclusions that they probably want to make, regardless of the lack of hard fact and evidence. Anyone can claim a thing after all, and if they believe hard enough then to them it might just be true. You can say that Elvis Presley and Adolf Hitler live on the moon and live quite happily as a married couple, and say it long and loud enough, and sooner or later some people might begin to believe it!! It doesn't make it true though.

That is my main criticism of the book really, that 'evidence', as sparse and obscure as it is, is stretched out to make any theory fit. And of course anyone at all could do the same, and make what seems wholly improbable seem plausible fact. Being a Christian as well, I don't believe Jesus was married or had children, and I don't believe obviously in a holy bloodline. There is no biblical evidence for it at all, or precedent either.

SO, you pays your money and you takes your choice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
Anybody who does not believe everything written in the bible will find this book interesting., and even those who believe in the gospel truth of the bible and have an open mind about it will still enjoy the probing nature of the book. The author said it himself that he does not believe or disbelieve what he wrote because they are more of the opinions of others. He used the particular phrase of "it is said that " in presenting his case.

It should be noted that the book is written to present the cases of those who held the belief that Jesus didn't die in the cross and began a bloodline hat survived him and still survives until today, and those who do not hold that belief. And since the Christian world does not hold that belief, the book had to focus on presenting the case of those who support that belief even if it is far-fetched. I am a Christian and I do not believe the skeptics, still I find this book interesting. It lets one get an idea of how things were during the early days of the church, an unsettling situation which could not be devoid of the emergence of myths. What is myth or reality about the life of Jesus is a question of faith. Still this book is a recommended read. UNION MOUJIK , THE DA VINCI CODE, THE MESSAINIC LEGACY ,DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE,are very easy bookS to read with very captivating stories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book has recently gained a huge amount of publicity with the court case between the authors and the author of the Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown. I purchased the book on the back of that wave of publicity and having now read both books cannot really see what the court case was all about. The books could not be more different, not withstanding that the Da Vinci Code has no basis in fact and is a figment of the authors imagination. Most of the books written today contain regurgitated information from other books, either factual or fiction.

This book has a basis in fact, although much of it may be the vivid imagination of the authors. To be honest I don't know the answer. The book is both controversial, shocking and deeply moving. It is interesting and thought provoking. Whether you believe the conclusions that the authors come to, is a different matter and one for the individual. Perhaps the authors findings are as plausible an account of the life and times of Jesus as the one generally recognised by the church as true. It is a matter of the individuals faith. It is very difficult, if not impossible to prove anything either way.

I enjoyed reading the book, that is not to say that I agreed with its findings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2005
I read this book ten years ago and loved it. I read the Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown in half a day over the Christmas Holidays, only because so many people recommended it, all of which had never read the Holy blood. If they had have done they would have found the Da Vinci Code tedious and derivative. It was an okay yarn, but nothing special. To anyone who has read the Da Vinci Code and has been intrigued, read this book. To the reviewer who could not believe it was a best seller - everyone I knew read this at least 10 years ago and made their friends read it too - so it really was!
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)