Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adventure story you can't put down.
Not your typical Heyer, the romance is almost a sub-plot, an excuse to tell of the outrageous behaviour of Mad Nick, an Elizabethan pirate whose exploits have you on the edge of your seat. This is more exciting than any movie; your eyes will sparkle and your hands will grip the pages as you frantically try to keep up with the laughing pirate who leads you on the most...
Published on 6 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hero to beat them all
Not her usual sort of book. If you like your heroes extraordinarily heroic this is the one for you. Quite enjoyed.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adventure story you can't put down., 6 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
Not your typical Heyer, the romance is almost a sub-plot, an excuse to tell of the outrageous behaviour of Mad Nick, an Elizabethan pirate whose exploits have you on the edge of your seat. This is more exciting than any movie; your eyes will sparkle and your hands will grip the pages as you frantically try to keep up with the laughing pirate who leads you on the most daring trek through Spain. Heyer excells herself with a book that will appeal to many outside her usual audience: give this to your men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling romance, 27 Nov 2007
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
Great yarn - absolutely not in the usual Regency style but still very much worth your while.

Set in Elizabethan times, Sir Nicholas Beauvallet is on a par with Francis Drake and other famous Elizabethan sea faring adventurers. This is an exciting story, much of it set in Madrid at the height of the Spanish Inquisition. Younger son and heir Sir Nicholas and his ship capture a Spanish galleon and its treasure includes the beautiful Domenica di Rada Y Silva and her seriously ill father. Nicholas returns them to Spain at great personal danger but vows to return to woo the lady in style. Most of the story centres around his mad adventures in this attempt to keep his promise and you will not be dissappointed - it's action packed romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling adventure - Errol Flynn eat your heart out!!, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
Although I am a massive Heyer fan, this book takes a little while to get fully into. Beauvallet is certainly a character like no other, possibly because this book is Elizabethan, whilst her others tend to be Regency. There is a lot of adventure of the swashbuckling type in it, but the characters talk out loud to themselves, which is possibly something more in line with a play rather than a novel, so it may be that Heyer was trying to emulate Shakespeare in the writing of this book. Some of the dialogue is in keeping with the era "Oddstooth" and suchlike. Saying that, better to read a "bad" Heyer, as it still compares with the "best" of some other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 10 July 2012
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
I am a fan of all Georgette Heyer's regency novels, but this one is set in Elizabethan times. The historical detail is as accurate as the regency and the characters well written. Mad Nicholas is a heroic mariner to the English and a heretical pirate to the Spanish. However after falling in love with a Spaniard he journeys into Spain to win her hand. Dominica is one of the more spirited Heyer heroines. I have read this book many many times and it is still an exciting adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgette Heyer - Beauvallet, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
This is a replacement for an old book I have which I've read many times and the pages were a bit tattered to say the least! It's great that they have republished all the Georgette Heyer novels as I feel none of the more recent writers of Regency novels captures the era as well as she does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beauvallet, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
I have just added this book to my collection, but have not read it yet. If it is of Georgette Heyer's usual standard it will be a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, Fast delivery, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
I am very happy with the purchase that i made and I will definetelly recommend to my friend to purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hero to beat them all, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Kindle Edition)
Not her usual sort of book. If you like your heroes extraordinarily heroic this is the one for you. Quite enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 31 Dec 2013
By 
D. Jameson "the huntress" (cumbria uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Paperback)
bought this for my sister who has nearly read all her books and also collected nearly all.. she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Heyer, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauvallet (Kindle Edition)
No-one does Regency like Georgette Heyer. It is gripping from the start. Characters are totally believable. A good insight into the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauvallet
Beauvallet by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 5 Jan 2006)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews