Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
This is the fifth book (in terms of the story--not the 5th written) in Kent's Richard Bolitho series. Our hero must fight in the American Revolution on the American coast adn the Caribbean. In on adventure, he must help take and destroy an American fort. The rest of the time, he more or less fights privateers.
What's good about this book? Well, there is just plenty...
Published on 12 Aug. 2008 by Dr J

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bolitho stuff
Kent seems to be best when he's writing about small-scale action - you get plenty of that in this book. His hero Richard Bolitho is a lieutenant on board the ship-of-the-line Trojan, gradually working his way up the ranks as his superiors disappear for one reason or another. While it's standard Kent stuff and good fun, you sometimes get the impression the story has been...
Published on 16 Oct. 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Aug. 2008
By 
Dr J (United States) - See all my reviews
This is the fifth book (in terms of the story--not the 5th written) in Kent's Richard Bolitho series. Our hero must fight in the American Revolution on the American coast adn the Caribbean. In on adventure, he must help take and destroy an American fort. The rest of the time, he more or less fights privateers.
What's good about this book? Well, there is just plenty of action. Kent keeps the book moving along pretty well from one adventure to the next. If you like a series with plenty of fighting, then this is the series for you. Also, it's a pretty easy read. The reader doesn't get lost in a lot of jargon. I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to reading the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bolitho stuff, 16 Oct. 2007
This review is from: In Gallant Company (Paperback)
Kent seems to be best when he's writing about small-scale action - you get plenty of that in this book. His hero Richard Bolitho is a lieutenant on board the ship-of-the-line Trojan, gradually working his way up the ranks as his superiors disappear for one reason or another. While it's standard Kent stuff and good fun, you sometimes get the impression the story has been crafted as pure continuity - as character setup for "Signal- Close Action!" or a lead-in to the infinitely better "Sloop of War". So three stars for what you expect, but otherwise unremarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Naval Yarn, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Gallant Company (Paperback)
This is my first Alexander Kent book and on the whole I enjoyed reading it.

It is set in 1777 on board the Trojan. The central character of the book is Richard Bolitho, a 20 year old lieutenant. Despite his youth, he is already a veteran having joined up as a 12 year old midshipman. The ship is in revolutionary America (the year after the declaration of independence). It is therefore poignant to consider that in the general conflict that this story is part of, Bolitho and his shipmates are on the losing side.

However, the action in this book is not major sea battles or the overall conflict but a number of one to one skirmishes with American privateers, French naval vessels and an undercover attack on a fort. These scenes are described in an exciting way where the action is messy and confusing; the outcomes of all such melees are never predictable.

Bolitho is seen as a still idealistic and skilled sailor who is gradually learning to be more realistic about the internal and external politics he has to deal with. I was most intrigued by the unspoken hostility between the captain of the Trojan, Captain Pears and the smooth Machiavellian Admiral Coutts. In many ways, I feel that Bolitho comes across as a 20th century everyman that readers can identify with rather than an 18th Century sailor.

This is of course one of a series of naval books by Alexander Kent tracing the career of Dick Bolitho. This was the first for me and I have to confess that I was rather bogged down by the sheer number of nautical terms relating to the ships and the people on them.. I imagine that over time I will become more familiar with these terms and find the stories more enjoyable in consequence. I have just acquired another Alexander Kent book and am looking forward to the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always good, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
R. Watson (Tattingstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Gallant Company (Paperback)
All the books in this series are very readable, the characters well-defined and plausible, the actual events of the time well woven in. The story moves apace and is packed with action. The author obviously has a very deep knowledge of the Royal Navy of the period.

After reading everything that Patrick O'Brien wrote, I didn't think I would ever find a writer to equal him on this subject. Let me just say that I can't wait to read the rest of Alexander Kent's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chap Lit, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rollocking tale for boys of all ages (I'm 65+). Not great literature but exciting page turning stuff, as are most of Alexander Kent's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written series, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Alexander Kent " Bolitho " novel every book in the series has kept me enthralled. I struggle to put them down until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably one of the best Bolitho books. Great read from start to finish and very difficult to put down once started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re excellent book, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great story, can't Waite to read the rest of the saga, I have ordered them and should be able to get them on the kindle shortly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bolithro, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read these 15 years ago Good in paperbackand enjoyed them but miissed a couple. Will now buy all of the l series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read., 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I see that all books in the series are not yet available on Kindle. This is disappointing and I will not be progressing through the series by "jumping" books. So, as things stand, I will be stopping after 7 books although there are a total of 29. (A loss to Amazon of 22 downloads!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Gallant Company
In Gallant Company by Alexander Kent (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews