Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existence in a nutshell!
The history of the universe, man's interpretation of it, his place within it down the ages, an overview of the interaction of the disciplines of philosophy, religion and science from Aristotle to the present day, an easily understood explanation of the physics, chemistry and biology that underpin our universe as we perceive it and all presented in an inquiring and...
Published on 2 April 2009 by Mr. Peter G. Malone

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subject matter - 5 stars. Christopher Potter's writing style - minus 3 stars
I found Potter's writing style almost impossible to bear. He starts off as an exceedingly long winded bore, flips to a staccato delivery of facts and finishes with a flourish of pomposity.

He seems desperately keen to demonstrate how well read he is through an endless list of quotes from poets and philospohers - many of which add nothing to the story being...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existence in a nutshell!, 2 April 2009
By 
The history of the universe, man's interpretation of it, his place within it down the ages, an overview of the interaction of the disciplines of philosophy, religion and science from Aristotle to the present day, an easily understood explanation of the physics, chemistry and biology that underpin our universe as we perceive it and all presented in an inquiring and undogmatic way.

Whew! What else does an interested layman need on the subject? This is one of the few "must keep" books one will ever read - that is if the reader values understanding the "meaning of life" in so far as he is capable of understanding it at all! That limitation is made abundantly clear.

Mr. Potter's writing flows, is unaffected (unusual for the genre) and reeks of authority acquired over a lifetime of dispassionate and intelligent observation. Also, surprisingly for a book that out-Hawkings Hawking, a stonking good read from start to finish. Wow factor 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a wonderful debut, 13 May 2009
A great book that walks you through from the largest distances to very very small things (or non-things), from the beginning of cosmic history to its end(s).

While the book frequently looks at the search for a unifying theory, this book wittingly unifies many disparate areas of knowledge. Potter opens the book with the idea of him as a child trying to write out his full address, the solar system, the milky way, the universe. It does feel like a parent giving shape to our universe. And it will be a good cheat sheet (though, as said in another review, not a good text book) for the questions I will in turn be asked as a parent. It will give me confidence in answering at some point, "we don't know."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere over the Rainbow, 22 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An unique book which lifts you up and beyond the educated layman's horizons of knowledge onto a magical journey between hard wired scientific theories about the earth and our biology. A treatise where the certainty of scientific experimentation is always measured against the fact that science not only creates new perspectives of objectivity but at the same time can and does destroy our selves and our environment. And, often deceives us in the name of Progress. The book is an astonishing synthesis of human intellectual development and the fact that with nothing more than their five senses to play with many of the early Greek philosophers intuitively knew as much as we do today. Don't be intimidated by the breadth of Christopher Potter's knowledge: even if you don't get everything you will end up knowing more than you thought and it is written in inviting, often mischievous prose, and punctuated by illuminating literary references that you may want to hang onto forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Erudite and accomplished, 2 Jan 2010
By 
R. Darlington "Roger Darlington" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Essentially this fascinating and lucid work covers the same sort of ground as Bill Bryson's excellent 2003 book "A Short History Of Nearly Everything" and it could be thought of as a rather shorter (less than 300 pages), bit more up-to-date (2009), and rather more philosophical history of nearly everything. The title, the cover and even the author's name seem to position this as a work of popular science - which it is - but at times it is a challenging read, especially the sections on quantum mechanics which admittedly is an impossible topic to discuss with any normal language which is how one can have a sentence like: "this is to stray into worlds of such great abstraction, even of imaginary time, that we might begin to risk madness".

The main building blocks for this hugely ambitious work, which covers everything from the furthest reaches of the universe to the smallest units of quantum physics, is a number of space and/or time series: 27 steps from the scale of 1-10 metres to that of over 10 billion light years to encompass a universe with between 30 and 50 billion trillion stars; 11 steps from the scale of 100-10 centimetres down to 10 to the power of minus 10 metres which takes us into the quantum world of quarks and electrons; seven steps from 10 to the power of minus 43 seconds after the Big Bang to 380,000 years after the mother of all explosions; 19 steps in the path of evolution from four billion years ago with single-celled life around hydrothermal vents to the present world of 6.5 billion humans and 1.8 million known species.

Surprisingly Potter is not a scientist as such - his first degree was in mathematics and his second in the history and philosophy of science - and this is his first book, but he writes with clarity and enthusiasm, exhibiting eclectic knowledge and explaining exactly what we do and do not know ("We can throw no light on dark matter"). How to summarise such a masterly exposition? As Potter puts it: "The universe seems to be a machine for processing information made out of some 10 to the power of 80 visible particles".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read., 3 July 2014
This review is from: You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe (Paperback)
This is a truly fantastic book, one that I will keep forever and read again and again for the rest of my life. It is a brilliantly concise description of scientific history which covers a multitude of 'big picture' topics. The fact that it is written by a non-scientist for non-scientists is even more remarkable. It is a testimony to one man's mission to address many of the biggest questions we face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing!, 23 April 2012
By 
I bought this book on a whim - I thought it looked intriguing. It turned out to be as thought-provoking as it was intelligent, witty and, literally, mind-blowing. More than once I had to put the book down just to digest what I had read, sometimes after just one sentence. I wasn't always successful but thoroughly enjoyed the journey. This book deserves several re-readings as it's just plain good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A REVEALING TRIP VIA TIME & SPACE- FROM EARTH THRU THE UNIVERSE,, 16 Nov 2011
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe (Paperback)
Four and a half ADVENTUROUS Stars!! Author Christopher Potter takes us on a short journey across 14 Billion years of time & space using hard science & speculation, unassailable facts & philosophy, while attempting to generally collate a huge amount of up-to-date data into palatable information for the layman. For the most part, he is very successful. This is an intensive and extensive look at our universe and our place in it: "You Are Here". Oddly enough, this book seems to stand on more solid ground than highly technical books because the author is not a scientist and he's explaining things in understandable language from a standpoint of known scientific findings as a 'summary presentation', often viewed through the prisms of philosophy and reason. This voyage takes us from the edge of the universe, which "is not contained in anything" to manmade and natural physical realities (the awesome chapter called "26 degrees of Separation"), to the birth of life and man on earth ("In and Out of Africa"), and beyond. The solar system, the galaxy, billions of galaxies, galactic clusters, super clusters, the Sloan Great Wall, quasars, black holes and more are taken on in plain, but awe-inspiring language. And there are many fascinating earthly & solar system diversions along the way. The book is laden with meaningful quotes, scientific references, previously unknown facts, and amazement at the reality of life and scientific achievements. Instead of being like a dry college lecture in an auditorium, it's more like a wide-ranging after-dinner discussion with a very well-educated friend. Does he gloss over some things? Yes, sometimes dwelling in trivial detail and repetition, but we also become aware of new things such as the existence of the black hole Sagittarius A and the incredible Sloan Great Wall. So "You Are Here"...on planet Earth...of our 8 (yes, eight) planet solar system...of the bending, spiraling Orion Arm...of the Milky Way galaxy...of The Local Group...of the Virgo Supercluster...etc., etc... Indeed! A very enjoyable read about our life on this earth and in the universe, and the life of the universe about us and it is Highly Recommended! Four and a half VOYAGING Stars!!
(This review is based on a Kindle download.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to science, 18 July 2011
By 
S. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe (Paperback)
This a very interesting little `pop science' book from an author who, having studied science at university, had left that world behind to pursue other interests and now decided to return to write about his former passion.

The opening chapter was a bit mixed, with no great structure to it, but interesting all the same. However, he does acquire a significant amount of structure later on the book. He does a whistle-stop tour of the major philosophical developments of science over the last 2,500 years or so, along with a brave and noble attempt to summarise quantum mechanics and general relativity for the lay reader; a task which he does with some aplomb and not a little dexterity.

From here, there was a slightly peculiar list of seemingly random things which were listed in order of size. Potter's aim was to look at bigger and bigger scales, effectively zooming out from our world to look at the wider universe. From here, Potter takes on a parallel journey, though instead of going from the smallest size to the largest size, he wants to take us from the earliest time right through to the present day, taking in an overview of the developments in cosmology and high energy physics.

Overall, the book is very much at the lightweight end of science writing, but nonetheless thoroughly enjoyable. It is spoilt a little by technical errors, though these are relatively minor (for example, he states that "Humans are often carnivorous" when he should have said omnivorous). The other drawback that is has, which is specific for his advocacy of the scientific method, is that he does not include references. All we have is a bibliography of further reading, where there is no linking between the books referenced and the relevant passages. The reader is left to work this out by the titles, I think. However, that would not stop me from recommending as a great book, especially a "starter" for someone not overly familiar with `pop science.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 8 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe (Paperback)
A good overview for the lay reader of current scientic understanding of Cosmology, evolutionary biology and other fundamental topics. In the process it gives a good insight into the limitations of science and of human knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars clear and readable, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe (Paperback)
A very accessible account of some difficult ideas. Easy to read and good value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe
You Are Here: A Portable History of the Universe by Christopher Potter (Paperback - 6 May 2010)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews