Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real hoot!
I couldn't put this book down and knocked it out in 2 days! It was well composed, intelligent, informative, shocking in places, very, very funny and a true story to boot. Lois has a disarming honesty and self deprecating humour as well as down to earth practicality, boundless optimism and enthusiasm a refreshing change from some of the 'badass bro' element in the biker...
Published on 16 Mar 2007 by Lead Head

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but a little Loose on the details
I must say, I'm a little surprised at how many 5 stars this book got. After reading those same 5 star Reviews, I decided that it was probably worth downloading and tucked in on the tube.

As with most people, I did think the book was entertaining. The idea of giving up everything for a massive trek across 2 continents with all the splendour and anticipation that...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by Harvs


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real hoot!, 16 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down and knocked it out in 2 days! It was well composed, intelligent, informative, shocking in places, very, very funny and a true story to boot. Lois has a disarming honesty and self deprecating humour as well as down to earth practicality, boundless optimism and enthusiasm a refreshing change from some of the 'badass bro' element in the biker press. Can't wait for the next one and I'm sure there'll be more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to read it again the moment I'd finished it!, 13 Mar 2007
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
If you're into adventure motorcycling, you'll love every word. That said, this is most definitely a book which anybody would enjoy. I chose "Lois On The Loose" as lunchtime reading material for work and it took me about a week to finish, by which time people were quizzing me about my miracle diet. There's not much that can get between me and my grub, but this little gem managed it! Consistently funny, engaging, informative and beautifully written from the scene-setting intro, to the triumphant outro. In other words, one hundred percent entertainment. Nuff said...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Women, One Motorcycle, One great adventure., 13 April 2010
By 
Daniel Storey "Book_Worm_Daniel" (Rochester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
Adventure motorcycling has become very mainstream since the adventures of Ewan and Charley on Long Way Round/Down. However motorcycling adventures have been going on since the 1930's when women like Theresa Wallach rode a motorbike and sidecar though the African continent. Lois decided to give up her job at the BBC and ride her 250cc motorcycle from the top of the Americas to very bottom. The ride saw her clock up over 20,000 miles though North and South America. Early on in her trip Lois has to deal with extreme weather in Canada and jobs worthy police which see's her bike get impounded but she gets by. Once she enters into North America she experiences some of the American dream and is joined by a fellow women motorcyclist in LA for the next leg of her journey. Whilst in LA Lois here's some horror stories about some South American countries and she and her travelling companion head across into Mexico with caution.
Thankfully these horror stories never materialist and Lois experiences all the ups,downs, joys, every biker expects when undertaking such adventures. During Lois journey her bike suffers the odd problem but their was always someone willing to lend her a hand. unfortunately towards the end of her journey tragedy does strike for another travelling women biker she meets but you should read the book to discover this.
The fact the Lois completed this journey on such a smaller CC bike is a real testament to her and you can't help but admire Lois throughout the book.
Their are all sorts of Motorcycle adventure books on the market these days and im pretty sure you would will miss out on a great read if you ignore this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and Motivational, 12 Mar 2007
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
If you're fed up with your boring office job and are a motorbiking adventurer at heart this is a great read. Lois' entertaining descriptive writing makes it an easy read, and you feel as if you're out there experiencing the journey with her. It'll make you feel more determined to get out there and have a go, but at the same time if you can't its an excellent way to get a feel for what its like. Highly recommended and can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loose Bearings, 25 April 2007
By 
C. Payne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
"You're mad". "You'll get raped". "You'll kill yourself" were the just some of the words of encouragement Lois Pryce received when she announced she was going to motorcycle solo from the frozen wastes of northern Alaska to the fly blown tip of Argentina. Cheerfully straddling her underpowered Japanese trail bike, Lois sketches with forensic accuracy the real characters of the road: psychotic traffic cops, saintly mechanics, father and son Harley riders, jaded backpackers, strippers with make up tattooed onto their face and the deadliest of them all, the unsupervised South American male in a uniform. The pages turn as fast as the countryside - Lois' chatty prose is funny, warm and self depreciating making this book, I think, a must for any traveller contemplating a plunge into the unknown. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A girl in a million, 23 April 2009
By 
C. D. Porter (Tetbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
The pure guts of this attractive young girl to undertake this incredible adventure on her own, on this tiny tiny bike, makes the rest of us seem extremely boring. It was a total privilege to share this trip with Lois in the pages of her wonderfully written book which I could not put down. When you have finished this one you have to read her next book called 'Red tape and White Knuckles' which is equally as good and well written. Lois will always be an interesting and captivating dinner guest. I have recommended both books to everyone I know. Thank you Lois, I can't wait for you to get on your bike again. Colin Porter, Tetbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P Dickinson, 11 Dec 2008
By 
P. Dickinson (La Palma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
This book is humourous and packed with adventure. I cannot believe she spent 9 months travelling by bike! It gives an insight into each of the various south american countries and a funny account of life in the USA. I like the way she describes the people she meets and how they contribute, whether positively or negatively, to her journey. I agree with her that travel is about the people you meet, not so much the places you visit. There is also a graphic description of a bike accident that has stuck in my mind, along with many other anecdotes. I really enjoyed it, it made me laugh a lot. I didn't want her journey to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Lois!, 29 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
This gal is incredible! She braves the Americas on a scrambler, much of it on her lonesome. True grit and courage that would put most men to shame, this book is very well written indeed, with injections of humour that had me laughing profusely. A most enjoyable read, candid to the extreme, and a hard to put down book, I was sad when I'd finished it, because I so thoroughly enjoyed this trip with Lois. She has a knack of keeping you rivetted and wondering whats coming up next. Get this book...you'll love it, wether you're a motorcyclist or not.I'm just about to start the next one by this author. Rock on Lois!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lois Epic on the loose, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Craig A. Avison "Some boy" (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
Lois on the Loose

Lois's views, reconstructions of events and vivid descriptions strongly express all her feelings, senses and limits of her journey from the north of america to the south of america! A fantastic read and story for inspiration to females looking for independance and courage.

Lots of literature techniques have been used to create this artwork of a story of a lady who made a long journey for self satisfaction A BRILLIANT READ well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One entertaining book, 23 Feb 2009
By 
S. Chapman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lois on the Loose (Paperback)
All I can say is if you are wondering if to buy this or not just buy it. Wow what a tough cookie Lois is, a wonderful entertaining book that once you start you will not want to put down. Even when all seems lost she still sees the funny side of things and is very possessive of her biscuits (you need to read it to find out). I met her at the London Motorcycle show and got her to sign the copy I had bought. Am now waiting her next book about ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lois on the Loose
Lois on the Loose by Lois Pryce (Paperback - 1 Mar 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews