Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure-footed story-telling, 2 May 2006
By 
Martin Johnson (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reeman is on his best form with this one, linking his personal experiences in patrol boats with some fictionalised historical events in Hamburg and the Baltic. A very good portrayal of the situation in Germany in the immediate aftermath of WWII, and the varied activities of the British members of the occupying forces. A good narrative, good action scenes, and a believable hero. I would put this among the top 4 or 5 of Reeman's novels (in his own name).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin`s review, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book. Very few wartime books cover the direct aftermath of the war in Germany. It did not bore the reader with minute details and showed the more humane side of the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Germany in the immediate aftermath of ther 2nd World War, 20 Dec 2012
By 
eric kelk (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
The story sets out the adventures and loves of a Royal Navy Torpedo boat crew and the desolation in Germany immediately
after the end of the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Hardcover)
The hero spends less time at sea than the norm for Douglas Reeman It is, however, one of his best books and a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. B. Angus "Andy Angus" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Mass Market Paperback)
Another romping good yarn by my favourite author. The only trouble is when I start reading, its hard to put it down :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naval fiction, 21 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent, as all Douglas Reeman books are. Well researched, and more than likely drawing on his own experience in the Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A DIFFERENT ASPECT OF WWII, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
This book deals with the period immediately after the surrender of Germany and also covers the period of the surrender of Japan. The emotional effects of the peace and of working with people who had served in Hitler's Navy, are covered, together with the stress and fatigue of those in command.
There are several dangerous events which have added stress due to the fact that the war is over and yet the risk to life is still to be endured.
This is an excellent book. As are all of Douglas Reeman's. I felt that it was written from direct experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
By 
D.J.Heavey (Lowestoft, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
The normal Reeman story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
First class as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The White Guns (Kindle Edition)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The White Guns
The White Guns by Douglas Reeman (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews