Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite
A very addictive read and an interseting portrayal of the protagonists. Queen Elizabeth is portrayed through her strength as a queen but also as a woman with an unrelenting love for her Lord Leicester. Definitely worth a read. If you like this then 'Queen of this Realm' is most definitely up your street.
Published on 4 Aug 2007 by Mary

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
I love this era in history but was really dissapointed by this book. It pails in comparison to Phillipa Gregory's 'The Virgin's Lover' based on the same subject. There is little character development & events happen so suddenly and with negligable impact, for example the execution of Mary Queen of Scots. However, it is very historically accurate, at times so much that it...
Published on 10 July 2008 by R. Simms


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 10 July 2008
By 
R. Simms "Rosie" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
I love this era in history but was really dissapointed by this book. It pails in comparison to Phillipa Gregory's 'The Virgin's Lover' based on the same subject. There is little character development & events happen so suddenly and with negligable impact, for example the execution of Mary Queen of Scots. However, it is very historically accurate, at times so much that it felt like non-fiction book. To me it felt like Plaidy wrote it half heartedly & in a bit of a rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite, 4 Aug 2007
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
A very addictive read and an interseting portrayal of the protagonists. Queen Elizabeth is portrayed through her strength as a queen but also as a woman with an unrelenting love for her Lord Leicester. Definitely worth a read. If you like this then 'Queen of this Realm' is most definitely up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance Love Story, 30 Nov 2007
By 
Louise Ward (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
This is the first Jean Plaidy I have read and having studied renaissance literature I was a bit wary. But it was a lovely read. The characterisation of Elizabeth and Robert Dudley bristled with unrequited love and it incorporated historically accurate elements to satisfy the historian in me. I will definitely read other books by Plaidy and in this series in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Robert, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
Set in Tudor times, this Jean Plaidy novel tells the story of Elizabeth I's love affair with the married Lord Robert Dudley and the intrigue that surrounds it.

The story once again portrays the dangerous times of Tudor England and like all other of Jean Plaidy's books very difficult to put down once you start reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Robert (the tudor saga) by Jean Plaidy, 27 Mar 2014
By 
L. P. Starling "p star" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have truly loved this book it was fantastic. I have for the first time read a book by Jean Plaidy i look forward to reading more by this author very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant writer, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
I HAD READ THIS BOOK YEARS AGO AND DICIDED TO READ SOME OF JEAN PLAIDYS BOOKS AGAIN ,SO GLAD I DID ENJOYED IT JUST AS MUCH SECOND TIME AROUND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as some have been, 6 July 2010
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
with a book about elizabeth I and robert dudley you would think would be full of passion and excitement but this one is very clinical in its dealings with the relationship. the feelings they had for each other doesnt really fly of the page at you as like in previous books when henry was dealing with his wives. a very detailed account but without any emotion. but does leave the door open for the next 2 books about mary queen of scots as plaidy introduces certain events but doesnt go into them in much detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do they think people are too simple minded to know that gay also means happy? For those that don't know the authors title ..., 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) (Paperback)
Why has this Been renamed? Do they think people are too simple minded to know that gay also means happy? For those that don't know the authors title for this was Gay Lord Robert. I find it insufferable that our language has been mucked around with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga)
Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga) by Jean Plaidy (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews