Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and witty, Aaronovitch takes on the conspiracy-delusion peddlers and is (mostly) on target
You can be reasonably confident in advance that a book will be worth reading if it has conspiracy theorists in rant-mode and foaming with indignation: a raw nerve has obviously been poked. Such a book is David Aaronovitch's `Voodoo Histories' which exposes the delusional ideological framework at the heart of conspiracy-theorist psychology.

This US version of...
Published on 23 Oct. 2011 by The Guardian

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a moderate recommendation
There is some interesting stuff here, but I do have reservations. It is hard to see what links Norman Baker's theory about the death of poor Dr Kelly with the Stalinist show trials of the 1930s - indeed, as others have said, it is hard to see the latter as in any way conspiracy theories of the kind we normally hear about. I'm sceptical about conspiracy theories simply...
Published on 25 May 2011 by Stephen


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The type of thinking that you can get from any mainstream media outlet., 4 Oct. 2014
By 
amy (bahrain, Bahrain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
Fails to deal with some of the biggest issues of the so called 'conspiracies' whilst washing over other facts as if they are somehow inconsequential. Interesting to read the thoughts of an intellectual who hasn't taken even a cursory look behind the curtain. War is peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but should have been great., 16 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
Aaronovitch himself admits that he had to pull all the ideas together from a great confused mass. This is an important subject but the book is too confused and at times over-complicated. Basic thrust of the book is that history science etc... is difficult and often leads to unexciting conclusions CF Dawkins The God Delusion. Consequently, many prefer to believe in conspiracy theories as a short cut to understanding the World. Result = rise of NAZIs, psuedo-science and mumbo jumbo about free masons building pyramids with help from space men, not landing on the moon, 9/11 being a fake/CIA/Mossad/etc etc plot. You get the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well argued and thoughtful, 25 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
This book is an excellent antidote to the drivel espoused by conspiracy theorists who despite the lack of evidence for their arguments continue to think they've found some dark plot, a plot so devious it undermines our very way of life, etc, etc. Aaronavitch's book is a very well argued, cogent and clear dissembling of the nonesense which is created by the conspiracy theorists out of conjecture, misunderstanding, lack of knowledge and at times vapour. For such people belief is enough even if their beliefs are cretinous and offensive.

I can recommend this book to anyone who likes to work things out, can be rational, and enjoys well written analysis. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is astonishing! Does this guy possess any sense ..., 28 Aug. 2014
This is astonishing! Does this guy possess any sense of irony? He doesn't believe in conspiracy theories but he believes people are conspiring to his book? He then conspires with people he knows to bump up the book. The stupidity here is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Voodoo Venacular, 25 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
A perhaps inevitable backlash against the claimed explosion of so called 'conspiracy theories', which employs plenty of the same flawed logic and selective inclusions/exclusions that the book aims to debunk. Don't expect any psychological, philosophical or political insights in to the nature of belief, gullibility, or the idiosyncrasies of the reporting of history and facts. Nor is there a proper consideration of how mass perceptions are formed, often through controlled events such as 'false flag' events. A clear bias is prevalent in both the approach to the topic and the subtle rejection of all things smelling vaguely anti-Jewish. Objectivity is lacking. Much of the critical evidence is in many cases omitted or not addressed. The choice of topics to cover is highly selected and not always clear. While it is clear that the Protocols of the Elders of Zion and McCarthyism had some role in the shape of 'modern history', it is unclear how the same was true for the deaths of David Kelly, Hilda Murrell or even Diana Windsor (all 'business as usual' types of events by the State and Monarchy if we look back over UK history). The web comes in for some heavy handed criticism, without any consideration of the positive impact of access to huge volumes of information, primary materials and interaction - 'the wisdom of crowds'. Like a good web 'conspiracy theory': full of bias, selectivity and contradictions. The book clearly establishes the reality of historical 'conspiracy', but dismisses any possibility that such things could possibly be going on today. Really? Disappointing unless you are stuck in an airport for 5 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thou doth protest too much, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Blitzkrieg Bopper (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
One thing you'll never get around is the fact that people *want* to believe in conspiracies, to justify their own bias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truth Seekers unite., 31 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
David Aaronovitch is one of those smug, self opinionated wind bags that quite often appears on the BBC as he is regarded as a safe pair of hands and part of the establishment. Consequently he does not have an open mind and is therefore totally unqualified to pass judgement on those people who like to question the official version of events.
With his ongoing support for Israeli domination of the middle east (and some would say the domination of the USA and the world) it was no surprise that the first conspiracy he would focus on was the Protocols of the Elders of Zion. In his book he states "The Palestinians are few in number and the nature of their grievance against some Jews is well understood". In that short sentence he dismisses the savagery of the Israeli regime since 1948.
His second conspiracy of a 1930's Russian show-trial has no relevance today and hardly anyone would have heard of it so it's inclusion was a complete waste of time.
The usual conspiracies are then covered with obvious attention to 9/11. He spends most of his time trying to debunk one book by David Ray Griffin "The New Pearl Harbor". There have been many other books querying the official account of 9/11 and many scientists, architects, structural engineers and professional observers have many unanswered questions. Aaronovitch gives the reader little reason to believe his support of the official line as he doesn't answer those questions.
As a supporter of the west's invasion of Iraq, Afghanistan and Libya and the subsequent death of millions of innocent civilians Aaronovitch certainly shows no sign of having any regrets.
His conclusion suggests that people need to believe in conspiracy theories because "our lives (and especially our deaths) are of little real significance".
This conclusion is probably why there is no mention anywhere in his book of the most famous conspiracy theorist for the last 20 years David Icke whose spirituality and belief in an infinite after-life as we are all one with the universe does not square with Aaronovitch's conclusion.
Unfortunately for the author and those other closed minded establishment figures it is most likely that after people have read his book it will reinforce their belief that there is a "global elite" with their apologists and puppet politicians who are manipulating events to bring about total control of the masses in a New World Order. Instead of branding them with the pejorative label "conspiracy theorists" these open minded people who reject the Orwellian system should be called "truth seekers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy is all there has ever been., 2 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
My own conspiracy to obtain positive votes is probably not working......although I have accrued one more endorsement recently bringing my score to 2 out of 21. I'm encouraged actually because my review has obviously got into the brain boxes of at least 21 unrealistic people and even now is wreaking havoc amongst their belief systems at an unconscious level. Words are alive and have an intent of their own you know!

The bulk of my original review follows, but please do check UPDATES as I try to add more serious conspiracies as I spot them.

In Voodoo Histories, Arronovitch implies that conspiracy theorizing is the pastime of inferior people. I would like to point out to him and the reader that, ever since we, as a species, evolved to think for ourselves, conspiracy to defraud is all there has ever been. You can be absolutely certain that 'the powers that be' and 'vested interest' are conspiring against 'we the people' at this very moment when you are reading this.

Politicians routinely conspire against us. You only have to think of the expenses scandal. Our membership of the EU involves a massive conspiracy. Prime minister Ted Heath committed treason in 1972 when he took us into the Common Market knowing that it was more than a trading agreement. Our own Queen stood by and watched as successive traitorous prime ministers overrode the now automatic Royal Assent and signed 6 EU Treaties effectively signing away the sovereignty and independence of this country to unelected and unaccountable bureaucrats in Brussels. This conspiracy has resulted in the loss of our country to an elite group of people with a globalist agenda. The conspiracy and deception against the interests of the British people has been so mind bogglingly enormous that we should give thanks for those conspiracy theorists that do the in-depth research to expose it. If justice were done, it would be an 'off with their heads' moment.

Political parties are lobbied and funded by the commercial banks, the multinationals and the wealthy. For 'fund' read bribe. The loyalties of politicians have been bought and the latter continuously conspire to keep in place an economic system that is designed to siphon wealth from the poor to the rich. If you doubt this, just purchase the wonderful DVD 'Four Horsemen' right here from amazon.

Arronovitch debunks the conspiracy theorizing around the American twin towers attack of 9/11. But you don't have to be a conspiracy theorist to suspect that the twin towers was an inside job. Just do a few minutes rational independant thinking. Each tower was hit by a jet liner above the seventieth floor. The jet fuel was consumed within seconds leaving fires burning. After around 50 minutes, both towers collapsed at free fall speed down into their own foot print. Both towers had a huge multiple steel column vertical core designed to resist two simultaneous jet liner attacks. The buildings below the impacts would not have been heated sufficiently to melt steel columns. Yet the buildings collapsed straight downwards against the resistance of the lower intact structure. Archetects, engineers and demolition experts, together with people capable of rational thought, realise that this type of collapse would have been impossible. Check out some well made documentaries on Youtube by searching '9/11 inside job'. A good case is presented that government agencies were aware of the coming attack and assisted the collapse of the twin towers and building 7 with explosive charges. Certainly the free fall collapse of Building 7 shows clearly that that particular building was deliberately `pulled'. Also the conclusions of Dr Judy Wood in the Youtube videos: `Where did the Towers Go' are worth investigating before rejecting the idea of a government conspiracy. My conclusion is that the American government wanted to use terrorism as an excuse to invade uncooperative and independant Middle Eastern countries with a view to seize assets and make money. Also, the protection of the main Middle Eastern rogue terrorist state, Zionist Israel, was high on the American and British hidden agenda.

Truth with a capital T is always a coin with two sides. Arronovitch has presented one side of the truth about conspiracy theories. My review gives you, the reader, a glimpse of the other side of the coin of Truth. In the interests of 'balance', I would urge you to concider both sides of conspiracy theory and make up your own mind. Be aware that the human mind hates one thing above all else and that is 'The Truth'.

UPDATE: Some conspiracy theories may be incorrect, but Arronovitch is wrong to debunk conspiracy theorizing in general. Being a conspiracy theorist myself, I would contend that there is a secret that western governments, of whatever colour, conspire night and day to keep from the general public. The big secret that politicians will always conspire to keep hidden is that there IS an alternative to `austerity', there is a magic money tree. People need not be so strapped for cash that they cannot pay their mortgages and have to choose between eating or heating during the winter months. Three simple monetary reforms would liberate us all from the boom/bust cycle and IMF/banker imposed Austerity:

1. Ban all government borrowing. Government does not need to borrow one single penny from private banks. Government can itself create money through, either the treasury or through the Bank of England for all infra structure projects. This would be new money that bore no interest and did not need to be repaid at all. There need be no 'deficit' requiring Austerity to squeeze out from the poor and middle classes the repayment to private banks. If inflation became a problem, taxes could be raized a little to extract some money from circulation. Think of the tax break we could all enjoy if government acted, for once, in the public interest. Think about it. If the BOE can create out of thin air 375 billion quid Quantitative Easing to GIVE to the private banks, why can't it as easily create that money in the public interest for issue directly into the economy or to fund Vince Cable's Business Bank? Answer: there is a conspiracy to defraud you and me in favour of banksters. Also, the Maastricht Treaty forbids the issue of money directly into the economy. According to the Treaty, all new money must be issued as interest bearing loans through private banks. If ever there was a reason to leave the EU, this is it! But who knows it? No-one, because we are not allowed to know.

2. Ban Fractional Reserve Lending. Take away from banksters their ability to control the quantity of money in circulation when they make loans at interest. Simples! No more creating money out of thin air for profit. No more usury. No more boom/bust cycles. Banks can no longer lend out money they do not have. People are given to believe that the bank already has the money to lend them before they enter the door of the bank to take out a mortgage or a loan. They don't! Banning FRL will mean that Banks can only lend out depositors money and not digital money that has been counterfeited into extistence out of thin air by the loan agreement......which is not a contract.

3. Create a Public or People's Bank in every county on the model of the Bank of North Dakota USA which has been untouched by the credit crunch. (See Amazon, Ellen Brown's Books, President of the Public Bank Institute USA). Public Banks differ from private banks in that all profits of a Public Bank are recycled back into the local economy as opposed to being skimmed off for use elsewhere in massive fraud as occurs in the City of London. Perhaps you don't think Banks in the City of London conspire to commit fraud? Consider this: If you steal a flat screen TV from Debs in a riot, you will certainly go to jail. But if you rip off the entire world by rigging the Libor Rate or engage in market price fixing before front running stock market bets or miss-selling PPI insurance, you will not be doing porridge. I see a huge conspiracy in all this. If you don't, then I would suggest that you do a little bit of research and thinking.....if your mental faculties are up to the task.

I would also suggest that our utterly corrupt politicians would literally need to be dragged kicking and screaming by the hair before they would even discuss the monetary reforms necessary to liberate us and future generations from debt slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of SH[T, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History (Paperback)
I felt as if the author was insulting my intelligence. He assumes that he is correct & that he has checked out every detail. Yeah sure, if I only investigate through "official" channels, I will present an "official" answer. He says Princess Diana's death was an accident. The author is not stupid, but what would you expect from a mainstream tabloid journalist. He hasn't got the balls to tell the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History
Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History by David Aaronovitch (Paperback - 6 May 2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews