Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sisters, and the dynamics that bind them, and set them apart
Brilliant book by one of our finest writers. The characters come alive so effectively because we are left just enough room to imagine what we're not told.
Published 10 months ago by Ms. K. Bromwich-alexandra

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How terrible to have to be polite to one's sister!
Deborah Moggach nearly always produces a strong, plot driven story as well as depth of character, so I always enjoy reading her work. Here the focus is on two sisters - one, Claire, a fledgling teacher, the other, Laura, going to university for the first time.

Laura has a mind of her own and feels she has to plough her own furrow, but she ends up in quite a...
Published on 19 Nov. 2011 by Eileen Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How terrible to have to be polite to one's sister!, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Must Be Sisters (Paperback)
Deborah Moggach nearly always produces a strong, plot driven story as well as depth of character, so I always enjoy reading her work. Here the focus is on two sisters - one, Claire, a fledgling teacher, the other, Laura, going to university for the first time.

Laura has a mind of her own and feels she has to plough her own furrow, but she ends up in quite a lot of trouble because she is determined to defy conventions. Claire is the sensible one and gets what she feels she deserves - love and marriage in the suburbs. In a sense this is about whether one fits easily into the snaky pathways one is given to traverse, or whether one rebels against them. The message is delivered loud and clear that it's best to tread the well-beaten paths of the herd than to take the road less travelled. It's not something everyone could subscribe to, this follow the herd mentality, and I feel the rebellious Laura is given the short end of the stick - though as the novel ends there are intimations that Laura is only temporarily lost to the fallacy of good intentions. Nice and neat, this one, with fewer of the rough edges and darker themes that Moggach has produced in the past. This is a minor moral tale that leaves a slight feeling of dissatisfaction. I expect more depth, more equanimity, more complexity, from this very good writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyably easy read & insight into sistersrelationships, 28 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: You Must be Sisters (Paperback)
I read this as afirst effort into getting back into taking time out to read and relax and as such it was enjoyable in a superficial sort of way. The characters were caricatures rather than real & muddled. It was easy to predict their next move.I did like Mac & his attitude to life, & the fathers unexpected attitude to him. There!!! The characters are not entirely predictable. A light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. Elizabeth Lowson "Elizabeth" (Lumphanan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Must Be Sisters (Paperback)
This book did not inspire me at all. I read to page 80 and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sisters, and the dynamics that bind them, and set them apart, 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book by one of our finest writers. The characters come alive so effectively because we are left just enough room to imagine what we're not told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read couldn't put it down took it on holiday and had to remember to enjoy it not just read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
This review is from: You Must Be Sisters (Paperback)
Fantastic author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Must Be Sisters
You Must Be Sisters by Deborah Moggach (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews