Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Satisfying Addition To The Godfather Series...If!
...you are interested in a well-written page-turner that -- like Winegardner's previous book, The Godfather Returns -- is driven mainly by its excellent character development. If, however, your interest is in a book that is filled with suspense and action, The Godfather's Revenge may not be for you. Winegardner not only strongly succeeds in taking the Corleone Family into...
Published on 13 Jan 2007 by Bobbewig

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing
THE GODFATHER'S REVENGE is Winegardner's second sequel to Mario Puzo's GODFATHER. Most of the original Corleone characters are present in this book but relatively less emphasis is placed on Michael Corleone. The plot seems tired and the author's insistense on using famous events from the 1960's seems too contrived. It's hard to get excited about this particular effort by...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Peter Kenney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Satisfying Addition To The Godfather Series...If!, 13 Jan 2007
By 
Bobbewig (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
...you are interested in a well-written page-turner that -- like Winegardner's previous book, The Godfather Returns -- is driven mainly by its excellent character development. If, however, your interest is in a book that is filled with suspense and action, The Godfather's Revenge may not be for you. Winegardner not only strongly succeeds in taking the Corleone Family into the early '60s, he provides a very rich and well-developed characterization of two people that had a strong influence on the Corleone Family and its actions over the years -- Nick Geraci and Tom Hagen. Be aware that the focus of The Godfather's Revenge is on these characters; Michael Corleone, while always a powerful force in this series, is more of a secondary character. Most of the other characters from the past book are back in "Revenge" and Winegardner very effectively expands our understanding of them -- and particularly the female characters. Beyond the book's strength in the above areas, it -- in a somewhat quiet but powerful way -- weaves a fictionalized tale of some of the important historical events occurring in the time period in which this book takes place and of the Mafia's, and the Corleone's, role in influencing them (e.g., the presidential assassination, the Attorney General's (the president's brother's) "war" with the Mafia, the Bay of Pigs incident, etc.). Overall, The Godfather's Revenge is a book I'd highly recommend to those interested in the Godfather series and who enjoyed Winegardner's last book, as well as to anyone interested in a well-written book that succeeds on many levels. Once again, please be aware that The Godfather's Revenge is not the fastest "read" out there, but it is a highly satisfying book. I hope this review is helpful to you in deciding on whether or not to read The Godfather's Revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACES READING OF A CONTINUING SAGA, 3 Jan 2007
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Godfather's Revenge (Audio CD)
Who can forget the Corleone family? Whether first met between the pages of a book, in a darkened movie theater or on a smaller screen in your home, they were unlike any people most of us have known. Mario Puzo had introduced the world to the Mafia. Francis Ford Coppola brought gang members to all too vivid life on screen. For many (myself included) that would be enough.....and then I saw that this audio book was read by Joe Mantegna.

Tony award winner Mantegna, as many know, was the ultimate gangster on screen in "The Godfather: Part III" and "Bugsy." His voice is deep, resonant, and when he issues an order - you better hop to it. He never over-dramatizes, which would be easy to do in this fast-paced tale, but exercises such control that his narration is almost tight, if you will, rendering it compelling to the nth.

Winegardner (author of "The Godfather Returns") now mixes the Corleones with politics - a president and an attorney general (his brother) - think JFK. Michael Corleone has more than he can handle with Nick Geraci, once a devoted follower now a deadly rival, and one of his top men plotting to assassinate the president. There's the tie between the CIA and Mafia killers, and the reappearance of favorite characters - Johnny Fontane, the spineless crooner, and Tom Hagen, the Irish consigliere.

For this listener, one of Winegardner's most intriguing characters is Francesca Corleone Van Arsdale, Sonny's daughter, who is a chip (or chippy, if you will) off the old block.

The Corleone's never fail to amaze and entertain - thanks to a superb narration and an inventive story by Winegardner who writes with the approval of the Puzo estate.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the god fathers revenge, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good and exciting read by a fine auther ,i would recomemd this book to
any one who likes gangster reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Godfather's Revenge (Paperback)
great book better than Godfather returns and it sends u straight into a fix. Also the packaging was good and the delivery was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mark Winegarden continues to make offers you cannot refuse, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story written as always in the style of Mario Puzo and helps bring together and close many of the strands of the previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for fans - better than the 3rd film anyway, 21 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather's Revenge (Paperback)
I found it interesting to see more about the main characters but also to see some fringe characters better developed. It also does a nice job of filling those gaps in Michael's development without making him the be all and end all of the subject. I definitely recommend it to anyone who is really into the films and wants to extend the world a little bit more for a little bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can You Improve on Perfection?, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. Alla Connelly (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather's Revenge (Paperback)
As the title of this review suggests, that is what I asked when I first bought this book. And quite simply the answer is yes!!!! This book complements the orginal perfectly and somewhat expands on the original masterpiece. If any Godfather fans ever felt in limbo about the lives of the characters this book beefs up the original story somewhat but does not in anyway detract from Mario Puzo's orginal bestseller. I thoroughly reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-down-able, 8 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. F. W. Sharpe (United Kingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather's Revenge (Paperback)
Apart from a few odd points in the book where I felt that this wasn't quite a puzo original, which was to be expected because it isn't puzo, overall I enjoyed this book immensly and felt it to be compatible with the original god father book and films.

It wouldn't be a godfather story if the plot wasn't complicated and it did not feature the other members of the family who form an essential part of the setting.

It fills in the details between godfather two and three the films, and generally I found the book unputdownable from beginning to end and I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed the original god father book and films.

This book was bought for me and I was a bit worried having read many negative reviews, however I gave it the benfit of the doubt and tried it and I'm very pleased that I did, It was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THE GODFATHER'S REVENGE is Winegardner's second sequel to Mario Puzo's GODFATHER. Most of the original Corleone characters are present in this book but relatively less emphasis is placed on Michael Corleone. The plot seems tired and the author's insistense on using famous events from the 1960's seems too contrived. It's hard to get excited about this particular effort by Winegardner. His previous entry in the series was more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and boring, 12 Aug 2014
Tedious and boring!! I've not skipped so many pages in any book previously and I LOVE mafia books. Don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather's Revenge
The Godfather's Revenge by Mark Winegardner (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews