Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most beautiful book in the world
I love this book. I'm awed by the love in it and the strange description and the dialogue caught so faithfully. It's set in Birmingham among factory workers in the late 1920s. This is a passage from it:

'Then, one morning in iron foundry, Arthur Jones began singing. He did not often sing. When he began the men looked up from work and at each other and stayed...
Published on 5 Feb. 2008 by Brummie reader

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy
the Kindle edition of this book, unless you like guessing where the full stops should be. The text hasn't been scanned properly and really shouldn't be on sale in this form.
Published on 30 Aug. 2011 by enthymeme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most beautiful book in the world, 5 Feb. 2008
I love this book. I'm awed by the love in it and the strange description and the dialogue caught so faithfully. It's set in Birmingham among factory workers in the late 1920s. This is a passage from it:

'Then, one morning in iron foundry, Arthur Jones began singing. He did not often sing. When he began the men looked up from work and at each other and stayed quiet. In machine shop, which was next iron foundry, they said it was Arthur singing and stayed quiet also. He sang all morning.

He was Welsh and he sang in Welsh. His voice had a great soft yell in it. It rose and fell and then rose again and, when the crane was quiet for a moment, then his voice came out from behind noise of crane in passionate singing. Soon each one in this factory heard that Arthur had begun and, if he had 2 moments, came by iron foundry shop to listen. So all through that morning, as he went on, was a little group of men standing by door in the machine shop, always different men. His singing made them all sad. Everything in iron foundries is black with burnt sand and here was his silver voice yelling like bells. The black grimed men bent over their black boxes....

Everyone looked forward to Arthur's singing, each one was glad when he sang, only, this morning, Jim Dale had bitterness inside him like girders and when Arthur began singing his music was like acid to that man and it was like that girder was being melted and bitterness and anger decrystallised, up rising in him till he was full and would have broken out - when he put on his coat and walked off and went into town and drank....

Still Arthur sang and it might be months before he sang again. And no one else sang that day, but all listened to his singing. That night son had been born to him.'

Weird but beautiful I think and I could quote passage after passage. I can't understand why everyone doesn't feel the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top read, 25 May 2012
By 
Christopher H (Keilor, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loving, Living, Party Going (Paperback)
"Living" is a rare treat. The prose style is set in a Midlands accent throughout, using not just a distinctive vocabulary but the clipped rhythms, dropped articles, and regional phrasing patterns.

The result is like reading a text set down in dialect, or, in a strange way, Chaucer in the original. The experience is closer to absorbing the spoken word, to hearing talking rather than to reading writing, to the nature of 'parole' (direct speech) rather than 'ecriture' (written prose).

Should this be counted as experimental modernism? Maybe not. Whatever, the novel stresses voice in a manner not often encountered in English literature (Sam Selvon's The Lonely Londoners might be a point of comparison).

Do read it; do savour it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will challenge your views of literature...., 13 Oct. 2000
By 
Until last year I'd never heard of him, but apparently Green was considered the best of his generation: his writing is - if you persevere - approachable but never easy, his insight is unique and revealing but never predictable...; he's Hardy without the Definite Article. Try him (...a small price to change your view of literature forever), and I'd be interested in your views: anyone for a Green revival?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and insightful, 18 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Loving, Living, Party Going (Paperback)
I'm also new to Henry Green, but loved this book. It manages to be moving without ever being mawkish, and real without ever letting you forget the quality of the prose.

Just gorgeous to curl up with on rainy Summer evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Books - Irritating Intro, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving, Living, Party Going (Paperback)
I understand many of the reviewers who found Henry Green difficult but thought Sebastian Faulks was a bit sweeping in his introduction that 'Party Going, though it has proved a most fertile ground for critics and theorists of narrative, is the one that is most likely to be problematic to the non-academic reader' as if an 'ordinary' reader hasn't the application or intelligence to get through these three volumes. I'm sure he didn't mean it to sound like that.

Yes - they are hard work on one level, but that's only because they break modern conventions of novel writing much as Wilf Self has done in Umbrella. However, once you fall into the rhythm of Green's lyrical dialogue it is no more difficult to read than a play and when he breaks from dialogue to describe a rare piece of location the images - for example, the conversations shouted over the sound of the relentlessly crashing surf in Loving - live on long after you have finished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, 30 Aug. 2011
the Kindle edition of this book, unless you like guessing where the full stops should be. The text hasn't been scanned properly and really shouldn't be on sale in this form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality edition, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loving, Living, Party Going (Paperback)
My comments and rating are not on the content of the book but on the edition.

The Vintage paperback edition is very poor quality - it is printed on cheap, thin paper and the text has been printed at an angle on the page so that the lines are on a slope up from left to right.

This is the second Vintage Classics paperback I have bought recently and the other was also a shoddy edition. I shall try to avoid the imprint in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book which I have read in hardback is excellent but the transmission to Kindle is very poor, typos on most pages., 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henry Green is a wonderful writer but this work was spoiled by printing errors on almost every page.
The work depends on delicate nuances of meaning inaccurate text destroys those
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loving, Living, Party Going
Loving, Living, Party Going by Henry Green (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2005)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews