Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable "cosy" mystery
While I am a great fan of GH's Regency novels, I am not so keen on her detective stories. The Unfinished Clue is the fifth I have read (the previous four being Envious Casca, A Blunt Instrument, Detection Unlimited and Why Shoot a Butler?) and it is by far my favourite. I love its house-party setting and found the characters interesting.

The story starts with...
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by Gentle Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Clockwork
To be fair, if you like a light, well-constructed plot, a bit of satiric observation, a statutory romance and a picture of upper middle class life between the wars (the formalities! The servants!) this is one to go for. Amusing and uninvolving.
Published 11 months ago by Wab Carlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable "cosy" mystery, 13 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
While I am a great fan of GH's Regency novels, I am not so keen on her detective stories. The Unfinished Clue is the fifth I have read (the previous four being Envious Casca, A Blunt Instrument, Detection Unlimited and Why Shoot a Butler?) and it is by far my favourite. I love its house-party setting and found the characters interesting.

The story starts with two sisters: common-sense singleton Dinah who is a guest of her unhappily married and put-upon sister Fay. (Echoes of a less-touchy Serena and Fanny from Bath Tangle I thought.) Fay's husband, Arthur, is a tyrant and not particularly popular with his guests who include: his impecunious nephew, Fay's admirer, a couple they met on holiday and Arthur's son and his cabaret-dancing fiancee, Lola. Other characters appear in the form of dinner guests and servants. In due course someone is murdered and Inspector Harding (who is slightly reminiscent of GH's Regency heroes) investigates.

It is these characters and relationships which make the story so enjoyable, along with the intrigue of working out who did it. Not for me gritty reality or tense atmospheres. I like my detective novels to be escapist, with as little violence as possible. This is written with a light touch, and I almost cried with laughter at some of Lola's comments. I didn't get as engrossed as I had with GH's Regency novels, such as Cotillion or Venetia, nor did it race along like The Grand Sophy, but it was an enjoyable clean read, with some fun and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written crime fiction which mixes murder with black comedy, 15 April 2002
By 
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
The gruesome death of the tyrannical Sir Arthur sends shockwaves through the motley crew of guests assembled for a weekend house party. As near cabin-fever sets in, Scotland Yard arrive to ferret out the truth. Heyer writes with her usual deft touch, with a comic gallery of secondary characters, notably the volatile Geoffrey's unsuitable Latin fiancee Lola. The plot thickens and reveals itself with a flourish and the central romance is a nicely managed "matter-of-fact" affair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing detective story, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Downs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
Georgette Heyer writes well, and her characters and dialogue make much better reading than anything Agatha Christie produced. I am of an age (approaching 80) to appreciate what younger readers may well find dated by today's standards, but there WAS life before World War II!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unfinished clue, 8 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
As in many murder mysteries, an ill-assorted bunch of people are gathered at a country house. However, Georgette Heyer's talent for writing charming and often eccentric minor characters raises her work above the rest. One of the best is Lola, a triumphantly egotistical Latin lovely who dances for a living, and has rather improbably become engaged to Sir Arthur Billington-Smith's wimpy son. Sir Arthur is an awful pompous old bully, whose word is law. His pretty young sister-in-law is unimpressed however - she positively enjoys prodding him with a stick (metaphorically), and watching the explosive results. I didn't guess whodunnit until just before the end. An entertaining read, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly written whodunit, 13 May 2014
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
A typical murder mystery, rather in the style of Agatha Christie, but with much better characterisation. Murder happens at a weekend house party… the police are baffled, so the charming Inspector Harding from Scotland Yard is called in.

Cleverly written, leaving me guessing until the end. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this very much - Georgette Heyer is always a good read - There is not much else to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Georgette Heyer, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfinished Clue (Paperback)
Bought this book to complete my set of Georgette Heyer novels I have read most of them more than once, they are a great form of relaxation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another relaxing and undemanding read by Heyer.

The plot is well thought out and the denouement satisfactory - even though preposterous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine, 12 Jan 2014
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with any Heyer book, this one ends in the most subtle way. I would never have guessed who the killer was until right at the end. Just as it should be.

5 stars is well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Clue, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! I'm really enjoying using my kindle and being able to get Georgette Heyer's detective novels. This one was one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unfinished Clue
The Unfinished Clue by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 4 Jan 2007)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews