Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOY GEORGES MUMS STORY
This book was extremely moving. I read it in about two evenings flat. I knew she had marriage problems but not quite to this extent. I feel she was very brave to tell her story. If this helps any other women out there to get out of a violent relationship i think the book has done its job.
Published 24 months ago by Melissa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars honest and open
I found this book honest and open. I bought this book from an online friend who had finished reading this.

I have no doubt at all this lady went through some terrible terrible times within her marriage, without a doubt, however, from the reading of this I found it very monotone. Let me explain, there was no emphasis on things, there was no drama in the writing,...
Published on 31 Oct. 2012 by read-along-with-sue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOY GEORGES MUMS STORY, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Kindle Edition)
This book was extremely moving. I read it in about two evenings flat. I knew she had marriage problems but not quite to this extent. I feel she was very brave to tell her story. If this helps any other women out there to get out of a violent relationship i think the book has done its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars honest and open, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
read-along-with-sue "sue" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
I found this book honest and open. I bought this book from an online friend who had finished reading this.

I have no doubt at all this lady went through some terrible terrible times within her marriage, without a doubt, however, from the reading of this I found it very monotone. Let me explain, there was no emphasis on things, there was no drama in the writing, I am not saying there wasn't any drama in her life! that goes without saying, now whether she wanted to make it 'matter of fact' in the way she was writing it because of her family, or whether the emotions were knocked out of her, or whether she is just one cool dude, I have no idea. I can see she is a strong woman though, but it does beggar belief that she still loved him and stayed with him up unto the time of his death, I was very confused with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My life is in this book, 21 July 2006
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
Hi,what do you say when all you have hidden for half your life comes in to print.I take my hat off to my mother Diana for having the courage at last to tell her story.She is the most inspiring person I ever had the pleasure of knowing and being my mum is the most brilliantly honest person in the world.how great she is I can't exsplain in words via a keyboard on the net.She made me what I am today and asked for nothing in return.Mother I LOVE YOU and think your book will be a huge hit.Never forget you are loved by me.Davidxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic book. Read this over 4 nights, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Mass Market Paperback)
What a fantastic book. Read this over 4 nights, just couldn't put it down. Being a fan of Boy George I just had to read it out of curiosity. Fantastically written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 24 Feb. 2007
By 
J. WALKER (YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
Great read about Boy George's Mum. If you are looking for gossip about Boy George you won't find it in this book you will have to read his own books which are equally great.

Dinah's biography tells the story of her family including shocking tales about her abusive husband who is now dead. Anyone who has suffered from domestic violence will relate to her biography.

Her love for all her children shines out of this book and Dinah comes across as a loving and very caring mother always putting her children first.

This is a great read, hard to put down,Dinah's strength of character is remarkable despite all she has been through. Dinah remains positive about life and does not seem bitter about her life despite all its twists and turns. Her children should be VERY proud of her.

ENJOYABLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wasn`t as impressed as other readers.., 19 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
The only thing that makes this story interesting is the fact that dinah is the mother of boy george. That is what goes through your mind the whole way through the book - `this child she is talking about grew up to be the famous boy george..` Take him out of the picture and - well your typical irish drunk, beating up his wife... Hardly edge of your seat stuff is it.. ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preview, 10 Oct. 2006
By 
tranceangel_3 (Rheinland Pfalz) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
I am looking forward to this book as it will shed some light on what happened in this family. And perhaps on what is indeed happening in many families all the time. This book is a great achievement by a wonderful lady and somehow, meant to be. Love & light and blessings. Anja
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
C. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
Tedious and boring. Kept waiting for something significant to happen but it just didn't. Finished it and all I could think was, what a waste of paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I Know I Will Read This, 28 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
The obvious love and respect shared by this family, made even more apparent by her son's review, is so endearing.

I admire Mrs O'Dowd very much for her courage in sharing her story with us and I hope it will be an inspiration to others in similar situations.

I look forward to reading this book. Janet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a must read if you like books in this vein, 17 Oct. 2006
By 
R. J. Eyley "meyley" (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Salty Tears (Hardcover)
After having read this book, I can only echo what the reviewers have said on here before. It is a down-to-earth and fascinating insight into Dinah's life. I could relate to it, albeit on a much smaller scale, as my dad was quite violent. However, her strength shines through in this book. She's been on one hell of a rollercoaster of life and seen sides of life and love most of us will never see.
What struck me as well is this twinkle she has in her Irish eyes; a great sense of humour that punctuates the book and had me chuckle here and there.
A real page turner, and a book that stays with you, I think. I very much enjoyed it, and took it to heart. Thank you Dinah. Best of health and happiness to you and your family. M Eyley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry Salty Tears
Cry Salty Tears by Dinah O'Dowd (Mass Market Paperback - 9 Aug. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews