Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of the series so far
Tempest is the third book of the nine part Legacy of the Force series. This book focuses on the attempt on the life of the Hapan Consortiums Queen Mother Tenel Ka and the implications for the war between the Galactic Alliance and the Corellian system. It takes place just a couple of days after the end of Bloodlines by Karen Traviss.

This book surpassed my...
Published on 10 Dec 2006 by Skywalker fan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth one read
I am a Star Wars fan, so I like the series.

Now I have finished it, so does my charity shop.
Published on 17 July 2010 by Bear Brain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of the series so far, 10 Dec 2006
By 
Skywalker fan "GMS" (Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
Tempest is the third book of the nine part Legacy of the Force series. This book focuses on the attempt on the life of the Hapan Consortiums Queen Mother Tenel Ka and the implications for the war between the Galactic Alliance and the Corellian system. It takes place just a couple of days after the end of Bloodlines by Karen Traviss.

This book surpassed my expectations, which were very high to begin with since Troy Denning is one of my favorite Star Wars writers and he had set up the LotF series so well in the Dark Nest Trilogy. The plot revolves around the new (but no better) Corellian Sytem Prime Minister Dur Gejjin trying to bring the Hapans into the war on his side with the help of Han and Leia Solo. This plotline is interwoven very nicely with the ongoing plot regarding Jacen Solo and Ben Skywalker which continues to shock and amaze. Luke and Mara Skywalker are also involved in this plotline and in this book the pieces start to come together a bit more and they finally are forced into a frantic confrontation with the Dark Lady Lumiya. What made this book so good for me was that the action sequences were simply amazing, from begin to end they all felt compelling and full of Star Wars magic and they covered a great deal of locations and types of combat, from the Jedi Temple training vault on Coruscant to the marshy hunting retreat of a Hapan Noble family. The characters all felt spot on as usual with Troy Denning and I found that the overall GA/Corellia plotline continued to be both extremely plausible and thoroughly intriguing as it spread into the Hapan Cluster. I missed seeing Jedi Master Saba Sebatyne who only got a couple of mentions in the book but I certainly enjoyed the pair of Coruscant Detectives(a Bith and a Rodian) who tag along Luke and Mara Skywalker for a part story and I hope they might pop up again somewhere down the line.

I think that Tempest is the best book of Legacy of the Force so far and that is saying something based on how much I enjoyed both Betrayal and Bloodlines. It has great action, characterizations, plot and a number of shocking surprises thrown in along the way. I couldn't stop reading until I had finished it. The only downside is that it will be March 2007 untill book four; Exile by Aaron Allston is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Story Continues, 30 Nov 2006
By 
Iain P (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This is the third book of nine and it, in my opinion, is the best of this series to date. It takes some of the main characters from over the years and pitches them into new conflicts where parents are against their son, uncle against nephew and as usual light against dark. These main characters hold on to their quirks and new traits are developed as we see them struggle with the failings within their own family and their government. This book continues to developed Jacen's fall to the dark side and the inner turmoil he faces. It does well at highlighting how he has allowed himself to be deceived and how he continues to decieve himself as he moves towards becoming a full Sith Master. Will he be stopped and what cost will there be to our beloved heros from the original films. One Jedi master becomes one with the force and I am sure more will follow as this series of books continue to develop. The force sure is strong in this offering. However, as with some other recent novels there are some holes in the story where we have to presume what is happening and on occassion characters seem to arrive at statements or twists in story without the theme being fully developed with the reader. If the autheor had spent more time filling these gaps this would in my opinion be a 5 out of 5 book. As it is four is about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jedi fight club, 25 Oct 2013
Excellent read with intrigue and battles. Love the build-up and direction the gives the series

Keep books like this coming they add a wide view on the Star Wars galaxy whilst keeping you hoping for our favorite characters on their journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved every page Jacens journey through this series is riviting can't wait to read the next instalment. Simply excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable sequel..., 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
When I picked this book up at midnight last night, it was with the intention of reading for ten or twenty minutes before going to bed. Three hours later, I put the finished book down. From the prologue to the end, I found no point in the book where I didn't want to read "just the next few pages..."

As with the previous book, Bloodlines, I started reading with some trepidation that the third (and final) author in the series would not meet the quality that I had found in the first two. I'm happy to be able to say I needn't have worried. Denning is at least as good as the Aalston and Traviss, and once more I'm glad that I started reading this series.

There are a few differences between the three authors, Denning doesn't start a section with the location as the other two did, for example, and his style is a little different, but I think that the three authors write similarly enough to make the series seem consistent, and so far the stories meld together well.

Now, in previous reviews I've expressed dislike at prologues mid-series. To me a prologue is something that happens before the main story, and out of place in sequels. So when I found that this had a prologue, I expected to be annoyed by it. However, it isn't really a prologue as the story pretty much leads on directly, just as the epilogue is more of a final chapter than the "Some time Later" that I normally expect it to be.

And to be honest, that is the biggest thing I didn't like about this book. The words "prologue" and "epilogue". Which is nothing at all really. Perhaps I would have preferred a more definite conclusion to Lumiya's storyline, but I'm assuming that it was left vague on purpose. I guess I'll find out in book four.

It's rare that I read three consecutive books in a series that rate so highly. Each author has had a good start to the series, and I look forwards to reading the rest of them. Of the Extended Universe that I have read, only the Darth Bane books have surpassed these, and not by much. Even if they had been left unpublished from now on, I would highly recommend these first three of the Legacy of the Force series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its kicking off, 17 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
Really enjoyed all aspects of the story arc which is picking up pace only should be read as part of the legacy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth one read, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a Star Wars fan, so I like the series.

Now I have finished it, so does my charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check your credulity at the door, 15 April 2007
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
This third volume in the Legacy series is perhaps the easiest read thus far. Denning brings a light touch to composition, leading the reader from sentence to sentence, paragraph to paragraph, chapter to chapter. It's a wonderful experience to be carried along so effortlessly, caught up in a spell that for a short time obscures the world outside these pages.

If you can afford to stay in that zone, the book might work better for you than if you have to read it in sections over a period of a week or more, in which case the twisted plot and the large cast make rereading previous portions of the book a necessity in picking up the threads.

The series limps along without any additional information about what's causing this galaxy-wide conflict, so leave behind any such expectations, then get ready to swallow this: Han Solo, the newly minted Correllian nationalist, is sent along with Leia as emissary to convince the Hapes Consortium to remain neutral in Corellia's conflict with the Galactic Alliance. In reality, they've been sent as bait to lure Queen Tenel Ka into the open for an assassination attempt, part of a wider plot to install a pro-Corellian government on Hapes. Realizing they've been set-up, Han and Leia try to warn the Queen, only to be caught up in the shooting once the assassin strikes. Everyone thinks Han and Leia are part of the plan and so the two play along, teaming up with and helping the frustrated assassin escape so that they can uncover the plotters. From there it just gets sillier, as the Solos convince the assassin's handler that they are in fact part of a plot to kill the former Jedi and longtime friend of the family, and later when the shooting resumes to do nothing to save the Queen in order to protect their credentials as Corellian nationalists.

As if that weren't incredulous enough, there's the 80-year old assassin who gives Jacen a run for his money. The big, bad, dark-sider is saved from extinction by his 5-year old daughter (who tawks with an annoyingly steweotypical wisp). Luke and Mara's 13-year old son, Ben, who in the previous volume was for the very first time sensitively written, is reduced by Denning into a whiny, petulant teenager.

Then there's the problem of death, or more specifically how all the major and even minor characters avoid it. This book is packed with violent encounters of all kinds - Mara and Luke take on Lumiya; the assassin shoots it up with the Hapes Royal Guard before trading lightsaber blows with Jacen; Alema goes a round with Mara; Jaina and Zekk are pounded by two YVH battle droids and a dozen starfighters and later have to evacuate spacecraft twice; the Falcon, limping along without shields, is rocked by a massive turbolaser blast; and out of all this carnage, the only corpses in sight are a Jedi you likely won't remember from the Dark Nest trilogy and Leia's two Noghri bodyguards.

In the end, the pro-Corellian plot is put down, all the major and supporting characters have survived (a few with treatable wounds), Luke and Mara seem no wiser about Jacen's turn to the dark side (though they do finally assert their parental rights to take their son back to Coruscant), and about the only development of significance seems to be the beginning of a rivalry between Jacen and Lumiya. In other words, nothing much happens to advance the story.

Which is why Denning's writing saves this from being little more than an exercise in selling more product to Star Wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check your credulity at the door, 15 April 2007
This third volume in the Legacy series is perhaps the easiest read thus far. Denning brings a light touch to composition, leading the reader from sentence to sentence, paragraph to paragraph, chapter to chapter. It's a wonderful experience to be carried along so effortlessly, caught up in a spell that for a short time obscures the world outside these pages.

If you can afford to stay in that zone, the book might work better for you than if you have to read it in sections over a period of a week or more, in which case the twisted plot and the large cast make rereading previous portions of the book a necessity in picking up the threads.

The series limps along without any additional information about what's causing this galaxy-wide conflict, so leave behind any such expectations, then get ready to swallow this: Han Solo, the newly minted Correllian nationalist, is sent along with Leia as emissary to convince the Hapes Consortium to remain neutral in Corellia's conflict with the Galactic Alliance. In reality, they've been sent as bait to lure Queen Tenel Ka into the open for an assassination attempt, part of a wider plot to install a pro-Corellian government on Hapes. Realizing they've been set-up, Han and Leia try to warn the Queen, only to be caught up in the shooting once the assassin strikes. Everyone thinks Han and Leia are part of the plan and so the two play along, teaming up with and helping the frustrated assassin escape so that they can uncover the plotters. From there it just gets sillier, as the Solos convince the assassin's handler that they are in fact part of a plot to kill the former Jedi and longtime friend of the family, and later when the shooting resumes to do nothing to save the Queen in order to protect their credentials as Corellian nationalists.

As if that weren't incredulous enough, there's the 80-year old assassin who gives Jacen a run for his money. The big, bad, dark-sider is saved from extinction by his 5-year old daughter (who tawks with an annoyingly steweotypical wisp). Luke and Mara's 13-year old son, Ben, who in the previous volume was for the very first time sensitively written, is reduced by Denning into a whiny, petulant teenager.

Then there's the problem of death, or more specifically how all the major and even minor characters avoid it. This book is packed with violent encounters of all kinds - Mara and Luke take on Lumiya; the assassin shoots it up with the Hapes Royal Guard before trading lightsaber blows with Jacen; Alema goes a round with Mara; Jaina and Zekk are pounded by two YVH battle droids and a dozen starfighters and later have to evacuate spacecraft twice; the Falcon, limping along without shields, is rocked by a massive turbolaser blast; and out of all this carnage, the only corpses in sight are a Jedi you likely won't remember from the Dark Nest trilogy and Leia's two Noghri bodyguards.

In the end, the pro-Corellian plot is put down, all the major and supporting characters have survived (a few with treatable wounds), Luke and Mara seem no wiser about Jacen's turn to the dark side (though they do finally assert their parental rights to take their son back to Coruscant), and about the only development of significance seems to be the beginning of a rivalry between Jacen and Lumiya. In other words, nothing much happens to advance the story.

Which is why Denning's writing saves this from being little more than an exercise in selling more product to Star Wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good as always, 16 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest (Mass Market Paperback)
If it says star wars on the front cover it's a good book. I really enjoyed this one. you won't regret buying this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest
Star Wars: Legacy of the Force III - Tempest by Troy Denning (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Dec 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews