Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that is as good as the original!
This is that rare thing - a sequel that does not disappoint! The Keating sisters have yet again managed to work together to produce a fantastic book - which follows on where the first one left off.

Again, it is a well researched insight into the history of Kenya and how its early years of independence affected three young women and their immediate families...
Published on 27 Feb. 2007 by E. Heckingbottom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good read about life in Kenya in the 1960s
This is a well-written story with three female lead characters, supported by an interesting cast of family, friends and colleagues. Over the years of the story, the characters evolve in credible ways as a function of their life experiences and effects of the different environments in Kenya and Britain. The story is well-written, the natural world is beautifully described,...
Published 19 months ago by Thoughtful reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that is as good as the original!, 27 Feb. 2007
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
This is that rare thing - a sequel that does not disappoint! The Keating sisters have yet again managed to work together to produce a fantastic book - which follows on where the first one left off.

Again, it is a well researched insight into the history of Kenya and how its early years of independence affected three young women and their immediate families. It shows how, in their own ways, they begin to come to terms with the tragic death of someone very close to each one of them. It shows how rifts develop due to misunderstandings and lack of communication; rifts which are later dealt with.

However, the traumas are not yet finished. There is a lot more for the girls to deal with as, yet again, someone is causing problems for the farm and the lodge. As we read on, we find out the root cause of these problems and we begin to understand more of the background to the period.

This is a fantastic book, and I agree with the previous reviewer. Treat yourself, and buy the set, then curl up and enjoy!

I can't wait for them to produce another book, and envy anyone discovering these authors for the first time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for the Keating sisters, 19 Nov. 2006
By 
Jeanette Henshaw (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
I usually find that sequels are agreat disappointment but this book is an exception. How do you follow such a wonderful book as 'Blood Sisters'? Barbara and Stephanie Keating know just how.

Most of the story takes place in Kenya following independence.Hannah, an Afrikaans, is struggling to preserve her farm which suffers a series of attacks. Sarah, after suffering the tragic loss of her fiance is rebuilding her life as a photographer studying elephant behaviour. Camilla is a super-model with a celebrity lifestyle in London but the love of the country of her childhood keeps drawing her back.

The descriptive text puts many a travelogue to shame. it's a big book - a saga - but I could not put it down.

This is the Keating sisters' third book and each one is wonderfully entertaining. In addition to 'Blood Sisters' they have also written a marvellous book 'To my daughter in France'. Do yourself a favour and read all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good read about life in Kenya in the 1960s, 12 July 2013
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
This is a well-written story with three female lead characters, supported by an interesting cast of family, friends and colleagues. Over the years of the story, the characters evolve in credible ways as a function of their life experiences and effects of the different environments in Kenya and Britain. The story is well-written, the natural world is beautifully described, and the various action episodes are gripping, but the finale is disappointing for its improbability. I felt that the authors just got tired of writing and decided to bring everything to a screeching close, hence the 3-star rating.

Areas of weakness (beyond the denouement) include the overly drawn-out tension in the first third of the book as the leitmotiv is established. This tension drags on until details of the personal tragedy are finally revealed.

While one of the key themes is how individuals deal with misfortune and personal tragedy, toward the last third of the book I was beginning to get bored with the "next big disaster" to befall each of the three protagonists. Needless to say, the denouement defies belief, invoking two more disasters whose timing and consequences stretch credibility to its limit. This improbable conclusion undermines all that goes before.

Having grown up in Britain in the swinging 60s, I found the depiction of attitudes, values, and interactions between men and women, classes, and races to be faithful portrayals of the time. It is interesting to reflect how far we have progressed since that time when young men never questioned their right to tell their wives how to behave in public (Lars and Hannah), when women felt guilty about being successful professionals, and when whites were completely unaware of the perniciousness of what was called the "color bar." Thank God for the equality and non-discrimination of modern times.

At first I was doubtful about a co-authored novel, but the delivery was seamless, with many memorable pieces of evocative writing and consistency of tone throughout the work. I am now ready to read more by B. and S. Keating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 3 April 2008
By 
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
I haven't quite finished this book yet but am deliberately taking it slowly because it is such an enjoyable read! This is the third book that I have read by these two authors and I have thoroughly enjoyed each one. Their stories keep your interest so well.Their style flows so beautifully that reading is effortless even when you think you are too tired to pick up a book. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book lived up to the reviews on the back cover, 8 Jun. 2012
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book- I travelled to Kenya a couple of times at the end of the 70s so I found it quite a nostalgic read. Very atmospheric descriptions and interesting political comments scattered throughout the novel. The characters were engaging and I was completely swept up in their stories (although I had n't read the first book in the trilogy). Am looking forward to reading the final novel in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Langani Trilogy, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All three books in the Langani trilogy are brilliant. They will be of interest to anyone with an interest in Africa's independence struggles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now read the first two books in this series, while some of the content is upsetting and things go a little too wrong for the characters, the books are wonderful, really well written. I love all the characters and love to imagine the Kenya countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!!!!!!, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book, having spent some of my childhood in Kenya I feel I am reliving that time. Bought all three books and am on the third. Would recommend them to anyone especially if you have spent time in Kenya, memories come flooding back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic story!, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait to read the third book!
I've read the first two and you really feel like you're there in Kenya with the main characters. Amazingly well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars can i manage the 3rd?!, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: A Durable Fire (Paperback)
Having been brought up in kenya in the 70s i found the first book very evocative and the descriptions of the light/sounds/smells were spot on for memories of a child/teenager growing up there - and those of us who did know that it is ingrained for ever deep in our psyche... The LOVE theme is very strong and the death of Piet is extremely well described, i very nearly cried - and i dont think i have EVER cried over a book!
After reading the 1st book i just HAD to get the next two to complete the trilogy, and i am glad i did as i need to know how the girls pan out - but have to admit that by the end of this one i am wondering if i will manage the last one.... it is getting a little repetitive and the themes slightly overworked... the believeability is wearing thin.
BUT - i have hope and faith that the best is saved till last and it will climax in a blaze of feelgood drama with a twist, leaving me feeling satisfied and optimistic that the sisters' literary life is not over yet! (their "To my daughter in France" had an interesting plot and was well researched, but the writing was rather "corny" - hoping that was just beginners' rough edges...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Durable Fire
A Durable Fire by Stephanie Keating (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews