Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book about the American space pioneers
This is primarily the story of Project Mercury and its seven astronauts who became media celebrities during the golden age of space travel, when NASA had an almost unlimited budget to catch and then beat the Soviets in the Space Race.
As if this is not enough, the book touches on Chuck Yeager's exploits in the X-1 when breaking the sound barrier in October 1947 and...
Published on 2 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hokey
Never mind the quality, just feel the testosterone. I'm kind of fascinated by the whole, mad race for the stars in the fifties and sixties. The down home, hokey tone of this didn't really do it for me though. Chuck Yeager might have spoken like that, but it drags after 300 pages
Published on 13 Mar. 2013 by Frootle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 'Read at a sitting', 4 April 2014
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
This is the only book I can remember ever having read from start to finish in the proverbial single sitting, albeit that I was on an eight hour flight at the time. I think I would have done anyway, as the subject is both riveting and rivetingly told. I suppose Tom's style is a little overwrought but it seems to work here, does for me anyway as this is one of those dozen or so books that I have constantly by and will for as long as I have the eyesight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dawn of the Space Age., 18 April 2013
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
"The Right Stuff" brings the dawn of the space age to the broadest of audiences. Written in a sharp, entertaining style, Wolfe combines the science and the drama of the Mercury program to create a book that you won't want to put down. This book has the right stuff in all respects. Highly recommended.

Owen Zupp
Author: '50 Tales of Flight'
50 Tales of Flight: From Biplanes to Boeings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sign of Forgotten Times, 27 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
A vivid account of America and its glorious astronaut days - the age of innocence. America, a lively, confident, fresh and secure nation back then, did the impossible and got the astronauts with down home names such as Al, John, Gus and Gordo into space. A nostalgic and entertaining read that I can recommend to everyone. These days one wonders, do present day Yanks still have the right stuff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This account of a unique era of aviation history is rivetting reading. It gives a great insight into the psyche, behaviour and motivation of those few men, whose experiences would not be possible in the 21st century. The proximity of death as a possibility, and the acceptance of alcohol as a shield, reveal lessons that are most safely learned from a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourites, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Al Ussher (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
The Right Stuff is one of my all time favourite books. In my opinion, you won't find a better written account of the space race. It is thorough, very funny, and refreshingly cynical with regards to the jingoism that often accompanies the space race. A great present if you are stuck trying to find something for a birthday/fathers day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, SECOND READ AFTER IT WAS FIRST PUBLISHED IN ..., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
FANTASTIC, SECOND READ AFTER IT WAS FIRST PUBLISHED IN THE 70's and IT WAS EVEN BETTER READING IT NOW. DEFINATELY MOST A FIVE STAR READ.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
Great writing from a writer who immerses himself into the subject matter involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 29 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Paperback)
I just re-read this book, having recommended it to a friend, and was once again swept up in its remarkable story. Wolfe takes you back to the start of the space race, and shows how the first American astronauts were perceived as single combat heroes of the Cold War. The tale is told in a unique style, somewhere between novel and non-fiction, and Wolfe's distinctive phrases continue to rattle around in my head some twenty years after I first read the book. So-and-so "screwed the pooch", for example, or "it can blow at any seam", or "His Majesty the Baby of thirty years ago". Momeorable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Right Stuff (Hardcover)
My childhood was made of dreams like these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read. Real modern classic, 15 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. G. Lang "Dave78" (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved it. Good read from 13 to 113 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Right Stuff
The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe (Paperback - 17 Oct. 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews