Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
This was my first Georgette Heyer mystery, having being introduced by an avid fan of them. I was endlessly entertained by this book, both by the unpredictable ending and the very funny characters - I think Neville would have to take the prize there! A great mystery read, a satisfying fusion of wit and who-dunnit, even if you're not a usual mystery fan.
Published on 23 May 2000

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PC Glass finds a house unlocked - and a dead body inside!
It was not surprising that Ernest Fletcher was murdered - he really was not a very nice man!
Why had Helen North been in Ernest's study on the night of his death? Why did she hide behind a tree when another visitor arrived - and who was he? Helen's sister, Sally, was determined to solve the mystery - aided and abetted by Ernest's heir, Neville. The police were...
Published on 6 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 23 May 2000
By A Customer
This was my first Georgette Heyer mystery, having being introduced by an avid fan of them. I was endlessly entertained by this book, both by the unpredictable ending and the very funny characters - I think Neville would have to take the prize there! A great mystery read, a satisfying fusion of wit and who-dunnit, even if you're not a usual mystery fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PC Glass finds a house unlocked - and a dead body inside!, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Blunt Instrument (Paperback)
It was not surprising that Ernest Fletcher was murdered - he really was not a very nice man!
Why had Helen North been in Ernest's study on the night of his death? Why did she hide behind a tree when another visitor arrived - and who was he? Helen's sister, Sally, was determined to solve the mystery - aided and abetted by Ernest's heir, Neville. The police were delighted to have Sally's help - especially as she turned out to be a detective story writer.
The London detectives were also helped or hindered by PC Glass, who had an irritating habit of quoting the bible at every opportunity. The case was not an easy one, and when one of their prime suspects was found murdered, it became even more complicated.
The solution of the mystery was ingenious, but if you look hard enough, you will find enough clues in the book to help you find the murderer before the police do!
This was probably my least favourite of the Georgette Heyer detective novels, mainly because the intensely irritating habit of PC Glass of quoting the bible jarred very quickly!
However, it is well crafted, and there is the usual love interest, and once you have become hooked on Heyer's detective novels, you will want to read them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of suspects, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another case for Superintendent Hannasyde and Sergeant Hemingway to solve. A man is bludgeoned to death in his study. There are plenty of possible suspects including the corpse's own nephew who is in need of money and the couple next door - Mr and Mrs John North - who may or may not have been more closely involved with the dead man than they're prepared to admit to. No one can find the `blunt instrument' of the title and there doesn't seem to be any time unaccounted for when the murder could have taken place.

Plagued by a Bible quoting PC and a constantly fluctuating collection of motives and suspects who keep changing their stories, Hannasyde and Hemingway are soon tearing their hair out. An apparently straightforward case becomes more impossible by the minute.

I have now read all Georgette Heyer's mystery novels and they're all well worth reading - carefully plotted with fascinating characters and backgrounds. They can hold their own with the best of the Golden Age detective story writers. If you enjoy Dorothy L Sayers, Ngaio Marsh and Gladys Mitchell then you will enjoy Georgette Heyer as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Agatha Christie, 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Blunt Instrument (Paperback)
Having been a fan of Georgette Heyer's regency romances, I had never read one of her mysteries until I was given one as a present. I'm definitely hooked. Written in a who dunnit style, it keeps you guessing to the very end. it is full of witticism, witnesses and suspects who give conflicting statements and hilarious if eccentric characters. In the end however, the analytical and logcial mind of Superintendent Hannasyde of Scotland Yard reigns supreme and clears the up crime. Keep an open mind when reading this if you want to solve the clues, but it will be hard as your mind will jump from one conclusion to another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and Mystery, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stuff - characters, motivation are carefully delineated and post WWI society - an old favourite and well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terribly obvious solution from the off which meant that the reader has to put up with the endless deliberations of the detectives while the solution is staring us in the face all along. The characterization is also poor and the inevitable love story is shallow and completely unbelieveable, involving one-dimensional cardboard characters.

The best thing that can be said for it is that since there is no point in trying to 'suspend disbelief' it is a completely unstressful read! That's why I have given 3 stars as opposed to just 2.

This one has to be one of her very earliest attempts at any form of novel - whodunnit or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't read this for deep insights or psychological truth. It's jolly entertaining though and it won't take up too much of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another from the wizard with words. I would never have guessed who the criminal was, it was so cleverly done.

5 stars is well deserved.

I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hayer, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently tried the 1930 crimes of G Heyer. and I find them every bit as well written and researched as the classic novels. Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Blunt Instrument., 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Blunt Instrument. Well. written as usual for Georgette , a good plot, interesting characters but not Georgettes Heyers best,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Blunt Instrument
A Blunt Instrument by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews