Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2014
I love Rwanda but didn't discover it until many years after the genocide. You can sympathise so much with Dallaire's endless frustration and be incredibly angry with the pathetic performance of the first world nations who either let it happen, or (in the case of the French) colluded with the extremists doing most of the killing. Mostly of course, while reading this book, your heart goes out to the Rwandan victims whose only crime was their tribal background. The book I am currently writing has a strong Rwandan element to it and this work has helped inspire me. I hope that Roger can finally find peace from the mental torture that he must must have suffered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2006
Dallaire accepted a mission to Rawanda and entered hell, though at the time he did not know this. The book is a roler coaster of emotions as Dallaire and his UN heroes are constantly let down, exploited and undermined as they risk their lives daily to save others. Dallaire was badly let down and has suffred hugely because of it - finally, having a nervous breakdown. The book, is how I suspect Dallaire is, truthful with no agenda; knowing right from wrong and not interested in point scoring just trying to help people (in this case understand what happened). Dallaire's honesty is such that he does not paint himself as a saint but shows his own imperfections - that we all have. He was a brave man who others, for political reasons (not least the French)sort to discredit.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
This book provides a first hand account of the tragedy in Rwanda in the 1990's. I must admit that before reading, I had only a sketchy understanding of what took place largely influenced by memories of the media coverage at the time.
Reading was tough as Dellaire records the terrible suffering of the Rwandan people during a time when the rest of the world chose not to be interested in a small African country with no strategic or economic value. As a consequence over 800,000 Rwandans died at the hands of various militias in just 100 days.
If Dallaire would have been given the requested resources for his peace keeping mission the genocide could have been prevented. Instead the UN proved to be an ineffective and bureaucratic shambles and the major world powers showed themselves to be shamelessly self interested and ignorant.
How Dallaire continues to cope after witnessing such devastation I don't know but having the conviction to document his experience is great testiment to this remarkable soldier.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
I worked in Rwanda at the time of the genocide and then again more recently. Whatever he thinks of himself, (and in this book Romeo Dallaire is pretty, and unfairly, critical of some of his own limitations) he is thought of as a hero by the majority of Rwandans today as along with Phillipe Gaillard of the IRC, he was one of the few whites of any importance who remained in Rwanda during the attrocities. This book gives a real, but at times unintentional insight into the complete failures of the UN. Whereas Linda Melville's excellent book 'A People Betrayed' concentrates on the history of the machinations and politics, Dallaire tells it how it was, at the time, - on the ground. If he had a ghost writer, they could've make the writing slightly less amateurish, but the editor has done a great job with no irrelevances or other distractions. It is a great book to understand the problems, and to gain some hope for this country. Though not as detailed as some other commentaries, such as that by Phillip Gourevitch, you get a real sense of 'now' in the book. Amazing, as Dallaire poignantly says it took him over ten years to be sufficiently 'stable' to sit and write the book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Great but harrowing book, follows the day by day blow of Dallaire's year in Rwanda as force commander of the UN mission there. Provides a great insight into the conflict itself, as well as the working of the UN and the opinions of the national community to the geonicde unfolding infront of their eyes. Couldn't reccomend this enough to anyone interested in general millitary history, the nature of command, or just those interested in the Rwandan genocide itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Where this stands out amongst the books on the genocide in Rwanda is in the detail of what was happening in Kigali. It is very insightful into the diplomacy or lack if it going on. It is a powerful indictment of the international community. Dalaire approaches the book purely from his point of view and manages to get across the horror without describing it in detail. The detail is in the negotiations and diplomatic efforts that dalaire made himself. By the time it finishes, you've been through it with dalaire and are very moved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
In our lifetime we only read a few books that truly redefine how we see the world and our fellow human beings – the very worst behaviours imaginable on one side and the highest levels of courage on the other. This must be one such book.
Read it and be appalled how we can sit in our cosy homes and, in ignorance maybe, allow such barbarity to go on. What is worse, we let our governments dither and debate the legal niceties of what is meant by “genocide”. We in the so-called civilised West should hang our heads in shame that we allowed this to happen, while each country insisting it was someone’s else responsibility to sort it out. The book is unsentimental yet so very painful. Nearly every page punches you emotionally.
Romeo Dallaire, having put his life on the line in Rwanda, now puts his story to print as a testimony to man’s inhumanity but shows us in that in these extreme circumstances, there are some few individuals who are worthy of our greatest respect and gratitude. These few reclaim some semblance of pride we might hope to see in ourselves.
No book has ever made me cry – this one did.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2005
Absolutely terrifying! Nothing less can be described when it comes to narrowing down the content of this tale by a soldier of the UN. Having had close contact with people who have actually been through this holocaust I was astonished at the reactions of the world! Or rather the lack of response or interest in hundreds of thousands being killed, mutilated, raped, tortured and even God cannot describe what other horrors...General Dallaire has gone through hell himself being there and having seen it all, and as a member of a world community, who did not care at all what went on at that time it is an indictment which strikes deeply. Rwanda was only third or fourth in priority of the UN missions and the grievances and daily hardships the few brave men and women of the UN mission in Rwanda had to cope with did not receive a fraction of the credits from the superiors in the UN and from the world that they deserved. Sad but true, and this story cannot be told by anyone who has not been there, it is extraordinaryly told with passion, strength and a sense of details that can only make the reader weep from the heart.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This is a book all schoolchildren should read. Maybe, just maybe it could help to make the world a more tolerant place.

Dallaire was on the ground from beginning to end of the slaughter of nearly a million mostly Tutsi, Rwandans, trying to prevent a crisis with too few troops and no political support.

With harrowing detail he describes how the militant Genocidaires gained political power in the tiny, over-populated, remote African state and shows how the world, lead by a dithering UN, stood back and did nothing. Clinton says it's greatest regret. It should be. While leaving out much personal emotion from the proceedings, Dallaire describes the events' full effects in the intro, talking us through his complete emotional breakdown and his lengthy, unfinished recovery.

The reader is left with a gut wrenching feeling upon completion of this book. A book like this should never have to be written again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
Although the savagery of the 100-day Rwanda genocide in 1994 tempts one to consign it as something that could only have occurred on the Dark Continent, the underlying problems that set it in motion could have existed anywhere where attitudes had been allowed to become so polarized, people feared so much for their security, and the situation allowed to so degrade.
Romeo Dallaire and his modest team on the ground were able to sniff out fairly early who the bad guys were and what they were up to, but somehow nobody outside Rwanda really seemed to want to know. The French, who had previously mentored and supported the baddies, and still furtively maintained some advisors among them, overtly (I choose my word carefully) caught on too late, towards the end, when they put into action operation Turquoise to try to protect their retreating protégés. Belgium, who had once ruled the country, had the best equipped troops on the ground but fled at first blood. Most other nations, even those present in Rwanda, failed their duties, with the notable exception of Ghana and Tunisia whose troops exhibited such bravery and professionalism. It is a damning account of how elements of the large institution that is the United Nations managed to work nine to five in every sense of the term while the Tutsi population was being slaughtered by an astonishing ten thousand a day. Such attitudes might yet be explicable if the UN had been overwhelmed with resources, but Romeo Dallaire never ceases to describe the poor and often shoddy resources at his disposal, and this would make you think that more people in New York and elsewhere, as well as politicians closer to the epicentre, would have stood up to be counted with better result.
And then you realise that it may not be as simple as that. If every UN commander on the ground were to have the resources that he felt he needed, his troops would be much more likely to get drawn into the fray and become another belligerent. It is made clear that this risk was foremost in the minds of those in New York. Fortunately, in stating his case, Dallaire avoids this becoming a trap. He shows that he never asked for excessively large means to do his job, and instead refers to a number of specific missed opportunities that could have critically altered the course of events that followed. Too many of the misses appear due to inadequate decision making by the UN at critical times rather than resources. I started this book expecting it to be a condemnation of Kofi Annan and his team, who proved to be excessively cautious and unprepared to make the necessary moves when these opportunities arose. Dallaire chooses to avoid this, but why on earth did Annan not go to Rwanda himself? Why on earth did no-one at the UN get the sack?
Dallaire seems to belatedly wake up to the potential role of the media in helping his situation. It may be simply due to the way that he structured his book, but key items such the evil RGF propaganda radio station, RTLM, and on the other side the positive help he got from Mark Thomson of the BBC and the publicity-savvy Bernard Kouchner, only appear half way through the story, once the killings had already been going on for weeks. Impossible to understand is why the RTLM radio that influenced the genocide so much was allowed to continue. It urged Hutus to seek out Tutsis; at one time it even encouraged the assassination of Dallaire himself. Dallaire briefly explains how he personally did not have the means to jam or destroy it, but surely its transmissions were being listened to by countries on the UN Security Council, especially France and America. They did nothing until the body count reached 800,000, perhaps more, by which stage even one of the Americans calculatingly hinted that his country might have accepted the loss of 10 of their (absent) peacekeepers' lives. The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda has since gone to work to nail the direct culprits. Certain key people outside Rwanda decided not to follow through, even though they must have been aware of what was happening. For the sake of the future they should be asked to account for their inaction; making apologies is not enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)