Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2013
This book was extremely moving. I read it in about two evenings flat. I knew she had marriage problems but not quite to this extent. I feel she was very brave to tell her story. If this helps any other women out there to get out of a violent relationship i think the book has done its job.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I found this book honest and open. I bought this book from an online friend who had finished reading this.

I have no doubt at all this lady went through some terrible terrible times within her marriage, without a doubt, however, from the reading of this I found it very monotone. Let me explain, there was no emphasis on things, there was no drama in the writing, I am not saying there wasn't any drama in her life! that goes without saying, now whether she wanted to make it 'matter of fact' in the way she was writing it because of her family, or whether the emotions were knocked out of her, or whether she is just one cool dude, I have no idea. I can see she is a strong woman though, but it does beggar belief that she still loved him and stayed with him up unto the time of his death, I was very confused with that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
What a fantastic book. Read this over 4 nights, just couldn't put it down. Being a fan of Boy George I just had to read it out of curiosity. Fantastically written.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
Hi,what do you say when all you have hidden for half your life comes in to print.I take my hat off to my mother Diana for having the courage at last to tell her story.She is the most inspiring person I ever had the pleasure of knowing and being my mum is the most brilliantly honest person in the world.how great she is I can't exsplain in words via a keyboard on the net.She made me what I am today and asked for nothing in return.Mother I LOVE YOU and think your book will be a huge hit.Never forget you are loved by me.Davidxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0Comment21 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
A Really good Read. Made me cry because of all Dinah had suffered at the hand of her husband.I cannot say I enjoyed reading it as it chronicled so much suffering. What a wonderful woman with such a spirit. She suffered everything for the sake of her children only to be betrayed by her Husband.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
Great read about Boy George's Mum. If you are looking for gossip about Boy George you won't find it in this book you will have to read his own books which are equally great.

Dinah's biography tells the story of her family including shocking tales about her abusive husband who is now dead. Anyone who has suffered from domestic violence will relate to her biography.

Her love for all her children shines out of this book and Dinah comes across as a loving and very caring mother always putting her children first.

This is a great read, hard to put down,Dinah's strength of character is remarkable despite all she has been through. Dinah remains positive about life and does not seem bitter about her life despite all its twists and turns. Her children should be VERY proud of her.

ENJOYABLE
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
The only thing that makes this story interesting is the fact that dinah is the mother of boy george. That is what goes through your mind the whole way through the book - `this child she is talking about grew up to be the famous boy george..` Take him out of the picture and - well your typical irish drunk, beating up his wife... Hardly edge of your seat stuff is it.. ?
0Comment6 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2006
I am looking forward to this book as it will shed some light on what happened in this family. And perhaps on what is indeed happening in many families all the time. This book is a great achievement by a wonderful lady and somehow, meant to be. Love & light and blessings. Anja
0Comment6 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2006
The obvious love and respect shared by this family, made even more apparent by her son's review, is so endearing.

I admire Mrs O'Dowd very much for her courage in sharing her story with us and I hope it will be an inspiration to others in similar situations.

I look forward to reading this book. Janet
0Comment5 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
After having read this book, I can only echo what the reviewers have said on here before. It is a down-to-earth and fascinating insight into Dinah's life. I could relate to it, albeit on a much smaller scale, as my dad was quite violent. However, her strength shines through in this book. She's been on one hell of a rollercoaster of life and seen sides of life and love most of us will never see.
What struck me as well is this twinkle she has in her Irish eyes; a great sense of humour that punctuates the book and had me chuckle here and there.
A real page turner, and a book that stays with you, I think. I very much enjoyed it, and took it to heart. Thank you Dinah. Best of health and happiness to you and your family. M Eyley
0Comment8 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.