Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright Young Bohemians
This is a brilliant anatomy of 'the Bright Brigade' - that generation of eccentric, aristocratic and moneyed young men and women who partied their lives away with such determined frivolity in the decade and a half after the Great War before the Depression, Fascism and another looming international conflict was to bring them crashing back down to earth. The book is...
Published on 12 July 2009 by Book Lover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... (what a concept) period - not one of my favourite summaries of the era
Read to foster my interest in the between-the-wars (what a concept) period - not one of my favourite summaries of the era, worth reading for some side-lights on individuals although neither original nor particularly coherent as a general view - my impression was that it had perhaps started as biography of one individual (Elizabeth Ponsonby, whose doings dominate the...
Published 2 months ago by C. M. Drazin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright Young Bohemians, 12 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940 (Paperback)
This is a brilliant anatomy of 'the Bright Brigade' - that generation of eccentric, aristocratic and moneyed young men and women who partied their lives away with such determined frivolity in the decade and a half after the Great War before the Depression, Fascism and another looming international conflict was to bring them crashing back down to earth. The book is extremely well researched and beautifully written, as one would expect given that the author is both a distinguished biographer (of Orwell and Thackeray) and a fine novelist. But what really struck me was the fact that Taylor is not in the least judgemental about these brittle young Bohemeians and their silly escapades. Instead of showing them to be dissolute and unsympathetic he reveals the sense of melancholy and futility that lay beneath their lives with the unceasing round of parties and 'amusing' entertainments. More importantly Taylor reveals the literary legacy that this lost generation has left behind, notably in the novels of Waugh, Powell and Nancy Mitford. If you're interested in the glamorous and eccentric personalities of the 1920s and early 30s then this excellent book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portraits from an age of parties, 24 Jan 2009
By 
MarkK (Phoenix, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Throughout much of the 1920s, Londoners had a front-row seat to the antics of a small group of socialites about town. These young men and women staged lavish parties, disrupted activities with scavenger hunts and other stunts, and provided fodder for gossip columnists and cartoonists. This group, dubbed the 'Bright Young People,' was fictionalized in novels, recounted in memoirs, and is now the subject of D. J. Taylor's collective history of their group.

An accomplished author, Taylor provides an entertaining account of the group. He describes its members - which included such people as Stephen Tennant, Elizabeth Ponsonby, Brian Howard, Bryan Guinness, and Diana Mitford - and the antics that often attracted so much attention. Yet his scope is also broadened to include people such as Cecil Beaton and Evelyn Waugh, socially on the fringe of the group and yet important figures whose interactions with them prove highly revealing. Through their works and the sometimes obsessive coverage they received on the society pages he reconstructs the relationships and the events that captivated the public's attention.

From all of this emerges a portrait of a phenomenon that was in many ways a unique product of its time. In the aftermath of the demographic devastation of the First World War, the 1920s was a decade that saw the celebration of youth, all of whom grew up in the shadow of a conflict that was the dominant experience of men and women just a few years older than them. The survivors lived in a world where the older generations were discredited and traditional social structures faced increasing economic pressures. In this respect, the Bright Young People represented a garish defiance of the old order and a celebration of life, yet one driven by an undercurrent of sadness and sense of loss.

Taylor's account is infused with both sympathy and insight. At points his narrative degenerates into descriptions of one party after another, when the people threaten to blur into a single generic stereotype, but he succeeds in conveying something of the flavor of the era. From the photos included, the reader can see the fun the young men and women smiling and hamming it up as they pose for the camera, but for what lay behind their expressions readers should turn to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Times, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Mrs. R. "Polymath" (London, England, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If we think that it's a new thing, the way that the gutter press and gossip mags now are obsessed with celebrity, we're wrong. The Bright Young People were there first. I bought this book after reading a review, because I'm interested in one particular person in one particular photograph. I found it enlightening and amusing. The Bright Young People that Taylor writes about were few; no doubt a lot of hangers on described themselves as Bright Young People during and after the event, but this book is about the epicentre, the small group of partygoers who started the trend then either took a back seat, left the country or were destroyed by it. The book concentrates on the essence of the movement, if that's what it was, the people at the heart of it, actual events and the people the newspapers wrote about. It doesn't truly describe a whole generation, just the ones who defined it and the waves they made.
Reading about them, I can see the influence they had on my working class, northern great aunt who gave up a good job as a cook to train as a secretary in London so she could go out dancing in the 1920s. She must have read about them in the press and wanted a part of it. She went on to run the factory that made rivets for Spitfires, then to help at a refugee camp in Italy, spoke four languages and judged dogs at Crufts. The Bright Young People seem to have unleashed a spirit of defiance of convention that spread amongst their generation then was crushed by mid century hardship and censorship. It makes me want to reread Waugh and watch Stephen Fry's Bright Young Things with a better understanding of their list of players.
There have always been upper class scoundrels, fritterers, debtors, drunks, sluts and fallen angels; for me, the way the press and contemporary novelists documented this particular group has the most relevance to present times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a thoughtful view, 14 Nov 2007
I really enjoyed this book, which uses a large amount of original material - letters, diaries of the subjects and their families, as well as more public sources, to discuss this flamboyant and often tragic group in a very sensitive and thoughtful manner, with a good idea of the contemporary context and how this changed with the 1930s. Nice use of language, with something of a flavour of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright Young People, 28 Feb 2009
This review is from: Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940 (Paperback)
Interesting and colorful personalities described here. The writing though is rather labored and repetetive. Anyone interested in the roaring twenties and beyond in London will find it informative and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in the period 1900-1940, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940 (Paperback)
I bought this on the basis of a television programme I saw and D.J. Taylor was one of those narrating. Well researched and written. I just wish the print was a bit bigger, but then I suppose, the book would be twice the size. You can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... (what a concept) period - not one of my favourite summaries of the era, 14 July 2014
By 
C. M. Drazin (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read to foster my interest in the between-the-wars (what a concept) period - not one of my favourite summaries of the era, worth reading for some side-lights on individuals although neither original nor particularly coherent as a general view - my impression was that it had perhaps started as biography of one individual (Elizabeth Ponsonby, whose doings dominate the narrative but who is a figure of little fascination) but, there being no market for that, had been massaged a bit into a more universal, but also more shallow, study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting,for people who like the 1920's., 6 May 2014
By 
D. Martin (Wicomico County, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although keeping up with the cast of characters can be a bit confusing and pondersome at times, I like this book very much. The author has done a good job of compiling existing publications on this topic, along with his own research. I thought that one of the main persons discussed, Elizabeth Ponsonsby, could have been the model for Sebastian Flyte of "Brideshead Revisited". Like Sebastian, she was viable only in her youth, during the 1920's after which time, alcoholism and carelessness went out of fashion. There are many more interesting people in the book, most about whom information is very hard to find. This book is well written, and if you are a fan of the 1920's, as I am, it's well worth purchasing if your local library doesn't carry it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for anyone interested in the era of the "Bright Young People", 6 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940 (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this moving and informative account of the 1920s British band of pleasure-seeking bohemians and blue blooded socialites that comprised the "Bright Young People". D.J. Taylor's fascinating book explores the main events and the key players, throughout the 1920s, 1930s, World War Two and into the post-WW2 era.

I encountering many names that I was already quite familiar with (e.g. Cecil Beaton, Elizabeth Ponsonby, the Jungman sisters, Patrick Balfour, Diana and Nancy Mitford, Brian Howard, Anthony Powell, Evelyn Waugh, Cyril Connolly, Henry Yorke, and many more) having read other excellent accounts of the era. Theses include Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead, The Mitford Girls: The Biography of an Extraordinary Family, The Age of Illusion: England in the Twenties and Thirties, 1919-1940, and The Long Week-end: A Social History of Great Britain, 1918-39.

Elizabeth Ponsonby's story looms large in this book, as D.J. Taylor had access to her parents' diaries. In the late 1920s and early 1930s, she was a staple in the gossip columns who seized upon the Bright Young People's adventures and reported them with a mixture of reverence and glee. There was plenty to report: practical jokes, treasure hunts, fancy dress parties, stealing policemen's helmets, dancing all night at the Ritz and so on. In a sense this is what the 1920s is best remembered for, and for some it must have felt right, after the trauma of World War One, and with Victorian values in decline, for young people to enjoy themselves. However, beneath the laughter and the cocktails lurk some less jolly narratives.

D.J. Taylor manages to dig beneath the glittering surface where for every success story (Evelyn Waugh and Cecil Beaton both launched very successful careers via the opportunities the Bright Young People scene afforded them) there were also tales of failure and tragedy. Some Bright Young People managed to adapt and prosper, others either continued their 1920s lifestyles or were forever trapped by their gilded youths.

Elizabeth Ponsonby provides the ultimate cautionary tale. She made a half-hearted attempt at acting, and later took a short-lived job as a dress-shop assistant, but basically drank to excess, gave parties and practically bankrupted her parents, who fretted helplessly. "It hurts us to see you getting coarse in your speech & outlook in life," her mother wrote to Elizabeth in 1923, suggesting "you ought to enlarge your sphere of enjoyment - not only find happiness in night clubs & London parties & a certain sort of person." This sounds like any parent's out-of-touch lament, but the Ponsonbys had genuine cause for concern. The tone of Vile Bodies captures Elizabeth Ponsonby's routines as glimpsed in her parents' diaries. In Vile Bodies Waugh states the Bright Young People "exhibit naļveté, callousness, insensitivity, insincerity, flippancy, a fundamental lack of seriousness and moral equilibrium that sours every relationship and endeavour they are involved in". A harsh and telling view from an eye-witness,and probably closer to the truth than the more hagiographic accounts of the era.

As I state at the outset, I really enjoyed this book, and despite having read a few similar accounts, I discovered plenty of new information and this has added to my understanding of this endlessly fascinating era. I also found it surprisingly moving - the diary entries by Elizabeth Ponsonby's parents are heartbreaking. Recommended for anyone interested in the era of the "Bright Young People".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced and omformatibe, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the 20 ssoeadreally looking forward to this book Audi as?not disappointed very well written and moving the people we've portrayed honestlywith sensitivity I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews