Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't think I'll get married again. I'll just find a woman I don't like and give her a house." Lewis Grizzard
Funny, smart and without much sign of a moral dimension, this book involves Buffy Russell, a "loveable" actor with a very complicated past. He's been married three times, and has a total of five children, one to his first wife, Pepsi, and three to Jaquetta his second wife. His third wife, Penny, avoided having children, but then there was the fling Buffy had with the...
Published 18 months ago by Eileen Shaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The EX-Wives
Very complicated as thec chapters skip around a bit. Didn't find it very interesting but continue to read it to
the end.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. Susan Winter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't think I'll get married again. I'll just find a woman I don't like and give her a house." Lewis Grizzard, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Paperback)
Funny, smart and without much sign of a moral dimension, this book involves Buffy Russell, a "loveable" actor with a very complicated past. He's been married three times, and has a total of five children, one to his first wife, Pepsi, and three to Jaquetta his second wife. His third wife, Penny, avoided having children, but then there was the fling Buffy had with the beautiful Carmella, and the ensuing daughter. There is also a metaphorical trip-wire waiting involving Buffy's new-found girlfriend, the breathtakingly beautiful Celeste.

Moggach's style in this book is a mixture of the insouciant and the throw-away and the tone of the book wavers sometimes as she reaches for a clever metaphor or simile. On the whole, though, this is a very funny book, light enough to be read without pause, yet concerning several family problems, most of which concern sins of omission. If only Buffy had known about Lorna's secret, or if he'd managed to catch Nyange at the stage door.

I gathered that I was supposed to think Buffy quite charming, with his treacle-dipped voice and haphazard home hygiene, but I declined to be a Buffy-fancier. Men who walk around with egg on their dressing-gowns have never appealed. The trouble with this flash-bang-wallop writing style is that you'll have trouble trying to morph into another style when you want to make a serious point. Moggach largely avoids this problem by not making any serious points, which somewhat cheapens the whole endeavour. But there is no doubt that this is an enjoyable read, even given an excess of characters, all of whom are plausible and some of whom are positively tempting. Though I don't think I'll queue up to buy the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Ralph Blumenau (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Paperback)
The book begins with a sympathetic but hilarious account of 61 year old Russell Buffery, once a well-known stage and radio actor but now wanted only for radio commercials and language tapes, a man who has lived with many women, three of whom he had married. He is now out of touch with the world of the early 1990s, lonely and a heavy drinker because his third wife Penny has just left him for a younger man. His flat is in a grotty mess. He has gone to seed physically and suffers from various bodily indignities for which he regularly visits his pharmacy; and there he meets Celeste, in her early twenties, with whom he instantly falls in love. She plays along with him, but in fact - for no reason that is explained until the end - she is determined to find out all about his previous wives, and she manages to meet them all, their numerous offsprings, and a former flame as well. It is at first quite hard to grasp who everybody is: they are introduced in no particular order; two of the wives have married again (in addition to which, one of them had also been married before she married Buffy) and Buffy has seven children or step-children, the youngest now teenagers, the eldest forty. There are chapters about a woman called Lorna whose connection with his life is quite unclear until more than half way through the book. Then it breaks off to tell us about a couple called Miles and Brenda - how do they fit in?

So don't worry too much about constructing a family tree - just enjoy the witty descriptions of all the characters and their thoughts, of London streets, and of the comic and/or zany incidents in the story - not least the unguessable dénouement at the end. It seems to be a rather untidily plotted novel, but it turns out to be quite craftily constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you smile, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Kindle Edition)
You can move on in life, but you can never truly leave the past behind you. An interesting, amusing look at the family ties that bind
the members of this extended family together. Beautifully written with strong characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, poignant, humorous and enthralling, 13 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ex-wives (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully crafted story. Moggach, renowned for her gruesome murder mysteries shows a far lighter side in this delightful story of a girl falling in love with a much older man, and becoming intrigued by and caught up with the characters in his past. Russell Buffery is a well known actor and radio star who has been married not once but several times, and we see him initially on the verge of the end of another marriage. However the emphasis is on the humourous, human, slightly squalid state of his life as he ends his middle years. Chapter by chapter we are shown the lives of his "other women" and children, the reader becoming, as the young woman, acquainted with a series of delightfully funny and poignant families and relationships. I loved this book, and now I don't know what to read next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read, as ever from Ms Moggach. Her characters are so believable, with human weaknesses and failings. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Kindle Edition)
Deborah Moggach is brilliant. You never let me down. Please write a follow-up I want to read more about Buffy. Thank you for such an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy, 27 April 2014
By 
R. Girdwood "castorsprite" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Paperback)
Great to read about Buffy again, I started with the second book but bought this on the rebound from that.

Enjoyable and very funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Kindle Edition)
easy read on a cold winters day etc I love her writing style cant wait for a further book on The best exotic Marigold Hotel, genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Kindle Edition)
Well, we've all made mistakes! Here is a very amusing - if complicated - 'family saga' which I found full of evocative description of London towards the end of the 20th Century - pre mobile phones and Internet bondage.
Characters I swear I have met... Situations uncannily familiar... Some 'laugh out loud' bits...
Yes... Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ex-Wives, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ex-Wives (Paperback)
Very Funny as with Heartbreak Hotel. The previous life of main character Buffy unravels with a new love interest in toe with a twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ex-Wives
The Ex-Wives by Deborah Moggach (Paperback - 1 Jun 2006)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews