Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyrical read that I couldn't put down...
Myerson's prose is almost poetic, and I found myself entranced from the very first paragraph. The story is beautifully written as Myerson weaves together memories of an encounter many years ago with the story of today.

Rosy, the central character and the voice of the novel is battling to keep her family life on track following the tragic death of her youngest...
Published on 4 Sep 2010 by Clare Swindlehurst

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to its promise
I was really intrigued by the style of this book when I began to read it and thought it was going to be a good'un. But sadly, I soon began to realise that the storyline was a bit thin - it could have been so much better if it didn't concentrate on the fine detail of the sex life of the central character.
Don't get me wrong, I like a bit of soft porn as much as...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by Mr. D. A. Reggiori


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect "Me Time" reading., 5 Jun 2008
By 
J. Willcox "Jane Willcox." (Epping, Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
I have just returned from a mixed weather week in Cornwall, so there was alot of time to read the many books in the owners cottage.
I discovered Julie Myerson books for the first time.
First of all i read "Something might happen2, which i thoroughly enjoyed and read it in 3 days. Then i read "The story of you".
I loved this book. I thought both books were similar in dealing with affairs, and the awful tragedy of losing a child, but i really enjoyed them. I am a mother of 4 children so could identify with both the mother characters in similar ways. She writes about the tenderness between mother and child so well, using every little detail to effect.
I didn't have much sympathy for Rosy's husband i'm afraid. He annoyed me a little. The book is gripping and i couldn't put it down. I read it in 1 1/5 days. I liked the sound of her student boyfriend and Julie's well written style of how we all feel at that young age with a first love.
I loved the twist at the end.
I have now become a fan and will be reading all her other books.
I really recommend this to anyone but especially ladies who will sympathise and understand her feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Between grief and nothing..., 7 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
This probably isn't her best book, but the prose is delicious as always. Yes, it's kind of slow and some of Myerson's stylistic quirks border on the annoying from time to time. The conclusion is rather predictable. But very few writers play to the senses the way she does - her descriptions of baby Mary are so incredible you feel you've actually seen, held, touched, smelled the child yourself. That's pretty extraordinary really.

Grief does peculiar things to the mind. Nicole has lost her youngest child in a terrible accident, and the boundaries between dreams and reality are suddenly blurred. There's a filmic quality to this, as she wanders the snow-covered streets. You shiver, reading it. Illusions are broken down, and then built up again. The book is very much like a dream itself. And, yes, it's old territory, but every sentence has a newness to it that few other writers achieve. I liked all the shifting uncertainties, the fact that we can't really trust her.

The dialogue, though, is touched with the same magic wand as the rest of the prose. This works, of course, in the hazy way she communicates with her lover, but falls down when you try to imagine her teenaged sons coming out with such strangely beautiful sentences. Oddly enough, the thing that grated most for me was her constant use of the phrase 'she had on' instead of just plain 'she was wearing'! She's a little self-consciously arty at sometimes. But I think if you like her other work - or if you're a fan of Helen Dunmore and Rachel Cusk - you'll also like this. You'll probably like Sleepwalking and Laura Blundy better, but there's so much to admire here too. The Story of You will annoy the hell out of some people. For others, like me, it will seem almost as real as if you lived it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!!, 5 July 2007
By 
L. Cyples "Laura Cyples" (S-O-T, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
On the whole i thought this book was ok, if a little depressing. Although the story is all about grief so what can you expect!
I have to say I was very disappointed by the ending of the story. It is obvious throughout that there is something not quite as it seems and maybe I was expecting more?! Predictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst book I have ever read..., 17 Sep 2010
By 
S. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
I only kept reading it cos I thought, it just has to have a twist or a turn to make whoever agreed to print this actually commercially viable.

The reviews on the back were glowing, The Big Issue was particularly praising....

From that day to this, I have to confess that when I see a Big Issue Seller, it is all I can do not to run up to them and take them to task for a favourable review of such an awful waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 1 July 2007
This review is from: The Story of You (Paperback)
i can use one word to sum up this book and that is awful, the writer spends the duration of the book leading up to the ending only to leave u feeling unsatisfied, its complicated to get into at first with the plot jumping from past to present and between real and imagination, after i had finished it, i was convinced that i must be missing some of the book it was that bad, id advise any1 thinking of buying this book not too it would be a waste of money, if they want to read it borrow it from a library not worth any money at all, truly awful! 1 star is too high a rating for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead babies again, 22 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Story of You (Hardcover)
Dead or doomed babies haunt Myerson's book. There was the baby boy in 'Me and the Fat Man' and then the little girl who drowned in 'Something Might Happen.' In 'The Story of You' the narrator's grief and breakdown over her baby girl's death re-ignites her obsession with a boy she spent just one night with as a teenager, the 'you' of the story. They meet and begin an affair...or do they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of You
The Story of You by Julie Myerson (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews