Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Persian/Irish Chocolat
This book is similar in style to Joanne Harris Chocolat. It is a delicious read! Through this story you meet three sisters who have escaped from the revolution in Iran in the days of the Shah. It deals with their "civilising" of the residents of a backwoods town in Ireland through their opening of The Babylon Cafe. There are a wonderful array of characters who fall...
Published on 16 Aug. 2006 by eclectic reader

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I thought I would enjoy this book but was disappointed from the start. I is too closely associated with the novel Chocolat in its so called magical element.
The flash backs to life in Persia were the best parts also the interaction between the sisters but the more serious elements such as rape, home abuse etc, were slightly dismissed and because of this the novel...
Published on 22 Oct. 2011 by koober8


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book - just wish I'd known about it sooner ..., 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Really good book - just wish I'd known about it sooner as I read 'Rosewater & Soda Bread' first and it is actually the sequel to Pomegranate Soup but I would recommend both books for an excellent holiday read - the book itself was a used copy but in good condition and arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 3 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Best read so far this summer and it made me want more. Its a beautiful book with hints of "Chocolat and Ballykissangel"
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No story, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
A very nice story, but nothing ever came of it. There were so many interesting storylines that could have been pursued, but they just weren't. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to follow, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
I didn't enjoy this book - found it difficult to follow. Sadly, I never finished it but passed it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Fantastic book would recommend this. Could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... read iit yet just bought it because of her sad, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Hardcover)
haven't read iit yet just bought it because of her sad story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing magical read, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Loved this book - after reading several books that didn't particularly move me a friend recommended this and I adored it. I found it hard to put down. Its full of spice and warmth and aromas and characters I cared about. With a bit of mystery thrown in. Read it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pomegranate Soup, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Light hearted, entertaining and fast moving book. Loved it so much have bought the sequel as I wanted to know what happens to the Aminpour sisters. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Good read. A feel good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great story and even better recipes, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Alan Hughes (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomegranate Soup (Paperback)
Entertaining and enjoyable, what do I need to say? I gave it 5 stars because I really thought it deserved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pomegranate Soup
Pomegranate Soup by Marsha Mehran (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews