Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think
I was keen to read this sequel as I was hooked on Song of the Seraph, the first story. It was as good as the first and now I await the next with great anticipation. It is a good complex story and gives food for thought about religeous beliefs. On one hand,even if you don't believe in God it is a good story. If you do believe, it helps to reinforce or challenge that...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by P. Winton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but the sparkle h as gone......
Just not the same depth of characters or intriguing plots any more. Quit e sad as Anne Rice is superb do not judge her on these newer,less gripping, novels.
Published 6 months ago by Mr J M Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 5 Feb 2011
By 
P. Winton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was keen to read this sequel as I was hooked on Song of the Seraph, the first story. It was as good as the first and now I await the next with great anticipation. It is a good complex story and gives food for thought about religeous beliefs. On one hand,even if you don't believe in God it is a good story. If you do believe, it helps to reinforce or challenge that belief. It is extremely well written and gives you backgrounds to the characters as well as the sights and smells of the places you are taken too, whilst not loosing sight of the storyline. You become engrossed from the first page and when it's finished you want more. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly light and short, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second volume of a series that might be long. It is a short turning point novel because here the main hero Toby O'Dare starts with re-finding his family, his abandoned girl friend and his son.

Then he goes on a mission in Rome to save a Jewish doctor and his patient from the claws of the brother of this patient.

We discover the deep mistreatment of Jews in Italy under Girolamo Savonarola in Florence particularly but also in Rome at the beginning of the 16th century.

The story is simple. It reveals the anti-Jewish practices of the Catholics at the time. But that's not after all the main spring of this novel. It is a turning point because at the end he cleans up his past as a hit man but he is followed by a young man who has a very personal and direct question to ask him. And that is his dilemma because he has just confessed and promised never to be a hit man at all or even kill anyone under any circumstances and here is a the son of one victim.

The novel then is waiting for the next volume, and this one being kind of small, maybe an extension would have been a good thing. We'll have to wait. But the novel is also a turning point because the last part seems to be a development that was not planned at the beginning, or there is a mistake in the writing. When Toby writes, and we assume he is the writer because he tells us so and the novel is in the first person: "Instead I typed a brief and concise account of all that had happened to me since my last "report." "I wrote down not only the story of my adventure in Rome, but also the story of my meeting with Liona and Toby, and what had taken place." (p.158)

We wonder then who wrote what we have just read. This is a shift of narrator that is surprising because Anne Rice is known for very smooth and clean narrating lines.

Yet the ending had been prepared by the apparition of a representative of hell and his attempted temptation, so that shift in narrators should not have taken place, and in fact there is only one narrator. So are there two narrations? The one we have read and another typed and stored away that we will never see? There are in the novel several themes that are common with Anne Rice but they are underdeveloped in this book that is definitely too short. It deserved a lot more than just 160 pages.

It is very fine and dandy to help a Jew survive a difficult situation and to bury one who had been forgotten in a cellar, but the novel does not make us enter their poetry since they are writing poetry, nor their philosophies or other intellectual works since that's what they are, intellectuals. We save a Jew, but any Jew would have been OK.

In other words we have the bones of the skeleton in the forgotten cellar but there is no flesh on these bones and the clothing got rotten a long time ago. Then the final come back of his past is funny but it is a deus ex machina. It is surprising because we are dealing with a world that Anne Rice has studied in great detail, and used quite often, and yet we only get a cameo, a vignette, a post office stamp, a miniature instead of a grandiose and powerful picture.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if you got given a second chance?, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
Anne Rice gently moves the reader from her usually supernatural prose into the domain of Questions about Life. She does this in the most fascinating and enthralling way. It keeps you hooked until the very end, while at the same time, should the reader make that choice shows you that there is a second chance for all of us out there. Excellent blend of fascinating fiction with a message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but the sparkle h as gone......, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
Just not the same depth of characters or intriguing plots any more. Quit e sad as Anne Rice is superb do not judge her on these newer,less gripping, novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Love and Evil, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting the usual originality which is the trade mark of Anne Rice books, but she decided to go along with a very easy story plot., In which you figure out what the characters are going to do straight a\way. Even you 'know' who the 'troubled ghost' is from the very beginning of the book. The 4 starts review that other readers gave to the book is underserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great new series from Anne, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
Having read Angel Time and enjoyed it, purchasing Of Love and Evil was the obvious next step. Another short and sweet chapter in Toby's life, we see his relationship with his ex rekindle and that with his son begin to bloom. His second mission is as short and simple as the first but never-the-less a good read. I would say that again this is Anne Rice simmered down a bit but still very enjoyable,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For fans, 9 April 2013
By 
M. Woischneck (Köln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.. of Anne and her beautifully written tales of the mysterios and other-worldly realms
I liked cause i like her writing in genereal, although not as good as the Vamoire Chronicles, a good read anyhow .)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy book to read, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
I love Ann Rice, although the book is not as good as the vampire chronichles I love the way she writes and loves her characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Rice always brilliant, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Kindle Edition)
I have all her books but this is the first one on Kindle. Havent finished it yet but will order more in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Rice, on the top!, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Zandain (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Love and Evil (Paperback)
Anne Rice can make you laugh, make you cry or scare the living daylights out of you!
You make the choice, for yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Love and Evil
Of Love and Evil by Anne Rice (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews