Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and personal look at a volatile historical period
This book gives an insight into mediaeval society and a significant character of British history. It follows the life and career of John Duke of Bedford through one of the more volatile times in the history of Britain. Familial and political alliances dominate and influence all the actions of the characters revealing the significance of these issues in their lives and on...
Published on 14 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rosiemwall
For an historical book it's a bit too wordy and too much content that is not required it spoils the enjoyment of the book
Published 5 months ago by maureen wall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and personal look at a volatile historical period, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
This book gives an insight into mediaeval society and a significant character of British history. It follows the life and career of John Duke of Bedford through one of the more volatile times in the history of Britain. Familial and political alliances dominate and influence all the actions of the characters revealing the significance of these issues in their lives and on their decisions.
This book can be read in isolation with no in depth historical knowledge, but the frequent recurrence of names, (in particular John, Henry and Thomas)can be confusing! I found frequent reference to the Character List and Plantagenet Family Tree provided a necessity for at least the first quarter of the book.
The story is told a way that engages the reader with the characters, attributing them with personal views and feelings so they are no longer seen as two dimensional historical figures. This give a sense of understanding of the people and their ambitions and desires in this period of history. I have been inspired to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of vivid dialogue and action and penetrating insight, 23 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
Covers the life of John, Duke of Bedford, younger brother and close and friend and ally to Henry V, this novel covers the saga a of Henry IV's children and the life of John from aged four to twenty. The saga was meant to cover Lord John's entire life, but was cut short by the author's passing
Full of vivid dialogue and action and penetrating insight, this is a comfortable and pleasant read for a rainy weekend, and captures the sights, sounds and smells, of 14th century England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rosiemwall, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Lord John (Kindle Edition)
For an historical book it's a bit too wordy and too much content that is not required it spoils the enjoyment of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my sister, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
My sister is 85 and loves reading, being a pensioner she can not afford to pay out a lot for books.These books are priced right and as previously owned are in excellent condition.Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my lord john, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Lord John (Kindle Edition)
My Lord JohnThis book started well but unfortunately was not finished due to the untimely death of the Author, which is a shame as I enjoy her books and was glad to find them still in publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good books, 18 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
As I have said about the many paperbacks by Georgette Heyer which Amazon have sent to me - they are a great read and the delivery of them is exactly as specified by Amazon. I can't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars old language, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
language difficult. old english needs looking up all the time. but historical details interesting.pity she didn't live to finish all she intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wish for a more rounded ending. whilst i appreciate it ws unfinished, i would have preferred a ghost writer to have completed it, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Lord John (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed a different perspective on the period. it made for a more personal I have loved everthing so far GH has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lord john, 27 Oct 2009
By 
J. Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Lord John (Hardcover)
Just as i have been looking for for quite some time. Book is in great condition and was delivered quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good historical detail, 16 July 2007
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Lord John (Paperback)
found this book was easier to read that i had expected. great eye for the details and frequent use of old english vocabulary. although the lines between fiction and nonfiction are blurry in the book as the actual historical events are presented but along with this is actual insight into the characters minds and thoughts.

found all the names and peole mentioned very confusing so had to refer to the reference aides included in the book. i had expected much more details of all the battles etc that had occured during the period covered in the novel so disappointed at the everyday activities of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Lord John
My Lord John by Georgette Heyer (Paperback - 5 Jan 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews