Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troy Denning delivers a firestorm with Inferno
Here we are, the sixth book of the series and we are dealing with the aftermath of Sacrifices shocking events. This books story clocks in at just about 300 pages and while it is the shortest book of Legacy of the Force so far Troy Denning does not waste a single word. The Galactic Alliance is being controlled by Jacen Solo and Cha Niathal who have gained power through a...
Published on 4 Oct. 2007 by Skywalker fan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Well, it was almost inevitable after sacrafice (which was one of the best EU novels ever written IMO). But i felt slightly let down by this one.

In this book jacen came over as rather two dimensional again (he seems to fluctuate) returning to evil-for-the-hell-off-it rather than a tortured and reluctant hero trying to put others first.

Ben, by...
Published on 1 Jan. 2008 by R. Isaacs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troy Denning delivers a firestorm with Inferno, 4 Oct. 2007
By 
Skywalker fan "GMS" (Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno (Paperback)
Here we are, the sixth book of the series and we are dealing with the aftermath of Sacrifices shocking events. This books story clocks in at just about 300 pages and while it is the shortest book of Legacy of the Force so far Troy Denning does not waste a single word. The Galactic Alliance is being controlled by Jacen Solo and Cha Niathal who have gained power through a bloodless military coup and Luke Skywalker struggles with grief over his tragic loss. It is here that Inferno begins and the war between the Galactic Alliance and the rebel Confederation really heats up.

Inferno really delivers in terms of plot development and it really needed to after the excellent fifth book Sacrifice. The series needed to keep up its momentum and in this regard Inferno is amazing with numerous massive fleet battles, lightsaber duels and shocking twists that continue to move the series forward. The real fallout of Jacens coup becomes clear as the Jedi Order and others declare their intention to stop him. This is done very well with the Jedi Order not just swapping sides to the rebel Confederation but with them drawing the distinction between the Galactic Alliance and the Galactic Alliance controlled by Jacen Solo. The Wookiees play a pivotal role in the book and we get to see old faces that haven't been seen in a while such as Lumpy (Chewbacca's son), Lowbacca, Jae Juung and Tarfang in and around the planet Kashyykk as everyone tries to get the support of the Wookiees Assault Fleet. Luke's role in the book could not have been handled better. He leads the Jedi Order well with the Jedi Council, he has some amazing fight scenes while still being portrayed in a way that takes into account his recent loss. Jaina Solo also gets a much deserved heroic role in the story with her and the Alema Rar Task Force of Zekk and Jag Fel being pitted against an unstable Galactic Alliance Guard Major who has been assigned to hold the Jedi Academy on Ossus under "protective" custody.

We also get a great and mysterious tie in to the fabulous Star Wars Legacy comic series that gives us some shocking backstory to the antagonists of the Dark Nest Trilogy Lomi Plo and Welk as well. This involves the insane Dark Jedi Alema Rar and her quest for knowledge to help Jacen Solo leading her into a surprise encounter on the Sith burial world of Korriban. This is an element that should not be spoiled but I will say that it has repercussions for the rest of Legacy of the Force that I had not considered.

Great work again by Troy Denning across the board in terms of plot and characterization and now that we enter the final three books of the series it's great news that when the final book Invincible rolls around it will be Troy Denning who will be writing it. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
R. Isaacs (Maidstone, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno (Paperback)
Well, it was almost inevitable after sacrafice (which was one of the best EU novels ever written IMO). But i felt slightly let down by this one.

In this book jacen came over as rather two dimensional again (he seems to fluctuate) returning to evil-for-the-hell-off-it rather than a tortured and reluctant hero trying to put others first.

Ben, by contrast, seems to have been written with a good deal of maturity and the handling of luke and the other jedi is good to excellant. The saber scraps are well written and there are the usual plot twists to enjoy. One thing to be said for legacy, its rarely predictable.

So its a sound book. It Ok. But it is very much in the shadow of KT's masterpiece. I do hope jacen regains some depth in the next one. For me the best part of this series is the ambiguity of the sides which makes a welcome change from the usual goodies vs badies duality we see in star wars. It was this ambiguity which made "traitor" and "sacrafice" so amazing. But its missing here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inferno is unleashed upon the galaxy., 15 Sept. 2007
By 
N. whitehouse "Trayjahn" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Inferno, quite literally, sets the Legacy of the Force series alight. This is easily Troy Denning's best Star Wars novel since Star By Star and packs more action into its 300 pages than most could in 3000. There are epic space battles, intense lightsabre duels and heartbreaking tragedy as Jacen, now Darth Caedus wrecks havoc upon the galaxy. The thing I liked most about this novel is without a doubt the redemption of Luke Skywalker as a character. Huge amounts of fans have complained, and rightly so, about how Luke has come across as quite stupid and naive in the previous novels. The fact that he has been quite literally blind to Jacen's turn to the dark side of the force has stretched some readers' patience since it has been quite obvious at times. And, at the start of the novel, I couldn't help but groan as it seemed that Luke once again couldn't see the wood for the trees as far as his devious nephew was concerned. But fear not, as Denning shows readers exactly why Luke is the Grand Master of the Jedi. He finally opens his eyes to the fact that Jacen has turned fully to the dark side , and takes the fight to him. And it is spectacular! The last 150 pages of the book are pure Star Wars action at it's finest. Fleets clash, Jedi battle Jedi and the newly ordained Dark Lord of the Sith takes on the Grand Master of the Jedi Order.And Denning throws in a planetfull of angry Wookies and An Ewok with an attitude problem for good measure. My only slight moan is that there is no mention of Boba Fett or the mandalorians again. It seems that story arc is being kept strictly within the Traviss novels, but than again that's not a bad thing. To sum it up , if you don't like this book, you don't like Star Wars. It's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star wars again, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno (Paperback)
bought for my son came in plenty of time for christmas part of a set he loves these books great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
SC France "enigma" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno (Paperback)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno
Star Wars: Legacy of the Force VI - Inferno by Troy Denning (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews