Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book acts as a testament to the magican that Jarman was
Having read "derek jarman's garden" I felt that I needed to find out more about this man who's integrity was absolute, and above all, who's humanity beamed out of all that the touched. So I read "Chroma". This work is poiniant in the extreme when you concider that not only was Jarman's health fast deteriorating, but that as a result of the AIDS virus,...
Published on 19 Oct 2000 by douglasbertram@yahoo.com

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not what I expected
Published 3 months ago by Emanuel Gomes Monteiro


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book acts as a testament to the magican that Jarman was, 19 Oct 2000
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
Having read "derek jarman's garden" I felt that I needed to find out more about this man who's integrity was absolute, and above all, who's humanity beamed out of all that the touched. So I read "Chroma". This work is poiniant in the extreme when you concider that not only was Jarman's health fast deteriorating, but that as a result of the AIDS virus, he was going blind.
Here, in thuis book, we see Jarman concider the nature of each colour of the spectrum (including brown) by means of drifting freely in and out of quotes from various figures in history. This book is nothing if not well researched! In this respect Jarman shows us what he sees in terms of the resonance of Colour. It is moving.
The chapter on blue is taken from his greatest film, "Blue". It acts as testament to the man,and to his abiding humanity.
Buy this book, and learn from one of Britain's most humane of intects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars personal and inspiring, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Tina Mammoser "tina-m-art" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
Rarely does an artist book really connect with me but Jarman's personal observations are touching and universal. The stories behind the colours will make any artist smile and nod along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the soul, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
I was prompted to browse at books written by Derek Jarman, having watched a brief video remembering him on the 20th anniversary of his death. I tried to make this book last as long as possible, as it was such a wonderful journey. Each chapter given a colour, provoked a sensory meditation, and a trip back in time, on occasions. Littered with poetic/ literary quotations, passages from botanical guides, etc, this book is a treasury of information. Jarman was eclectic beyond my imagination, he must have been the most fascinating and stimulating company to be with. I am now reading his "Modern Nature" and am happy because it has more pages than "Chroma"!....the journey is continuing and it's an absolute pleasure to pick up and read books like these. Can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fan of Jarman not disapointed, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
touching, thoughtful, musings on colour. Whether you are an artist or just interested in his films and his views (I come under both) this is lovely dip in book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful way for an autobiography, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
this is one of my favourite books - it's beautiful, colourful (but of course), and insightful to the period he was living in. i don't think this is just a gay book, but a very useful descriptive book for any artists/writers who want to find our more about colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
Not what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notes in pen in the margins, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
I was disappointed with the presentation of this book. The previous owner had written notes in pen and underlined words in pen. This did not make it suitble to sell on and has spoilt my appreciation of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
By 
Mm Fitek "mishka" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 (Paperback)
amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93
Chroma: A Book of Colour - June '93 by Derek Jarman (Paperback - 19 Jan 1995)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews