Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable.....as they say
What a fantastic read! Ben Mezrich is a such a skilled writer - okay, he was given a great story, but he made the main character, Semyon Dukach, totally sympathetic rather than arrogant and conceited as I thought he might be and the romantic sub-plot between him and Allie was intriguing. In fact, I would have liked the book to be longer and learned more about the casino...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by Ms. T. Quinn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bringing down the house, rehashed for more money.
If you have read Ben Mezrich's "21: Bringing Down the House", don't bother with this one - it's virtually exactly the same story line. It is as if the publishers had given him a big advance, he'd knocked this together in a couple of days after spending the money (probably in Vegas, using the "powerful techniques"), and they couldn't be bothered to make him rewrite it, or...
Published 16 months ago by Melack70


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable.....as they say, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Ms. T. Quinn "Little Book Worm" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Paperback)
What a fantastic read! Ben Mezrich is a such a skilled writer - okay, he was given a great story, but he made the main character, Semyon Dukach, totally sympathetic rather than arrogant and conceited as I thought he might be and the romantic sub-plot between him and Allie was intriguing. In fact, I would have liked the book to be longer and learned more about the casino trips that didn't end in trouble. Easy to read and fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You wont be disappointed!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this - it reminded me of the Wolf of Wall Street. The same drive to succeed and the accomplishment of so much from such a shaky beginning was compelling stuff. It centres around a group of students from MIT Boston who, led by one individual who hand picks his team, find a way to break the main casinos not just in the US but Europe also. It is based on a true story and I was full of admiration for people who can put what nature gave them in grey matter to finding a clever way to beat a system which is so loaded against the ordinary punter that I for one had no problem with my conscience knowing they were ripping off the big money guys. After all they have had it their own way forever so it was nice to see the little man give some kick ass for a change.
I know nothing about cards and a lot of the terminology went over my head but nonetheless it was written in such a way that anyone could follow it. The reality was gripping and I was really impressed with the tenacity of all involved. What a roller coaster of a life these people led. I actually bought the book by accident, clicking on Buy on my Kindle when I didn't mean to but Boy am I glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bringing down the house, rehashed for more money., 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Kindle Edition)
If you have read Ben Mezrich's "21: Bringing Down the House", don't bother with this one - it's virtually exactly the same story line. It is as if the publishers had given him a big advance, he'd knocked this together in a couple of days after spending the money (probably in Vegas, using the "powerful techniques"), and they couldn't be bothered to make him rewrite it, or get their money back.

The writing style would not be out of place in an english essay of a 14 year old, and feels as if somebody has just scattered cliched phrased throughout an already written manuscript, but not bothered to read the rest of the sentence to make sure it still works. At least once a chapter, you need to stop and re-read a couple of sentences, to double check it said what you thought it said!

Not to give the storyline away, but you know almost exactly what is going to happen inside 20 pages of the book, and you will be shouting at the "MIT geniuses" for being so stupid in their choices. You do not have to be a maths genius to see how fundamentally flawed their plans were; their betting patterns are a prime example. One would have thought that people with the brains described in the book would have figured it out for themselves.

Finally, as interesting as the "powerful techniques" are, they require no complex mathematics (as stated throughout the book), instead they are simple counting and card manipulation. They are nothing that you couldn't teach to a teenager without a Maths GCSE, so the stated need to the an "MIT geek" to carry it all off just doesn't wash.

My wife and I read it at the same time, and the main enjoyment came from mocking the writing style, and terrible decisions made by the supposed team of MIT geniuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 19 May 2008
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Paperback)
This was good fun to read and helped kill a lot of otherwise dull time on aeroplanes and in airport lounges. Very easy to read and the plot line keeps the reader interested enough to turn the next page even when your flight is being called. This isn't just a book for the hardened Vegas visitor and you don't need a genius IQ to understand what the MIT students are up to, all you really need is a macabre enjoyment of reading about the casinos being taken for a fortune - it worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great card-counting book, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Paperback)
This book takes it all to the next level from his last book on card-counting. If you don't know anything about the subject it's probably worth reading the original book first, then this one.

The techniques revealed here are stunningly simple, just using the casinos' techniques to full advantage and give the player the edge with the odds. But now they're taking so much money, so soon, and with complete certainty as they know what cards are coming, that they get to experience the real nasty side of casino life. These guys are lucky to be alive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mezrich at his best!, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Paperback)
First let me start by saying that Ben Mezrich is a great author. Aside from 'Breaking Vegas' i've also read 'Bringing Down The House' and 'Ugly Americans' and he's written them both fantastically as well.
'Breaking Vegas' is a true story about a young MIT student called Semyon Dukach. The book follows him and a group of fellow students as they proceed to win hundreds of thousands of dollars by playing blackjack in Casinos around the world and all they use is three simple techniques to give them the upper hand.
Mezrich, as always, has written the book with his usual flair and has produced something truely great. Whether you like blackjack or not, whether you like gambling or not, hell, whether you like books or not this is sure to keep you hooked until you've finished it!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly entertaining, maybe a little padded but still a very good read. Ben Mezrich really is a very talented writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Kindle Edition)
Great read, thoroughly enjoyed the character and setting details, would have enjoyed further details on how the group spent their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Paperback)
Writing this only cause its needed... a bit stupid isnt it? you could just rate... It's a far more objective metric
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Vegas (Kindle Edition)
I found this very easy to read. Fast paced and interesting. But I don't think I'll be busting out Vegas anytime soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Vegas
Breaking Vegas by Ben Mezrich (Paperback - 6 July 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews